Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Ignite Amps
  4. »
  5. ProF.E.T.
  6. »
  7. Reviews

ProF.E.T.

Distortion / Overdrive / Amp Plugin by Ignite Amps
MyKVRFAVORITE62WANT21

ProF.E.T. has an average user rating of 4.57 from 7 reviews

Rate & Review ProF.E.T.

User Reviews by KVR Members for ProF.E.T.

Reviewed By Faydit [read all by] on September 28th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Windows

Good, very flexible (guitar) overdrive / distortion pedal, on the one hand it continues, where the also excellent TS-999 or TSB-1 (some sort of slightly hot-rodded, sonically more flexible boutique TS based pedal plugins) end, on the other hand it sonically also reminds me a little bit of an OCD, if properly adjusted, but has enough gain reserves to work equally well as distortion or high-gain Metal pedal.

As I have not found a convincingly sounding OCD based pedal plugin up to now, I prefer using the ProF.E.T. for these sort of tones. Gives a nice dynamic reaction to attack, offers a good harmonics reproduction, more than enough dirt and power and also the four-band eq does a good job for adding more depth and low end rumble and / or more treble bite.

A reviewer complained about the harshness, I personally think, this is depending on the signal chain, a pedal like this one should be placed in front of an amplifier, it will not produce so convincing results if it is positioned behind an amp or as mastering saturation effect. But I also found it in combination with some amps sounding too harsh, with other ones exactly this "harshness" resulted in a convincing harmonics reproduction, but also a different cabinet IR can change the final sound impression a lot, so the whole signal chain is some sort of interactive system, also a pedal like this one will not sound very convincing at too high gain settings and in front of an already heavily distorting high gain channel. In combination with a clean or crunch channel it works best in my opinion.

Also sounds good without an amp plugin or only combined with a power amp (eg. the still excellently sounding TPA-1) just with a cabinet IR behind.

Excellent plugin, not only because it is freeware.

Reviewed By RobertSchulz [read all by] on August 29th, 2022
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by RobertSchulz on 30th August 2022.

The sound of ProF.E.T. is extremely harsh, with a tendency to attenuate the mid/upper mid to high frequency range.

I tried to use it to add some distortion for other material than electric guitars and the result is absolutely not pleasant, so ProF.E.T. might not be the solution if you are looking for a generic distortion plugin.

Because of the harsh tone and the fact that it doesn't has a Dry/Wet mix parameter to sooth out the harshness, I think as an insert effect it is not well suited.

I can imagine only using it on an auxilary bus for my guitars, but even there only with high caution, adding just a little bit of gain because the effect comes in really hard.

I can not understand all the positive reviews.

Reviewed By rcrath [read all by] on October 16th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Pro FET by Ignite Amps.

Distortion modeling of a hardware pedal made by Ignite.

ProFET, Ignite Amp's entry in the 2018 KVR Developer Challenge, gets a six-minute Digital Guitarist workout. It was the first place winner in the contest.

Drop it in front of a clean guitar amp for instant metal tones.

Professional GUI.

Easy on the CPU.

Nice sounding distortion made for a particular genre's tone.

Within that limited frame, ProFET provides nice tone shaping with a 4-band EQ and some nuance on the transients with the "shape" switch.

There are a ton of different free and paid distortions, each with its own personality. I'll do some more vids on them probably. Try out the demos and freebies and pick the one that suits your ears best. This is a good one if it fits your style.

https://youtu.be/aLZsY7F1YYI

Reviewed By sampliist [read all by] on September 24th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Windows

Sound is fantastic right out of the box. Used on guitars with distortion already and just added more fatness.

Somethings to consider in future - factory presets.

Reviewed By Greenroom2 [read all by] on September 13th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Mac

Amazing on bass synth! -- only missing a wet/dry knob just to dial it back a bit. Could be next to output.

Thank you.

Reviewed By Valenten [read all by] on September 4th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Windows

Absolutely dope pedal, with all the needed features to shape the sound. I second the other comment saying that the Shape knob somehow replaces the need for a TubeScreamer. For people who like the heavy sound, mostly.

Reviewed By Shigrath [read all by] on September 4th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Shigrath on 4th September 2018.

A great and simple distortion for guitar.
Available all desired formats.
Beautiful UI that inspires.
Few tone shaping options, but they all make their own huge difference.
Shape knob renders a tube screamer useless.
Ability to make own presets, routing, oversampling...

Good job.

Latest 7 reviews from a total of 7

Comments & Discussion for Ignite Amps ProF.E.T.

Discussion
Discussion: Active
glokraw
glokraw
26 October 2018 at 9:43pm

Ignite always produce useful plugins. Great sound and gui in this one.

Cheers.

Please log in to join the discussion