Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for S-Gear

Rate & Review S-Gear Now!

Reviewed By TheNeverScene [read all by] on 15th July 2017
Version reviewed: latest on Windows.
Last edited by TheNeverScene on 15th July 2017.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Yeah, can't say anything bad about this. Came included in the Slate bundle, sat on the back burner because I have other guitar vsts, as well as real amps and mics which I prefer. I finally checked it out, the other amp sims are now history and my neighbors are happy that the walls aren't shaking. This thing sounds REAL. It lacks a bunch of bells n whistles, but who cares. Takes real pedals well and the built in RoomThing reverb is brilliant. Deserves more than a 10.

Mike.

Reviewed By jjpscott01 [read all by] on 27th January 2015
Version reviewed: 2.5 on Windows
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

In a never-ending sea of new emulation plugins coming out from every direction, it can get daunting trying to find the ones that genuinely stand out from the crowd. Loads of plugin companies today boast that "this ones different" and "there's nothing like this". Only after multiple purchases and lots of cash spent later, do you realize you've been a victim of the now very strong music tech. marketing world. I have spent years trying all of the "big boys" in the guitar sim world. You name it, ive used it and there is a good chance I probably own it. Now don't get me wrong, guitar amp sim's have gotten to the point were they are serious contenders with the real thing and many developers like IK, Line 6, NI, and Waves have cranked out some beasts in the past few years. Despite the great sound I could get from these, I'd all but given up on finding a sim that just "felt" right until the random night a month or two ago I randomly decided to demo S-Gear by Scuffman Amps. After hearing some rave reviews by some friends of mine I downloaded the demo on a whim. This ones the real deal guys. Its truly one of those Gems we all talk about in the plugin world that simply change the way our music sounds. I just flat out love playing through it and the sound is beyond superb. Its not loaded with tons of features and extra processors like some of the others but what it does, it does second to none. I know everyone has their "desert island" plugins, and after a few months of using this guy, I have it up there in the top on my list! Highly recommended.

Reviewed By silhouette [read all by] on 22nd June 2011
Version reviewed: 2.1 on Windows.
Last edited by silhouette on 6th January 2014.
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

User Interface

S-Gear is very easy to use and is visually rather pleasing. It is clear an the three main components are logically laid out. The chosen amp is at the top followed by the Delay and then the Speaker Convolution unit. Finally at the bottom are the basic selection controls. It really is simple to work with.

Sound

This is the killer feature. It sounds amazing. Each of the three different amps have their own character. The Duke is kind of Fendery whilst the Stealer has a Brit Rock thing going on and the Jackal adds a bit of Californian dirt into the proceedings. Now the most difficult thing for any amp sim is that area of break-up. S-Gear has this nailed and has feel by the bucket load. It responds to the volume control on your guitar very like the real thing. I can get the Larry Carlton thing going very easily. Something that is not usually so forthcoming. Added to this when you start experimenting with the type of Speaker ir's - well that is if you are lucky enough to have a set of Redwirez speaker impulse responses - you can experience a really wide range of tonal variation. I really had a big smile on my face playing with this baby. The Jackal has a wonderfully expressive drive sound and feels like playing molten liquid.

Features

The S-gear has the basic minimum to make it work. If you need a compressor you will have to add your own - likewise an overdrive pedal. However as I like to use my own favourites within a DAW this does not bother me at all.

I would like to see a tuner however.

Documentation

The on-line manual is excellent.

Presets

These are interesting but I never really use other peoples presets as I like to create my own sounds. However saving you own is easy. Hovever read the manual carefully otherwise it might be a bit confusing.

Customer Support

Mike Scuffham will reply almost immediately and is friendly and very helpful.

Value for money

I think it is one of the best sounding amp sims around. Some of the others may have loads of bits and bobs, but do they sound this good? Perhaps not. Plus it is actually rather cheap.

Stability

Excellent.

Latest 3 reviews from a total of 3

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
LamsterMP
LamsterMP
19 July 2017 at 7:28am

Yes...but there is one thing that is not nice: it's 32-bit only and has to be bridged.

TheSteven
TheSteven
19 July 2017 at 10:29am

Wow - so far off...
You must have mis-installed it.
The installer installs both the 32 and 64-bit versions of the plugin - both of which work great.

tboulette
tboulette
19 July 2017 at 10:25am

Not true.

https://www.scuffhamamps.com/support/faq/25-faq/installation-and-licensing/51-is-s-gear-64-bit-compatible.

Please log in to join the discussion

S-Gear

Average user rating of 4.67 from 3 reviews

Scuffham Amps
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
63 people have added S-Gear to 9 My KVR groups 82 times
+3 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1314  934  1278

30-Day: 1169; 7-Day: 1712; Yesterday: 2962

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements