1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. lkjb
  4. »
  5. TinyQ
  6. »
  7. Reviews

TinyQ

 My KVR
EQ Plugin by lkjb

TinyQ has an average user rating of 4.00 from 4 reviews

Rate & Review TinyQ

User Reviews by KVR Members for TinyQ

Reviewed By JHEB [read all by] on 2nd May 2021
Version reviewed: 1.5.4 on Windows.
Last edited by JHEB on 2nd May 2021.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very easy and fast channel strip style EQ that doesn't use more than 0.2-0.3% CPU (i7-8559u) when all bands and both filters are active and at most 0.4-0.5% when the analyzer is also active. From what I can see it has a type of symmetrical proportional Q which is very musical and easy to set, especially when you can either turn the knobs or just drag the bands around on the graph directly. I would like to have the option to set it to asymmetrical for a even faster workflow but considering that it's free, it already does a lot! Another very important, and impressive detail for a free EQ, is that there is no cramping at all near Nyquist. This is a real issue I have with many free EQ's, and even some stock and paid-for ones. This one however, sounds airy and open in the high frequencies. The low- and high-pass filters are also great with the option to set steepness of the slope from 6dB/oct all the way to 48dB/oct. Not something I would use very often in a minimum phase EQ but it's nice to have the option to. You can also set the gain range for the frequency graph, enable the analyzer for either the input or output and sort the bands if you have messed around with them. All in all, a very feature rich little EQ that doesn't take up much space or CPU, and it's free! Crazy.

If this would evolve later on into a paid-for EQ, where you have a couple of more bands, asymmetrical setting and a linear phase mode, I would happily pay for it.

Reviewed By heavymetalmixer [read all by] on 23rd April 2019
Version reviewed: 1.5.2 on Windows.
Last edited by heavymetalmixer on 7th July 2019.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Finally I can use an free EQ with HPF/LPF with slopes higher than 12dB (MEqualizer doesn't count, its filters are garbage), without needing to spend a lot of CPU (yes, I'm looking at you TDR NOVA 2).

I can also boost the high-end without getting a "digital sounding" high-end, because of how it manages the bands close to 20kHz, still not as good as NOVA 2, SlickEQ or Pro-Q 3 in that regard but way better than most of free EQs.

Now my third favorite for everything.

Reviewed By djkybernetik [read all by] on 4th September 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

i like the work from lkjb, luftikus was one of my favorite eq's. tinyQ is good but have any issues, the gui is a little bit to small to adjust the eq parameters exactly and the knobs are not precise enough.

when this changed it can be a great little daw helper, i look forward for upcoming versions;-).

Reviewed By viceverser [read all by] on 3rd September 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very nice little tool... Only thing/s I can see need addressing is level matching for A/B'ing... Maybe Auto gain? or just an output gain would really bring this one home for me... Other than that... Well done.

Latest 4 reviews from a total of 4

Comments & Discussion for lkjb TinyQ

Discussion
Discussion: Active
tricksteez@gmail.com
tricksteez@gmail.com
3 September 2018 at 7:29pm

if it was m/s it was stellar.

ProArtServices
ProArtServices
4 September 2018 at 8:50pm

This is a dead-ringer for Cakewalk's native mixer eq. Nice job.

The_Wookiee
The_Wookiee
5 September 2018 at 3:49pm

So what does the Large button in the Centre do, Fly graphic with analysis if so I would say that it is a direct ripoff of SONAR/CbB Quad Curve EQ.

The_Wookiee
The_Wookiee
5 September 2018 at 3:59pm

So what does the Large button in the Centre do, Fly out graphic with analysis?

If so I would say that it is a direct ripoff of SONAR/CbB Quad Curve EQ.

They say it is inspired by a DAW's EQ channel why not be honest and name the DAW?

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

pwal
pwal
5 September 2018 at 4:00pm

it's obviously ripped from the sonar gui, but does it sound the same?

sqigls
sqigls
9 September 2018 at 2:30am

google-analytics ?
fuck no.

The Noodlist
The Noodlist
25 May 2019 at 8:43pm

Not with the version 1.5..

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

HansP
HansP
24 September 2018 at 2:38am

to me it sounds quite nice, while a number of free EQ plugins may have a ringing or telephone sound quickly when we start to boost something, and some yawning sound when we cut a frequency range.

the "phone home" thing is a bit sick, yet to test whether it runs at all on an isolated lab computer..

Please log in to join the discussion