Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for ToneLib GFX

Rate & Review ToneLib GFX Now!

Reviewed By natelok [read all by] on 6th October 2019
Version reviewed: 4.0 on Linux
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The latest update require a $40 fee be paid for a license, despite no warning of this new license until you've already installed the update using the programs update dialogue.

It's a nice program, but ambushing your established users like this is pretty nasty.

Reviewed By mpoirier [read all by] on 25th April 2019
Version reviewed: 3.7.2 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

For the price this app is really good. It is CPU efficient and very good clean sounds. I think I will switch from Amplitube to this because of this...

Reviewed By Nobdi [read all by] on 7th April 2019
Version reviewed: 3.9.7 on Windows.
Last edited by Nobdi on 6th October 2019.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

The ampsim is payware now - $40 !!.

All the info I had in my old 4 star review is still valid but for a $40 sim it would have to deliver quite a bit more for that rating.

At $40 I can only rate it at 2-3 stars because there are a lot of options out there with way better dynamics, better IR handling and a better GUI in general.

Sorry, but no cigar .

...below is my (4 star) rating for when the thing was still free:

"2 five star ratings by users that are only here for less than a month ?!? - fishy :-).

...anyway...

The software itself is very good. Especially when you take the (current ?) price into account - zero/nothing/nada.

It is very easy to dial in a good sound and whoever needs a manual or instruction how to use it has never seen a amp sim before (or maybe not even a computer).

I have only played around with it for about an hour and so far I can't really say anything about stability but the rest looks like this:

Pros:

- very easy to dial in sounds
- good amount of good presets
- easy on the CPU and very fast loading times
- quite a few FX and amps to chose from
- realistic sound.

Cons:

- maybe not the most dynamic reaction to your playing
- no 5150 sim (sorry, but that is one I always love to have)
- not too many bass amps/cabs (1 each ???)
- no way to set the amount of oversampling (and no info on that at all)
-> all in all not really much that you could argue about in a free sim;-).

...after an hour of playing around with it it has replaced my goto practising sim (Audified ampLion (payed version)) and might even end up as my goto sim for composing because of the perfectly fast loading time (to be replaced than later in the process by a more sophisticated sim).

To sum it up: For a free sim this one is clearly at least a 4 (add the 5150 model and I have it at 4.5-5;-))."

Reviewed By Zurid [read all by] on 7th April 2019
Version reviewed: 3.5.6 on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I spent the last 2 days playing with a standalone version of Tonelib-GFX. Sound wise for me, it smokes Amplitube. It warmer, cleaner and doesn't have that highend shrill in the overdrive that is so prevalent in Amplitude. The preset management is way more flexible and vastly superior to Amplitubes. I pretty psyched so far...

Reviewed By HerrFornit [read all by] on 6th April 2019
Version reviewed: 3.5.6 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Hi thanx for giving us that VST for free! (tested the VST2 version).

I tried it a bit and what I noticed first is the clear GUI/concept with nice presets. Compared to other "Rigs" its very simple to use and flexible. Effects seem to be limited to dynamics. There is also a possibility to choose impulse response which I didn't try, maybe not implemented in the free version? But in combination with other (free) plug-ins its really great.

I will use it.

Latest 5 reviews from a total of 5

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
PierreG
PierreG
26 April 2019 at 4:30pm

Heads up: The version 3.7.2 installer installs what looks to actually be VST2 version 3.5.6.0, which crashes Tracktion Waveform 10 when coming back into an edit that has ToneLib in it. It's odd in that the VST2 ToneLib Help button shows version 3.7.2, yet the description that shows up in Waveform's plugin page shows 3.5.6.0.

At first I didn't realize that the VST3 version was loading into the standard C:\Program Files\Common Files\Steinberg\VST3 path, so I copied it from there into my Waveform custom plugin path, which brought it into W's VST3 plugin list. Looking at the VST3 version's description information revealed that it was indeed at 3.7.2.

I then loaded the VST3 version and it ran flawlessly in Waveform. Super grateful for this great plugin. Cheers.

madwab
madwab
24 May 2019 at 2:56am

Comment for HerrFornit - the default fx type on the right is Dynamics / Filter, that's why you're seeing lots of those types of effect. Click there to also choose Overdrive / Distortion, Amp simulators, Cabinets, Modulation / Sfx, Delay, Reverb. There are 11 Delays alone.

HerrFornit
HerrFornit
28 May 2019 at 8:08am

Hi madwab.

thanx for reply. I noticed now hat its a problem of interaction with my DAW (Jeskola BUZZ). The pull down menu does not work. In the standalone version it is ok.

anti_phase
anti_phase
5 June 2019 at 11:25am

seems to be cool, but crashes Reaper 64 Win 10 every time. Still have no idea how it sounds.

PierreG
PierreG
5 June 2019 at 3:17pm

Curious, do VST & VST3 versions act same?

I documented related issues at the top of this thread.

Nobdi
Nobdi
6 October 2019 at 6:13pm

btw: It's payware now - $40.

Please log in to join the discussion

ToneLib GFX

Average user rating of 4.40 from 5 reviews

Tonelib
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
29 people have added ToneLib GFX to 6 My KVR groups 38 times
+2 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 80  63  80  8

30-Day: 101; 7-Day: 82; Yesterday: 162

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
Advertisements