Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Vinyl

Rate & Review Vinyl Now!

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on 12th October 2018
Version reviewed: 1.8 on Mac.
Last edited by juliandoe on 12th October 2018.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Vinyl is a good plugin that adds noises to your track. You'll have a lot of option and all the noises generated are really great. It's maybe only my taste but when I use it I feel that all the noises are too much just at 30%. The best use that I do with it is to add noises to emulate vintage instruments or recording. For example, I use it in addition to the B3 Organ and a Leslie rotation speaker to have a 60' gospel organ sound.

I use it with logic pro x 10.4.2 and high sierra. never a crash or a problem.

Reviewed By jones-y [read all by] on 3rd January 2006
Version reviewed: 1.71 on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I'm really surprised no one has reviewed this yet...

Basically, Vinyl is, as its name suggests, a plug that makes your audio source sound as if it were coming off a turntable. And its really effective, when used in moderation. The sound is surprisingly authentic, and really good.

It models turntable models from the 1930's on up to today. As you can probably guess, the further back in time you go, the more constricted the audio will sound. It also can add mechanical noise, 60hz hum, dust crackles, and scratches. I tend to go very light on those four processes, but I use the "wear and tear" slider (which makes it sound like a worn record/stylus) heavily. I also hype the sound by increasing the input level, and lowereing the output level.

All in all, I love Vinyl, and its VFM is thru the roof here! I use it all the time, to make my synth parts sound like samples, and I have fooled a fair number of people.

The only downside I can think of is that the static and scratches don't lock to MIDI clock, and you can't pitch the noise up or down. They're pretty random in time. Which is fine if you are intending to make your whole mix sound like an authentic record, but it doesn't quite work so well when you're trying to imitate a sample. Because, as anyone who's ever sampled from vinyl would know, the crackles and scratches in the sample are static in time. So if you replay a sample, the static will be in the same location every single time, and if you pitch up a sample, the static will be pitched up as well. A simple way around this is, of course to bounce to audio, but this creates another set of limitations...

Overall Vinyl is the shizzle! All you hip hoppers owe this plug a download. I'd happily pay $25 for this freebie.

Latest 2 reviews from a total of 2

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
El°HYM
El°HYM
21 November 2015 at 1:21pm

Does anyone have a serial for this discontinued Plug?

Izotope doesnt give them out anymore...

Thanks.

iZotopeCares
iZotopeCares
4 February 2016 at 8:25pm

Hi all, .

In honor of it's 15th birthday, Vinyl is back! Vinyl has now been updated to 64-bit and is available in AU, AAX, Audio Suite, RTAS, VST 2, and VST 3 formats. You can get your free copy of Vinyl here! If you owned a previous version of Vinyl, log into your iZotope account to retrieve your new serial number.

Best, .

-Evan.

markartas
markartas
20 September 2016 at 6:25pm

Most time waisting free plugin. Took hour to find a serial no. and becouse i didnt autorized it at first time it works as demo version and there is no autorization link. Had two hours for my project and wasted them. If you hurry, add it for later and look forward.

stardustmedia
stardustmedia
21 September 2016 at 6:54am

Thanks for the 64-bit update. I was truly missing this plugin when switching from 32 to 64-bit. And somehow it didn't run with 32lives.

I didn't have any authorisation issues. Installation and activation was flawless. Instant vinyl lo-fi fun.

Though I wish the volume values for the single "noises" would go down much further.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Big Busker
Big Busker
22 November 2016 at 2:46am

Here is the current, active page. This is one of the two freeware plugins iZotope offers. There's a "download" button, and you'll have to open an account.

https://www.izotope.com/en/products/create-and-design/vinyl.html (copy and paste)

Please log in to join the discussion

Vinyl

Average user rating of 4.50 from 2 reviews

iZotope, Inc.
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
414 people have added Vinyl to 33 My KVR groups 458 times
+28 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 67  53  67

30-Day: 71; 7-Day: 71; Yesterday: 81

KVR Audio Plug-in Marketplace
NEW TO KVR MARKETPLACE - TONE2EastWest March Madness 50% Off March 11-18NEW TO KVR MARKETPLACE - PRIME STUDIO
KVR LEARN - Apple Logic Pro X - Recording Guitars
Advertisements