1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by vata44

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on 1st May 2018
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I bought this after liking the demo audio and I must say I am pretty disappointed. The sounds all just sound like crappy samples ran through a bit crusher. I could have done a VERY similar thing with any number of plugins, such as a piano running through a bit crusher, or whatever.

Limited sounds and not much as far as sound design capabilities.

I would return it if I could.

Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on 3rd March 2012
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Well I must say that I am quite biased cause this is the kind of compression I have always dreamed of. It is smooth, can pump nicely and it is SIMPLE.

I find it works well on all sorts of material, but i like the pump it gave to my drums.

The only negative thing I can say about this is it seems to turn down the high end as you crank it up. In comparison to the IK 670 it sounds good, but lacks in this high end/mid frequency at high compression levels.

This is still a free Comp that i think most would be foolish to pass up. It is just so smooth and simple. :)

Thank you!

Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on 20th May 2011
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
First off this compressor blows me away. It's sound is nearly identical to the "Classic" setting in the FabFilter C at a fraction of the CPU.

GUI: It is simple, pretty, organized and logical in its approach. It has the right indicators to indicate compression is working and forces me to use my ears.

Sound: Like I already mentioned, this comp sound nearly identical to the "Classic" mode in the FabFilter C, which makes my jaw drop.

It is easy to use and what more can I say? Absolutely no problems with this one.

It is simply a shame that people cannot find it anymore... a Free Gem that is lost. :(
Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on 1st April 2011
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I actually feel honored to be writing the first review for this synth.

I will start with the positives.

1. the sound... it is clean, pure with such a classy reverb that just makes it ring to life, short or long it sits will in the mix.

2. the simplicity is great. life does not need to be complicated, it makes Pike type sounds and it does it perfectly well with enough small and well thought out modulations that can change the tone.

3. its a beautiful and inspiring GUI... simple, colorful and inspiring.

4. it is stable as far as I can tell, no problems running multiple instances or for hours on end.

Negatives:

Well the thing that makes it such a good thing is the fact that it is SIMPLE, but sometimes the simplicity just does not quite fit well enough... wish you had more control or LFO's to modulate... so it is not really a negative.

If you like Ambient type music you should check this out for sure.

THANK YOU COLORSPACE!
Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on 27th March 2011
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
The ultimate drum machine? I think not...

The ultimate synthetic drum machine? I think so!

For me it comes down to three things.

1. GUI if you can easily understand and make the thing create the sounds you desire in a logical and straight forward way that is easy to replicate or explore, then you have a winner and it's easier to go onto number 2.

2. The sound! It is easy to dial just the right amounts of everything with this drum synth. A little noise? A little more umph or pop? You got it... It is full, deep, thin and crisp. Whatever you need.

3. Stability... it's no good if your inspiration is interrupted every few minutes or randomly in the middle of your groove. This thing is solid as a rock as far as I can tell.

To be fair I have not tested many other commercial drum synths, but if I compare it to the drum synth in LinPlug's RMV, this little freebie puts it to shame in my book.

Compared to Sonicharge's uTonic I find it hard to make the tone/musical type drum notes like in uTonic, but for straight 909, 808 and others Drumatic 3 is always my top choice. :)

Only weak point is the lack of presets... but it's FREE.
Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on 3rd February 2011
Version reviewed: latest on Windows
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I am shocked beyond belief this plugin does not have a review yet. This has to be one of the most dynamic and capable delay plugins out there. However, because of it's depth and modulation capabilities I find it a bit overwhelming myself at times and often reach for simpler, straight forward bread and butter delays.

Like I have already mentioned, my only qualm with this plugin is the fact that it is so deep, I feel like because of it's depth I am often lured off into new directions, rarely ending up with something as basic as I desired.

Presets: Okay, I am a preset lover cause I love saving time and getting a quick, close approximation of what I am looking for, however I feel the presets in this Delay are good if not great, but I am ANNOYED how the presets upon initially opening this thing are so wildly out of this world and complicated. I wish they would have started with the basic stuff first and then build the complexity up over time/while searching through them.

All in all, I really think this could nearly be your be all, end all delay unit if you take the time to really understand it.

I believe that all FabFilter plugins are an amazing value... this is no exception.

My last and major gripe is CPU usage. At about 5%-7% CPU use on a Core 2 Duo 2ghz machine, it really takes a bite out of creativity as the song/project progresses. I imagine the new i7 wouldn't notice it, but currently I consider that quite high.
Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on 28th January 2011
Version reviewed: ? on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Simply put... it is an unmatchable distortion unit. I am one that believes in the subtleness of sounds... the slight variations that add a little ear/brain candy to the mix and this lets me dial in just the right amounts. While for me its still an experiment until i find success plugin... i truly appreciate it.

It seems to have a problem with saving its control state upon loading, so that is annoy cause I have to reprogram it often.

However, I think it is usually worth it. :)

I do not know what this thing does to the sound, but it seems to add distortion in a multiband fashion... however, it never get THICK or CrUnChY... at high doses it tends to become weak.

I don't really think my ears are good enough to know exactly what Aliasing is, but if I had to guess, this probably does a lot of it, because the sounds become "sharp" and almost "square" like at high settings. I never drive things that hard, but unless it is SUPER extreme, it still seems to maintain a musical quality i enjoy.
Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on 4th December 2010
Version reviewed: v 2 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
As with most people it takes a seriously good/bad plugin to push me to even consider taking the time to right a review and this HAHAHA CS33 synth falls into the seriously great category.

Now I am skeptical of all synthmaker/synthedit VST's, because I think we have all experienced some horribly shotty ones that are dull, unpredictable and lifeless... but we have also seen some great work come out of it. This happens to be IMO one of the greats from synthedit.

First and foremost the sound is great, it is a bit thin and dirty, but it is completely musical. However with some decent programming (even in the presets) you can hear some sounds that truly breathe fat life. They are fat, edgy and musical. I compare this synth to the Triangle II, some might find that unfair, but IMO. It is also two oscillator synth that is capable of holding a similar tone/vibe.

The thing I love most about this synth is because the sound is slightly thin, it really cuts through the mix. The other thing I love about it is the GUI. It is beautifully laid out in a very orderly and sexy fashion that makes editing the sounds a breeze.

IF your looking for a good lead/bass/melody synth you should really give this synth a small test ride.

A big warm thank you goes out to the developer of this synth!
Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on 15th October 2010
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Well I picked this up quick for free with HUGE expectations I would drop it just as quick because most guitar "synths" tend to suck IMO. I am rather surprised and happy with this little plugin... for the size it actually blows my mind.

Does it sound like a real guitar? Not really, but it has the "airy-ness" and "gentle-ness" of a nice acoustic guitar. Run it through some effects and it really shines.

The sample quality could be better... Unless your a super high quality snob, you might find this to be a useful little guitar/string tool in your arsenal.

Worth a solid try, but will not replace a good guitar or pro-quality guitar sampler.

It is a CPU hog, two instances 40% CPU... ouch!


Thank you for making this free!
Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on 12th July 2010
Version reviewed: 6 on Windows
20 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I own the PRIZM and I find the presets and sounds in general to be a convoluted mess that I neither have the time or energy to organize myself. I think quite a few of the samples included wrapped up into the Wusik engine offer a ton of potential (some though are truly crappy and make me choke), but the organization and presets included are so hit or miss (personal taste) and cluttered. I fear to delete or change the organizational structure of the presets, because with every attempt I have made I end up getting "file not found", "missing sounds cannot be loaded" errors. I have had to do more trouble shooting with installing the PRIZM than any other audio product and when your trying to be inspired and flow smoothly, those kind of technical and cluttered errors kill the mood and frustrate you, at least me to the point I ignore it completely now.

One thing with Sampler/ROMpler VSTs like SampleTank or whatever, they give you basic sounds you can then layer and edit (simple pads, basses, etc). Or they give you some nice pre-made performances (editable). However with the PRIZM you get a lot of pads for instance where the LFOs, filter sweeps are all set in stone because it was recorded that way as a WAV... not made inside the PRIZM (Wusik) with the built in LFOs or effects. So its like sampling a Virus doing a glitchy filter sweep, but not being able to change the time, depth and speed of the sweep except through changing the key on the keyboard which then changes the entire pitch/speed and timbre. That annoyance literally pisses me off and is so unprofessional it is sad.

Sampling a complex LFO gated lead and then locking the user into those gate speeds is so misleading. Use the basic lead sound and then use the Wusik's gate/W2/Arp thingy to make the sound so that it actually stays on time when you change notes.

My questions and suggestions... Where are the basic presets? Simple pad sounds, simple leads, simple keys. Why are they not organized into nice little banks like Keys, Brass, Bass, Synths? Instead they are put in a cluttered folder with some sound designers name... and even within those folders they are not organized so you really have to either remember the exact name of the preset you liked or search and search and search. Drive me nuts.

Another glaring point to note is that a lot of the sounds are not looped. You play a pad sound and it comes to an abrupt stop, no fade out, no "real" sustain. This is the reasoning for the giant library, because your getting a WHOLE sampled pad without any clever looping and processing within the PRIZM/Wusikstation itself.

*Question to ask yourself is why can a 8, 16, 32mb real rompler make such more complex sounds that are completely editable and yet take up such little space. Answer is they utilize the synth engine/sample engine itself... like the modulators, LFOs, effects, etc. PRIZM more often than not has recorded all that for you, so don't pan on changing the sounds much at all.

For me, PRIZM is a brick on my hard drive. It is huge, cluttered and completely unusable. The Wusik engine has so much potential just based off small basic waveforms, the LFOs, Gates, W2, etc... the PRIZM does not at all take advantage of this.

I would like to hear from someone other than the creator who has opinions contrary to my own.