1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by GRUMP

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on 7th May 2020
Version reviewed: 0.2.1.5 on Windows.
Last edited by GRUMP on 9th May 2020.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I don't want to duplicate what has been said already, so - you can get Rhino for 50 $ now. What you get reminds me strongly of the Yamaha SY Series (77/99) with 1000+ Patches of very skilled Programmers. Just download the Demo and have a Look. I promise you'll not regret it. Complicated - yes. But more than impressing, full of Love and the perfect Place to learn FM (if you don't just want to use the 1000+ Presets). Strongly recommended.

Zebra, DUNE, MSF, Harmor, Razor and some others in my Barn - but I really couldn't resist Rhino. This is no Mainstream Toybox. Real / "Oldschool FM" and passionate Programming. Exotic Spectra. Endless Playground and Source of Inspiration.

Edit:

- VINTAGE inclusive. Rhino can load Samples and use them as Oscillators and quiet many Sample OSC are already included that are nothing but pure Vintage FM Vibe and probably Hardware Samples.

- Rhino sounds great and unique. 90s Vibe.

- The Flexibility is oustanding and the spectral Possibilities are endless.

- FM is complicated, but it's really simple to generate interesting and inspiring Results within Minutes.

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on 15th April 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Got it free from PB with a Purchase. Sounds "interesting" with Shape 5 and Punish max. 30%. Unfortunately too few Options to finish what you have started. Freeware frequently delivers much more and I can't hear any Difference in Comparison.

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on 15th April 2020
Version reviewed: 2.1.6.0 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Complementary to what has already been said before: I would suggest to call this Plugin "Saturating Filterbank". It is what I have been looking for some Time already: an analog Filterbank with "Warming-Capabilities". Nothing I have tested yet matched my Requirements - Devastor convinced me within Minutes. Endless Analog Depth, Warmth, Character. This Beast is an endless Playground and oscillates from soft Excitment to total Destruction.

Thumbs up for this one ... The Depth is really breathtaking (for a VST). It'll be a Joy to revise some GiGaB's of Sample Content with it!°.

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on 31st March 2020
Version reviewed: 2020 on Windows.
Last edited by GRUMP on 1st April 2020.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Installed it. Stuttering Sound. Maybe the VST, maybe my System. I don't know. But the Dev immediately replied to my Report here. Just try it.

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on 26th March 2020
Version reviewed: 2.0.1 on Windows
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Currently free (by 04.04.) - I quickly checked it out. Focus: Air (Top End) and Low End.

Compared with Acustica Audio PINK, bx_Console N and Halion Studio EQ: sounds really briliant up there and in the Bottom either. Very transparent and smooth. Saturation = very soft. Filters = interesting.

Recommended.

Didn't really Consider Hornet yet (GUIs...), but this one really convinced me.

THX.

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on 9th March 2020
Version reviewed: 5 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

GA 5 has a lot of really inspirative Beats included. Lots of Know-How.

The Quality of the Sounds is exceptional. Very "polished", punchy, transparent, ...

Great GUI and Workflow. The Functionality is outstanding.

Very advanced Drum-/Percussion Options (not my Subject).

Concerning "Value for Money" this Tool is a "Nobrainer".

The Integration of the VST and Library into Steinberg Environments is worth mentioning, too.

What I like most is the Beat Agent Pattern Section and the advanced Mixing Possibilities.

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on 22nd February 2020
Version reviewed: 14.x on Windows.
Last edited by GRUMP on 22nd February 2020.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

MSF is not a normal VST. It is a Workstation and a Platform. It is senseless to describe its Possibilities here. Forget what you know about OSC, Wavetables, FM and what ever. MSF exceeds what has been before. It is a big Step forwards in the History of Synthesizers. You should better rethink your Sound Design and Business Concepts as soon as possible.

Annotation: The delivered Presets i. m. O. don't even scratch the Surface of MSF's Possibilities and MSF can not be recommended for People who are looking for another Toybox.

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on 1st January 2020
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I really wonder why "Buy a good Channel Strip" is not the first Advice for People who are looking for a deep analog Sound. It's maybe because not all are like this One - I don't really know - but the Console N really fulfills all Promises.

The Sound excels my Expectations by far. Especially the EQs - and at all Frequency Bands.

There are many Tools out there that promise a "Hardware Sound". For me it's in the End this Channel Strip that ends my Search.

Furthermore you should not underestimate the Effects of the Construction itself. Gate / Expander - Compressor - EQ - implemented in this certain Way - will let you work differently.

I don't want to say much about it than "try the Demo".

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on 23rd December 2019
Version reviewed: X.2019 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This little Beast is simply a USI, a universal Sound Improver. Can you hear the Brilliance rising when you turn the Fader up? Very low CPU Consumption, I have it on everything and everywhere.

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on 14th December 2019
Version reviewed: 3.3.1 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Blue Cat themselves say that you can Split Audio into several Bands and mix + process them as you want. OK. That sounds quiet harmless to me. But this Tool is - i. m. O. - a little bit more than that. Splitting the Audio is fine and MB-7 is the "Missing Link" anyway. It may improve your Sound like you would maybe not have expected and help you find Problems you did not hear before. But - to make it short - this aweseome Tool really multiplies the Abilities of you Environment.

By the Way: is has built in FX, loads VST FX, you can group Bands, it can be automated, it has a Spectrogram, can process the Stereo width, it has a very comfortable GUI, many Settings, ... It is a unique (!) Plugin and a big Improvement for my Workflow.

Best Audio and MIDI Software - 2020 KVR Readers' Choice Awards WinnersPutting in the time: An Interview with Guitarist and Film Composer Lyle Workman20 Years and counting: An interview with Arturia's Frederic BrunKVR Experts Forum - Demystifying MPE with KVR Expert Peter NyboerAndrew Huang Interview: Launching a music career on social media
What's New @ KVR Audio
What's Happened to Thumbs Down on Posts??by synzh @ 21:00 in InstrumentsFS - Waves IR-L, Bitwig 8-track, D16 Nepheton, IKM Tape Echo, One, OXa, kHs one & Slice Eq, Analog Lab Lite 5by tothjanos @ 21:00 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Reason+ = subscription model (20 month)by briefcasemanx @ 20:59 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)Who's in these pics?by raiderpdog @ 20:57 in Everything Else (Music related)Continue this sentence with song lyricsby Erisian @ 20:56 in Off Topic ClassicsWTB: V collection 7by utesseract @ 20:55 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)WYLD STALLYNSby nix808 @ 20:52 in Music CafeFS: Arturia Compressors, Plugin Alliance, Voxengo Glissby 4tune @ 20:51 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Thinking to get Hive2, comments/help?by glokraw @ 20:48 in InstrumentsAny idea why my 50's distortion attempt doesn't sound as in the example?by HansP @ 20:35 in EffectsPashkuli Keyboards: discussion + demosby Pashkuli @ 20:34 in Hardware (Instruments and Effects)Cubase Pro 10.5.20 is the perfect DAWby Funkybot's Evil Twin @ 20:32 in Hosts & Applications (Sequencers, DAWs, Audio Editors, etc.)'Timeless 80s'. 75 Presets for TAL-J8.by Xenos @ 20:32 in SoundwareUJAM Amber / Sound forge Audio Studio 12by burgerproduction @ 20:31 in Sell & Buy (+Special Offers, Deals & Promos)Sea Shanty the new internet phenomenaby vurt @ 20:22 in Everything Else (Music related)View All Latest Posts