1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. User Reviews

Product Reviews by KVR Members

All reviews by Stupid American Pig

Review Something or Find Reviews

Reviewed By Stupid American Pig [read all by] on 3rd February 2008
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Stupid American Pig on 4th February 2008.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Well done Zio!

Pros- Probably the most realistic Rhodes Vsti available, sample based or not.
As with all of his releases, the effect is both useable, stable, and accurate- warts and all. Phaser, amp sim and tremolo are nice touches and tailored to the piano sound well.
GUI is logical and well positioned.
Presets: not really applicable here
Customer service: Guido is enthusiastic and passionate about his work, that = good customer service.
Documentation: all CC and midi data is well documented, as well as all knob and switch functions.
Value For money: Not only is the one of the most accurate emulations, its the cheapest of all the "major" players out there.

Cons- not many, I think my only criticism of the sound is that my real rhodes was a bit thicker in the low end: but this was both a blessing and a curse on my rhodes. This is easily cured with some EQ.

This plugin as with the rest of Guido's plugins allowed me to free myself from maintaining my aging rhodes and wurlitzer. I have sold them and use these plugins exclusively.
Reviewed By Stupid American Pig [read all by] on 6th May 2003
Version reviewed: 1.06 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I just purchased this thing and really got into it yesterday. At first, I was alittle disappointed with the presets as they favored 80's type sounds instead of showing what this synth is truly capable of. After spending some time modding presets and getting afeel for programming it- I saw its true sonic capability, and I am amazed at its versatility! in short, this synth is well worth the money.

The gui is large enough for the functions and is figured out with relatively little effort. Programming can seem a bit intimidating, but is well worth the effort, you can get truly massive sounds and results out of this thing. stability in my main host(FL Studio) has so far been flawless. you can start using quite abit of CPU with this thing, so you have to keep the voices down and instances low. Otherwise, it is more fun than you should be allowed to have with a Vst.
Reviewed By Stupid American Pig [read all by] on 27th February 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Well,

I went into this expecting a rhythm guitarist, and it exceeded my expectations. True you really can't play individual strings with it, and it may be somewhat limited sonically. However, a rhythm guitarist is never supposed to stand out in a mix, and all that I am using it for is to add an organic quality to my mostly electronic sounding music. A great use for this plug is to quickly figure out chord progressions for a song and get it arranged very quickly, then add the "real" music to the arrangement.

About the plug it self. The sound is for the most part(especially on the acoustic) superb. Some of the electrics didn't impress me much, but I am not really all that into heavy distorted guitars anyway.

One note- you need more than 256MB of RAM to run a few instances of this plug in. I had to upgrade to 768 to comfortably run this plugin. I noticed problems with FL crashing when I ran out of memory and the swap file was being used. this will take 1.6GB of hd space too.

In FL 3.56, I have seen some crashes and hiccupps, but it is pretty stable for the most part. This mainly happens when I save an flp in FL or when I use all my memory.

As with all Steinberg plugins, the value for the money isn't its biggest selling point, and it is kind of expensive at 200 dollars, I don't think that any VSTi should be more than 100-150 for even the most complex plugin, but If you think of it in terms of getting a VST plus 1.6 Gb of samples its not too bad.

Anyway,if you aren't expecting all of your guitar needs packaged in a box, and just want a rhythm guitarist to strum along with your compositions, you will be happy with this plug.
Reviewed By Stupid American Pig [read all by] on 27th January 2003
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by S_A_P on 27th January 2003.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I also would like to preface this by stating that I am a beta tester for Dash synthesis, but I still feel that I can give you an unbiased review of this synth, because I have spent a good month with this synth and think that dash synthesis is committed to bringing out good products for reasonable prices.

This synth is definitely a good "buzzy" and sharp sounding synth. Much more aggressive sounding than the daAlpha2k, which leads to a different sonic pallette than the daAlpha2k.

The interface (love it or hate it) is a pretty authentic replica and I think its pretty cool. Some of the text is slightly hard to read, but it is intuitive and easy to use.

The sounds- Like I mentioned earlier- this is a loud aggressive sounding synth, but it can also do some nice pads and other textural sounds. I really like the leads and basses. You can sound like Mr.Oizo and his famous MS-20 with this thing- great efx sounds are also possible. You probably wouldn't use this synth on a love ballad, but why are you making love ballads anyway? :^P

Ease of use- Very easy to program, and the random patch generator makes lead, pads, basses and efx sounds available with just 1 click. Very cool!

One thing that I really like about Dash synths is that he is making quality sounding/looking synths and is not charging an arm and a leg for them. At a SRP of 30 bucks or so this is an absolute bargain! I challenge you to find a synth this good written by the "big" companies that charge 250 bucks for average quality synths.

Support is very quick with the Dash team.
All issues that I present to William, Luigi and staff are answered quickly and usually fixed the same day. These people know what they are doing. Included documentation is precise and thorough. I really don't have any issues with this synth.

Stability- this synth has not caused any hiccups on my system and was very stable.

Overall, you can't go wrong if you are looking for an affordable growly
Reviewed By Stupid American Pig [read all by] on 19th December 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by S_A_P on 19th December 2002.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a great Niche that Dash has carved out here. While there are lots of B3 imitators, there aren't many Farfisa emulators out there.

This synth will create anything from the cheezy 60's organ leads to growling chords to decent B3 sounds. The user interface is nice and clean and very easy to figure out. The tremelo and vibrato effects are nice touches as well. If you are looking for a great all purpose organ emulator for a very reasonable price- this is it...
Reviewed By Stupid American Pig [read all by] on 26th November 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by S_A_P on 4th March 2003.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Ahh! What a dissapointment!!!!!!!!!!!
This synth was not even what I was expecting. I was expecting warm fat basses, with that warm unmistakeable filter sound of MOOG.

I purchased this synth at MARS for 90 bucks due to the bankruptcy store closures. I would NEVER pay full price for this synth! I think that I was cheated for the 90 bucks that I did pay.

this is definitely a 1 dimensional synth. It is VERY difficult to get this synth to sound unique, as opposed to others synths out there which offer a much wider spectral capability for much less money. If I had it to do over, I would have purchased a different synth..

I downloaded and installed Version 1.1 off steinbergs site. I can say that it seems to be improved a little, and WinXP stability is MUCH better. I will increase my ratings slightly to reflect the update.
Reviewed By Stupid American Pig [read all by] on 25th November 2002
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows.
Last edited by S_A_P on 10th April 2003.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
To preface, I am a DASH beta tester, but I believe that this is a great synth anyway. this synth has a very smooth sound to it, and is capable of a very large pallette of sounds. Version 2.0 adds mono waveform support, so you can create an even greater amount of sounds from a very reasonable priced package. William is committed to updating this synth and is already talking about the improvements he has in mind for 2.1. This is the kind of support that I wish all softsynth companies had. This version sports an improved GUI and 12 MB of extra waveforms to keep you busy with. This synth will do some amazing evolving pads and ambient textures- along with some very convincing juno sounds. Vith 2.0 a great synth has become even better.


This is a very good synth. Nice, intuitive GUI, great sound and good presets. So far this has been a very stable synth for me and I can always find a place for it in my songs. I recently Purchased the Steinberg Model E which is about 1/2 the synth for 4 times the money.

The synth has built in effects which further extend the already large sonic pallete. The range of sounds offered by this synth is on par with the best out there.
Highly recommended!