1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Full Bucket Music
  4. »
  5. Fury-800
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Fury-800

 My KVR
VA synthesizer Plugin by Full Bucket Music

Fury-800 has an average user rating of 4.50 from 8 reviews

Rate & Review Fury-800

User Reviews by KVR Members for Fury-800

Reviewed By kraftraum [read all by] on 27th September 2020
Version reviewed: All on Windows.
Last edited by kraftraum on 27th September 2020.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Hello everybody, .

then I want to write why the Furry800 gets 5 out of 5 stars from me:

1. GUI
Björn has lovingly implemented and expanded the GUI of the POLY800. Perfect for me.

2. Haptics
When I speak of haptics, I mean the operability of the synth via mouse / keyboard / midi. And then I can only say: it fits something like this:
- also created some intermediate stages, especially for the 16 ', 8', 4 'and 2' harmonics,
- the setting "Show All Parameters" shows all parameters as sliders and
- the settings are not as fiddly small as with other VSTis
- I got along with all parameters IMMEDIATELY.

3. Sound
What should I say? The sound is full, almost identical to a Poly 800 in Poly 800 mode.
And the Fury800 mode is an ingenious extension for me: where do you get 2 for a synth :)?

4. CPU load
I'm pretty careful what my VSTs do with the CPU. In the past I have always been very pleasantly surprised by all the synthesizers Björn has created.
And it's no different here: the CPU load is totally negligible on modern computers, downright ridiculous with the sound.

5. Extras
I know Björn and love the intelligent, well thought-out extensions that he also donates as "extras". That is also the case here as would be there
- Voice Mod, God.Mod, SYSEX-Loader, Chorus Rate ....

Unfortunately I can only partially understand the arguments of BONES:
- yes, the POLY800 didn't sound as great as other synths, but: it was affordable. And the FURY800 mode is not the POLY800 mode for the real POLY800 sound.
- the parameters can be reached via the setting "Show All Parameters" since the first beta, a great feature ... and: the controls can be moved wonderfully with the mouse wheel :)
- I think it is very positive to have GUI scaling at all.

As a beta tester, I appreciate the painstaking, detailed work of Björn / Fullbucket. Personally, I think you shouldn't lose sight of the fact that it's a free synth made in your spare time.

If you would like to hear more of the mix between the FURY800 / POLY800 mode: my patches are available and my piece of music is available under.

https://soundcloud.com/kraftraum/kraftraum-rotation-31-fury800

show how the synth sounds :).

Thanks Björn.

Greetings out of the Kraftraum.

K.

Reviewed By KungFuDaz [read all by] on 4th June 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Mac.
Last edited by KungFuDaz on 4th June 2020.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Thank you for this.

I've never had a Poly800 so I can't comment on how close this gets, however I have heard and loved a lot of old skool Detroit techno and this synth has the exact same feel and sound to it.

Excellent - oh and also thanks for the version that works on older macs lol my studio cheese grater loves it .

Reviewed By letribs [read all by] on 3rd June 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Windows.
Last edited by letribs on 4th June 2020.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Sounds close enough to the hardware to me.

It might not a be a 1:1, but the spirit is there.

Overall, I get poly-800 vibes playing this.

Comes with an awesome little set of patches.

This thing generally excels at evolving pad sounds, cute keys and sound.

effects.

It's limited, but that's why you want to use it.

A good clone of a niche cheapo synth from the past.

Thanks fullbucket.

Reviewed By BONES [read all by] on 3rd June 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I think this sounds too good to be a close emulation of a Poly800, which never sounded good at all. The problem with it is that they have slavishly copied the original's UI and it really doesn't work here. You can't see the value of anything until you hover your cursor over it and there is simply not enough contrast between the background and the markings to comfortably read any of the parameters. Overall, the GUI is way too large, too, even at it's minimum scaling.

Overall it's an interesting exercise in showing why slavish emulations of old hardware is a bad idea. Some of FBM's other synths are absolute crackers, like Mono/Fury, but this one is way wide of the mark, I'm afraid. Some years ago Synapse made another Poly800 clone and I think they did a better job than FBM have done here. If you can find a copy of that for sale somewhere, it's a better bet, I reckon.

POSITIVES.

- Sounds nice enough, better than I remember a Poly800 ever sounding.

- Can't argue with the price.

NEGATIVES.

- GUI too big at minimum size.

- Slavish copying of original UI hampers usability.

- FBM have much better synths than this one.

Reviewed By charliecrash [read all by] on 2nd June 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by charliecrash on 2nd June 2020.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

4 stars for even creating this beast. The most hated/ignored synth on the planet. It sound way better than I remember, but it lacks the constant noise, distortion and whining...no just kidding. Great work.

5 stars if you add a way to import real poly800 patches.

Reviewed By chrisg [read all by] on 1st June 2020
Version reviewed: latest on Mac
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Amazing work!Thanks for this lovely POLY800 synth, sounds fantastic and has a great vibe. Feed it through Kazrog, QClone, Nebula, Acqua etc. Inspiring, useful, and the Filter is n i c e ! Also perfect: works flawless on Catalina.

Reviewed By Roman Wisniak [read all by] on 1st June 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Roman Wisniak on 1st June 2020.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I'm so happy I've got such faithful emulation of this great little synth. It has its unique character! What a pleasure to shift back in time...

Reviewed By elviecho [read all by] on 1st June 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by elviecho on 2nd June 2020.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Another great synth by Fullbucket. Sounds good and looks good. And don't forget, it's made in C++.
I wish the gui's of the FB synths were scalable but that is the only point I would change.
Addendum: Found out the gui IS scalable, my fault! :-).

Latest 8 reviews from a total of 8

Comments & Discussion for Full Bucket Music Fury-800

Discussion
Discussion: Active

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

PierreG
PierreG
3 June 2020 at 12:43am

I'm getting crashes in Tracktion Waveform 11 when opening the GUI.

Results from PluginVal testing: https://app.box.com/s/zmzg37gqj7cx01n1hr74hey2n46ckb8d

Full Bucket
Full Bucket
3 June 2020 at 6:40am

Is it working i a different host? Maybe the latest LICE-based version (see my website) works on your machine?

Cheers, Björn.

PierreG
PierreG
3 June 2020 at 7:50pm

LICE is nice. Works great, THANKS.

Sorry I missed the very clear suggestion to try this version if the other didn't work.

Full Bucket
Full Bucket
4 June 2020 at 9:51pm

No problem! Glad it works! :-).

Aquilia
Aquilia
7 June 2020 at 10:09am

Super excited to try this ad I owned an original. Reaper crashes every time I try and load the VST sadly (Win 7 P).

PierreG
PierreG
7 June 2020 at 5:30pm

Did the LICE version that Full Bucket pointed out not work for you in Reaper? It works for me in Reaper 6.11.

piozen
piozen
15 June 2020 at 10:40am

Until now all Full Bucket Music plugins have worked extremely efficiently and flawlessly. I'm using linux and the reaper DAW through WiNE. Fury800 is the first VST that doesn't work - the GPU accelerated version at all and LICE does not display the interface elements correctly (and VST window size too). When I saw that this plugin appeared on KVR with the option of changing the size, I was extremely happy. Meanwhile, it is the first VST that is not suitable for use in my environment. Nevertheless, thank you for the whole set of great vst's. The above only informs that something has changed in GUI development, which stopped the possibility of using this plugin in my OS.. I suspect that every new plugin will also have the same problem. All the best.

Mr LouisDCarroll Jr.
Mr LouisDCarroll Jr.
31 August 2020 at 8:16pm

Three thumbs up 4 me.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

kraftraum
kraftraum
9 October 2020 at 2:21pm

OK, next Level:

during the beta test, I had already collected a lot of ideas to show what possibilities the Fury 800 opened up in terms of sound. Due to various things, a different course has now arisen, so that I could only finish the demo after the KVR-OSC competition :)
You can Listen to the track under https://soundcloud.com/kraftraum/kraftraum-trifft-fullbucket-fury800-1. All presets have been created by me from scratch, given away to Björn for exclusive publication on his webpage under www.fullbucket.de/music/fury800.html.

And last, but not least: I also created another 100 additional presets for the Fury 800, known as the KF800PP, also provided Björn exclusively, to be found on the same page :).

Thx to Björn, take care and have a great day:).

PierreG
PierreG
9 October 2020 at 7:57pm

Nice work on your demo.

Many thanks for sharing your presets libraries, which are great. :).

Gratefully yours.

kraftraum
kraftraum
11 October 2020 at 6:00pm

You are welcome:).

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Please log in to join the discussion