Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Tokyo Dawn Labs
  4. »
  5. TDR Nova
  6. »
  7. Reviews

TDR Nova

 My KVR
Dynamic Equalizer Plugin by Tokyo Dawn Labs

TDR Nova has an average user rating of 4.29 from 7 reviews

Rate & Review TDR Nova

User Reviews by KVR Members for TDR Nova

Reviewed By Maussa [read all by] on September 22nd, 2021
Version reviewed: 2.1.0 on Windows

Anyone else hearing the smear in phase really audibly?

I would love it for the gui, can't keep it due to sound.

Reviewed By Vatche [read all by] on August 30th, 2021
Version reviewed: 2.1 on Windows

For me, by far the best Dynamic EQ that's free.

Did you know that it also supports Upward Expansion? Lower the ratio of the band below 1:1. Need I say more?

Reviewed By PureBasic [read all by] on April 11th, 2021
Version reviewed: 2.1.4 on Windows

Sorry guys. I'm removing two stars. This VST is very good and can be a life saver when going surgical on some complex sounds. But it is very hungry for CPU, like the Kotelnikov.

Reviewed By dissofiddle [read all by] on March 21st, 2021
Version reviewed: 2.1.4 on Windows.
Last edited by dissofiddle on 21st March 2021.

Nova is so impressive for a lot of reasons.

I could easily cost 100 ou 200 hundred euros, and still be impressive.
As you know, it is a excellent dynamic EQ, and the compression sounds very natural.

What is less obvious if you didn't try it, is its sound quality, which is as good or even better than proQ and other.

So what the catch here ???

The catch is that it uses a lot more CPU thant ProQ or other plugins and has less features (only 4 bands, no linear mode, no per band listening, no m/s mode etc.)
However, .It has a very good automatic gain compensation and is free.
So it CPU use and these features doesn't matter to you, it is the best.



Reviewed By heavymetalmixer [read all by] on November 23rd, 2018
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows.
Last edited by heavymetalmixer on 24th November 2018.

After some testing this is my opinion on how TDR NOVA 2 is (I only tried the free version):

1) EQ.

2) Compressor.

3) Side-chain compressor.

4) Dynamic EQ (possible side-chain too).

5) Expander (fractionary ratios).

6) Limiter (Inf:1 ratio).

Regarding EQ and dynamics this plugin does EVERYTHING and it sounds freaking awesome (at least on Precise quality mode).

If you want Lookahead you can do it manually by copying the track, moving it to the left the ammount of samples you want the lookahead to be, and to use NOVA as side-chain compressor on the original track while it listens to the moved track.

I can't help but feel like I got an early christmas gift lol..

Reviewed By MrMapacheco [read all by] on June 24th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.2.0 on Windows.
Last edited by MrMapacheco on 24th June 2018.

Pretty much my go-to EQ for almost everything I do. It has a great low pass and high pass -72 dB filter, possibly it's best feature; but overall, great quality and design.

Reviewed By colobelporridge [read all by] on May 20th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows

This legendary dynamic eq is world class, Tokyo Dawn is one of the best developers out there as most of you know.

Latest 7 reviews from a total of 7

Comments & Discussion for Tokyo Dawn Labs TDR Nova

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Ivannn
Ivannn
27 November 2018 at 4:05am

Thank you much! This is an unexpected gift.

Ivannn
Ivannn
12 December 2018 at 2:04pm

Thank you for fixing bugs and update.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

CeeZee
CeeZee
9 October 2020 at 5:09am

Hi there.

I was using TDR Nova with Garageband on my MacBook Pro. I upgraded to an iMac (Mac OS Catalina 10.15.6) and Logic Pro X but I can't get TDR Nova to work. I get a message saying "TDR Nova.component" can't be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software. I've downloaded TDR Nova again from the website; I've checked that it's in the appropriate file location (with TDR Kotelnikov, which works fine on the new computer and with Logic); I"ve deleted it and downloaded it again, just in case; I've switched off my iMac and re-started to try that. Nothing works.

Am I doing something wrong or is there a problem with the software? Any clues/ help is appreciated.

Regards.

Carla.

Please log in to join the discussion