Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. AIR Music Technology
  4. »
  5. Xpand!2
  6. »
  7. Reviews
Was $99.00; Save $89.00 until 14 Dec 2022!

Xpand!2 has an average user rating of 3.60 from 5 reviews

Rate & Review Xpand!2

User Reviews by KVR Members for Xpand!2

Reviewed By Starship Krupa [read all by] on February 26th, 2022
Version reviewed: 2020 on Windows

As with AIR's other synths, don't let the low price fool you. This is a powerhouse.

It's a virtual ROMpler, a "workstation," great for sketching out ideas.

The thing is, the sounds (over 2000 presets) are so good that I often start out "sketching" with Xpand!2 and end up using it in the final mix.

Great basses, pads, polysynths, leads. Some very usable drum machines. Excellent arpeggiator.

It's not without a few (slight, IMO) weaknesses. The orchestral sounds are not something I'd ever use in a final production, but that's to be expected. Orchestral samples take up a huge amount of space. Still, they are sometimes usable when layered with synth sounds.

The GUI is not resizable, so if you're on a 4K monitor, it'll look pretty small. Not a big issue because it's a ROMpler, you use the presets.

The underlying code hasn't been updated in many years, but this actually works in its favor: it's very resource-friendly.

A smashing deal whenever it drops below $10. I think my licenses (I have multiple for my various DAW systems) were purchased for $5. Whatever, it's worth many times that.

Reviewed By Manbombchoi [read all by] on February 10th, 2022
Version reviewed: 2.1.2 on Windows.
Last edited by Manbombchoi on 10th February 2022.

Xpand 2 is pretty insane for what it is. I can make big and intricate sounds very quickly, and I appreciate the selection of onboard effects (although I would really like to have more than just two slots for them.) I am kicking myself for not getting Xpand sooner, because there was a time when I was very heavy into the slightly more cheesy, Ocarina-of-Time-esque sounds, of which Xpand has PLENTY.

A valid issue is that there are very little options for shaping the sounds individually, or for shaping the overall sound. And admittedly, given how I eluded to Xpand having a lot of voices fit for a SNES (or N64 actually), it does not easily have a strong sound. It remains an inspiring tool to use. I do recommend it, because it will get you very far.

Reviewed By mpoirier [read all by] on April 9th, 2021
Version reviewed: 2.2.7.21 on Windows.
Last edited by mpoirier on 12th April 2021.

Recent xpand2 update (Xpand!2_2.2.7.21000) is broken.

After installation, no sound is coming out in Reaper, Waveform11 and Ableton Live...

Just like the other recent update attemps: DB-33_1.2.7.21000, MiniGrand_1.2.7.21000 and Velvet_2.0.7.21000.

I have been using Air Music plugins for a long time but lately all updates have issues...

UPDATE: After uninstalling and clearing windows registry, re-installed and the plugin now makes sound !

Reviewed By TimCumper [read all by] on March 6th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Mac.
Last edited by TimCumper on 6th March 2021.

An impressive plugin - especially for the price.

The designers have done a good job providing loads of "stock" sounds, playable instruments & rhythm loops - the ability to combine up to 4 parts - each with level, 2 sends to built in FX with control, Arpeggiator and Filter.

Obviously a tad out of date, but nevertheless certain to find plenty of use.

Reviewed By Duncle22 [read all by] on May 9th, 2020
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows

Got this in a sale & i'm so glad i did because it sounds great. Its easy to tweak the presets & there's loads of them if your not into tweaking. Well worth the money.

Latest 5 reviews from a total of 5

Comments & Discussion for AIR Music Technology Xpand!2

Discussion
Discussion: Active
guefe
guefe
16 June 2020 at 6:02pm

Totally agree to Duncle22. And still love the others like Vacuum pro, Transfuser or Loom, too.

Jazzguitar
Jazzguitar
7 November 2020 at 10:14pm

In that price range that does not exceed $ 5 in continuous "sale" it would not be fair to compare Xpand! 2 with mythological beasts like Dune, Nexus, Omnisphere, etc, but that "mega synths" must get hurt because every minute many patches and sounds of Xpand! 2 are chosen, not infrequently, in place of their own. David vs. Goliath.

Please log in to join the discussion