Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. AIR Music Technology
  4. »
  5. Hybrid
  6. »
  7. Reviews
Was $99.00; Save $60.00 until 8 Dec 2021!

Hybrid

 My KVR
Synth (Analogue / Subtractive) Plugin by AIR Music Technology

Hybrid has an average user rating of 4.33 from 6 reviews

Rate & Review Hybrid

User Reviews by KVR Members for Hybrid

Reviewed By Starship Krupa [read all by] on September 30th, 2021
Version reviewed: 3.0.7 on Windows

I love this synth. Big evolving ambient pads, arps, leads, it has it all. The going rate for it seems to be $4.99; if you can't find it for that, then just wait and watch for it to come up again at Pluginboutique. A real sleeper, I've had it for years and still find new inspiration when I open it up and browse through the presets.

Highly recommended for people like me who want huge electronica sounds but can't afford Serum or Omnisphere. Having said that, though, it's not just a broke musician's substitute for the more expensive ones, it has its own strengths and stands on its own as a professional instrument. Don't let the low price fool you.

The engine is a few years old, which is actually a benefit: it uses next to nothing as far as processing power so you can use it on any system you have, even that hand-me-down Dell laptop.

The one drawback it has, is as others have mentioned, the non-resizable GUI. It looks fine on my monitors, but I can see that if you had a 4K it would be pretty small. Whatever, there are so many good presets (and extra ones free for downloading) that you can get immersed in it without ever touching the controls.

Just get it. If you use it on one track it's paid for itself. For the price of one beer at your favorite watering hole, stay home for a night and work on music instead.

Reviewed By YnJ [read all by] on May 9th, 2021
Version reviewed: unknown on Windows

I got mine for a ridculous 5 or 10 pounds, or less even, can't remember. I even have a second one I can't remember when I got, probably in a bundle. Is it worth full price, I don't know, but I know I have paid a lot more than $100 for stuff worth less than the Hybrid 3, and you always get it on sale for pocket change anyway.

The impression you get from the presets is that this is a house/techno synth, not my type of genres, but if you get under the hood you'll discover it's a very versatile and powerfull synth. It lacks some of the analogue warmth I usually go for, but the sound is exceptionally clean.

Reviewed By SNFK [read all by] on November 16th, 2020
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows

First, I got this for free when I got it in a hardware bundle, so I don't think I would have paid $149 for it. The GUI is a little hard to understand from first glance if you don't traditionally use Air Music Tech products, but after a bit I was able to get the gist of it (with this being my first synth from them). The synth itself comes packed with a lot of presets that seem a bit outdated, but there are still a lot that fit well in modern music. The only major issue I ran into was the lack of stereo imaging for one Part. To create a preset with stereo width, you need to duplicate Part A to Part B and pan them away from each other (hence taking away a Part). Other than that, I would recommend buying if it is on sale.

Reviewed By Bady89 [read all by] on May 7th, 2020
Version reviewed: 3.0.7 on Windows

I, m not a Fan of the UI, everything is small, it stress my eyes.

I, m a big fan of the amazing sound, the great presets, and hidden settings.like the sequencer or the effect chain.

Is it worth 149$ ?
Probably not, i got mine for free in a bundle with Hardware and yes it has a great sound and nice features but in this price range i would think about to take a Hardware Synth like one of the Volca Series or a Behringer Crave or something.

Reviewed By ubailey [read all by] on November 26th, 2018
Version reviewed: 2.07 on Windows

Sound quality is pretty good. My favorite feature is the ability to layer sounds in it. The one thing I don't like, is the small screen and no ability to adjust it. But still a very valuable synth, that goes on sale for a $1.00 many times during the year.

Reviewed By bduffy [read all by] on July 3rd, 2018
Version reviewed: 3.0.7 on Mac

Stunning functionality and sound.

I picked this up for an insane $1.00 on pluginboutique.com. If you ever see this come up on special, you must grab it. This is simply one of the best all-purpose synths out there today.

AIR Technology has been around for a long time; until recently, their plug-ins were only available to Pro Tools users (they make the default effect suite included with Pro Tools), but they have opened it up in recent years to other formats.

I expected this to fall along the lines of the instruments included with Pro Tools; professional, but outdated, bearing the imprint of circa-mid-2000's. But boy, was I wrong. Of course the presets are techno-centric, but they sound fantastic and serve as great starting points. I found myself sinking in and wasting many an hour digging in and even coming up with ideas.

What really sets this apart is the multitude of features. It reminds me a lot of Omnisphere, without being sample-based: dual oscillators that can be blended or turned on or off separately; a rich step-sequencer and arpeggiator; a rich selection of saturation for the filters and excellent in-line effects. I'm reminded that AIR used to be Wizoo, who made some of Steinberg's finest, long-lost synths, whose ethos still runs through Cubase today.

Not only this, it's insanely light on resources. I'm not sure that I could top out Cubase, running on a 2013 MacBook.

I could go on and on, but really, this is a tremendous, still totally relevant synth today, and worth every penny at full price, but it's shocking that one can pick this up for as little as one dollar. I urge anyone to check it out; it's the underrated secret deal of the decade.

Latest 6 reviews from a total of 6

Comments & Discussion for AIR Music Technology Hybrid

Discussion
Discussion: Active

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

mpoirier
mpoirier
19 June 2020 at 3:12pm

There is an issue with the "latest" 2020 version.

"Error 0x80070666: Cannot install a product when a newer version is installed."

I had version 3.0.7 installed...

alex philipp
alex philipp
21 June 2020 at 10:58am

After installation 2020 ver ftom plugin boutique. Have same 3.0.7 ver from 2015. What the point of update, who knows. No change log.

Please log in to join the discussion