Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 New

User Reviews by KVR Members for OrilRiver

Rate & Review OrilRiver Now!

Reviewed By sam1881 [read all by] on 19th December 2019
Version reviewed: 2.0.3 on Windows.
Last edited by sam1881 on 19th December 2019.
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Great reverb....Is it possible to use the old 2.0 skin on the newer version?

I like the look of the older interface. Just looks a bit cleaner and less cluttered to my eyes.

thanks.

Reviewed By Tarnith [read all by] on 21st November 2019
Version reviewed: 203 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Full of fantastic sounds, such a nice sounding reverb and truly a shining example of free software.

Reviewed By Slaapstadseun [read all by] on 12th February 2019
Version reviewed: 2.03b on Windows
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

OrilRiver is one of the best reverbs out there. Great sound, great interface, easy to use, and very low CPU usage. It comes with 36 presets to get you started.
The plugin has two skins, dark and light, and the layout is well thought out. It has all the parameters you would expect to see in a professional reverb plugin,
and actually has more controls than some of the pro reverbs I paid for.
Settings ARE saved in Reaper - I tested this. Do yourself a favor and try this reverb out.

Reviewed By Klinkerhoffen [read all by] on 12th February 2019
Version reviewed: ver2.0.3 on Windows.
Last edited by denis_prophet on 12th February 2019.
1 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Won't save any settings in reaper - just returns to default setting when project is loaded - why is that ?

ANSWER: All parameters are saved with the exception of the present name. I'm tired of writing this to anyone who uses only the presets to tune the sound.

Reviewed By sven70 [read all by] on 7th February 2019
Version reviewed: 2.0.3. on Mac
1 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Sounds are great.

But the settings in the plugin will not be saved. As soon I re-open my DAW-project the settings are in "default".

Sorry...this plugin is not usable for me :-(.

Reviewed By Starship Krupa [read all by] on 8th August 2018
Version reviewed: 2.0.3 on Windows
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

This is my favorite currently available reverb plug-in.

It has everything I want in a good algorithmic reverb, including a nice EQ section. I've tried others but I keep going back to Denis' very wonderful creation.

Reviewed By Sycopation [read all by] on 2nd July 2018
Version reviewed: 2.0.3 on Windows
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I'm giving this five stars not because I think it's perfect, but because I think it is hands down (imo) the best free reverb out there. They're not just blowing smoke when they say it "can rival the quality of commercial reverbs." In fact, I like it better than all the reverbs included with my DAW (Studio One). I own some nice reverbs (FabFilter Pro-R, Waves TrueVerb, u-he Uhbik-A, UVI SparkVerb - the first two are good for getting a realistic sound (among other things), the latter two are good for spacier / weirder things), and even with a decent selection of quality paid reverbs, I still end up using OrilRiver fairly often.

I've tried all the other free ones on KVR and just didn't care for any of them. Maybe some are okay if you invest more time with them, but I'm not precious about reverbs - I just want something I can use to quickly dial in the sound I want, and OrilRiver hits the spot quite often, and fast. It has a decent number of presets, but not an overwhelming amount. Sometimes having constrained choices is very good for creativity. Last song I did I found a totally serviceable preset, tweaked it a bit, all in under a minute - sounds great.

Reviewed By immoderato [read all by] on 14th June 2018
Version reviewed: 2.0.3b on Mac
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

After numerous attempts at building a precisely-defined acoustic space with dozens of plugins (including two paid) I found this winner. Out of the box goodness - I use it in both cubase and finale (which nearly makes cubase superfluous). Now, going to look for a donate button.

Reviewed By jak352 [read all by] on 7th March 2018
Version reviewed: 2.0.3 on Mac
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Smooth and natural sounding reverb for free with intuitive controls. Thanks to the developer! I used this in REAPER to get quality reverb.

Reviewed By DirtyLoud93 [read all by] on 2nd December 2017
Version reviewed: 2.0.3 be on Windows
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

this plugin is amazing in my opinion. I use freebies plugins mostly, and this is the best reverb VST so far. The control of dry & wet signals on different channels, and even of the early reflections and the reverb tail makes mix stage very comfortable and is a must have for every plugin of this genre. If there's a way to donate to the developers I'd really appreciate to know that.

Reviewed By ign [read all by] on 11th November 2017
Version reviewed: 2.03beta on Windows
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

One of my favourite reverbs. Lots of versatility. I think the diffusion could still do with more emphasis between low and high settings.

Reviewed By lingyai [read all by] on 6th October 2017
Version reviewed: 2.03 on Windows
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I've never used a reverb which makes it as easy to dial in a lovely sound so quickly. It has replaced Valhalla Room (which is great) as my go-to-verb. I'd rate Oril River highly even if it were not free. The developer really should charge for it.

Reviewed By alexandredesroches [read all by] on 4th October 2017
Version reviewed: 2.0.3 on Windows
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Sounds better than most free reverbs. Competes with payable ones.

Easy to use. Highest plugin format available (vst3 64-bit)

It's free man. But it can become a massive one with few add-ons !.

Reviewed By soma [read all by] on 3rd October 2017
Version reviewed: 2.0.3 on Mac
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

When you see the controls it looks like it has just what you need to make a great sound, a great layout and nice feature set. Selectable patterns for ER and Reverb, mix lock, bypassing sections, and a nice 3 Band EQ (although this would sound better on the input since there is modulation).

However, ranges are wide open and not properly scaled, changing times makes clicks, and in general sounds pretty metallic and unnatural but not in an immediately musical way. Thankfully it's free. :)

Reviewed By skippertag [read all by] on 25th September 2017
Version reviewed: 2.0.3 Be on Windows
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Really GREAT PLUGIN.

THANK YOU!.

I have one question regarding Preset Names in REAPER.

When I re-open a saved project the presets and settings that a chosen in a the last saved state are recalled properly as it seems but this selection is not shown in the preset list - and in the top field of the preset list (the selector) it's only shown "Default" .. is that on purpose or would you mind considering changing that to show the actually selected preset?

many thanks again and for your response.

Frank.

Reviewed By lolilol1975 [read all by] on 22nd July 2017
Version reviewed: 2.03b on Windows
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Right now the best sounding free reverb on the market in my opinion.

Can easily give a run for the money to many commercial reverbs.

Thank you Denis for this masterpiece.

Reviewed By Taurus [read all by] on 25th June 2017
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Great sounding reverb and very low on cpu. From compact rooms to large scifi spaces with long tails is all possible and sounds great. The plugin works fine under Windows10 64-bit and Renoise 3.1. This VST will become my favorite reverb plugin until now.

Latest 17 reviews from a total of 17

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
Mac of BIOnighT
Mac of BIOnighT
27 September 2016 at 6:35pm

I tried it, but I get a message that says that something couldn't find the access to something else and it doesn't load : (Is that a problem with my computer or the vst?

denis_prophet
denis_prophet
27 September 2016 at 8:28pm

What are the characteristics of your computer and the system?

3ee
3ee
27 September 2016 at 8:33pm

Hey Denis, many thanks for the great plugin.

There is a discussion opened about the reverb on KVR, in case you've missed it:

https://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=470581&p=6571345#p6571345.

Mac of BIOnighT
Mac of BIOnighT
27 September 2016 at 8:45pm

XP professional sp3, AMD athlon 64 x2 dual core processor 5000+, Cubase SX. As I said, it might very well be a problem with my set-up, so please don't go crazy trying to figure out what the problem is, unless others have the same problem :) Thanks :)

Batucada
Batucada
29 September 2016 at 6:37pm

Works only on Win 7 and up, unfortunately, , , .

C.Ray
C.Ray
27 September 2016 at 8:47pm

Hey, I think this is a wonderful reverb! Would it be okay if I had a custom GUI made for it?

Mac of BIOnighT
Mac of BIOnighT
29 September 2016 at 7:20pm

Windows 7 and up only? Oh, that's a pity : (Thank you so much for looking into it anyway, Denis, I really appreciate it :)

layzer
layzer
9 November 2016 at 6:00am

Try the TAL reverbs, Reverb2 in particular. they work perfect in XP and sound fantastic.

keithm
keithm
14 November 2016 at 7:45pm

Hi, this is a nice sounding reverb but none of the settings for the VST 2 version are remembered in Cakewalk Sonar X3. VST 3 seems ok.

delest
delest
18 January 2017 at 1:26pm

What an atmospheric reverb plug! Great job Denis.

Eirikur
Eirikur
2 April 2017 at 5:15am

Wow! I am really looking forward to trying version 2! I'm a big fan of the first version.

Coda73
Coda73
3 April 2017 at 9:15am

Win10x64\Cubase 8\64 - VST2 - no GUI! VST3 x64 work fine.

screen

denis_prophet
denis_prophet
3 April 2017 at 11:55am

I will fix this bug.

mr-es335
mr-es335
4 April 2017 at 1:02am

Hello, .

Windows 7 SP1 in MihiHost receive error OrilRiver.dll is not a valid VST plugin.

mr-es335
mr-es335
4 April 2017 at 3:41am

Hello, .

Version 1.0.3, 32-bit works just fine.

denis_prophet
denis_prophet
8 April 2017 at 4:03pm

OrilRiver has new build version. Fixed error displaying the GUI in the VST2 version in some hosts.

Pisces
Pisces
28 April 2017 at 9:13am

Bug in version 2 beta. In FL Studio, doesn't save any settings with .flp project, everything zero'd on the plugin when the project is loaded. Very nice reverb. Great work.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

denis_prophet
denis_prophet
28 April 2017 at 4:18pm

I can not understand this.
I have tasted the OrilRiver in FL Studio 12 now and all settings saves well.
Please describe in more detail your problem.

VELLISLAV
VELLISLAV
30 May 2017 at 1:57pm

Hi Denis thanks for this amazing reverb but v.2 doesn't work right .for me..win8 x64 daw cubase 5 - show small box 'no audio', daw MULAB - works sometimes for a while but then crash ...please make it more stable, its such a pleasure to with it. tHANKS :)

denis_prophet
denis_prophet
30 May 2017 at 2:56pm

I found some bugs, and maybe your problems are related to them. Soon there will be a next update.

psyko66
psyko66
12 June 2017 at 3:19pm

2.0.2 Beta AU is not passing AU validation on Logic Pro X.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

nonnaci
nonnaci
13 June 2017 at 10:17am

Hi Denis. Big fan of your plugin since the first beta version. For 2.x versions, the GUI updates in FLStudio are laggy (about 1 sec wait time between turning knobs, temporarily freezes FLStudio graphical updates) as if it were competing for graphical resources. I had no issues with the 1.x versions.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

denis_prophet
denis_prophet
14 June 2017 at 8:38pm

I found the cause of bug GUI. I will fix it.

nonnaci
nonnaci
14 June 2017 at 9:49pm

Nice. Looking forwards to the next release.

denis_prophet
denis_prophet
5 July 2017 at 4:05pm

Updated​ to beta 2.0.3. It has to work fine.

Taurus
Taurus
25 June 2017 at 2:13pm

Great Reverb, work fine here under Windows10 64-bit Renoise3.1.

AndersBrontosaurus
AndersBrontosaurus
17 July 2017 at 10:25pm

On my knees! This is awesome.

Thanks a lot for this gift Denis_Prophet.

Can confirm that it works on Win 8.1 x64, Jeskola Buzz.

psyko66
psyko66
17 July 2017 at 10:30pm

Nothing has changed 2.0.3 don't pass AU validation on Logic Pro X.

mr-es335
mr-es335
12 August 2017 at 7:22pm

Hello, .

Ver 2.0.3 Beta is working great in my 32-bit system.

This will be a "keeper" as well as my "go-to" reverb.

Well done, Denis.

skippertag
skippertag
11 September 2017 at 7:48pm

Great Reverb, great gui Denis! Thank you very much for sharing that plugin with all of us. That is very kind.

May I have a (I hope little) feature request, please? It's regarding the use of the scroll wheel of the mouse...

You made mouse-scroll available on every knob and fader - I like that very much. Would you please consider to implement that feature for the preset selection, too? In particular I'm asking for that feature for the E.R. selection. Without that it's so much work to try to find the best E.R. for that special needs of the current project...

With regards to the Global Preset Selection - What I find much more useful to find the best preset for the current need is if the preset list won't disappear after I clicked on one preset.... it would be much more time efficient to just scroll through the presets with the mouse wheel or with left click on the list that won't disappear after each click but when I close it with a click on a special close button.

What you guys think?

Again, many thanks for such a great plugin.

Charlylyly
Charlylyly
21 September 2017 at 10:51pm

Hi,
I had issues with recalling parameters on the previous version, but now I have the VST3 everything is working fine !
And I'm glad because this reverb is AWESOME. It is quickly becoming my go-to for big lushy sounds (big vocals, cinematic sounds...). I use this, Signaldust Tila2 for rooms, and the Bricasti impulses for more realistic environments. Nothing more needed !
Really impressed with this plug-in ! Thanks to you Denis Tihanov for making such good work available for free, without people like you I couldn't be able to mix records .

alexandredesroches
alexandredesroches
22 September 2017 at 4:09pm

Hey this reverb is very surprising. I love it!!!

Good job!.

alexandredesroches
alexandredesroches
22 September 2017 at 5:14pm

but I jsut installed v 2 and Cubase blacklisted it as a 32-bit plugin.

alexandredesroches
alexandredesroches
22 September 2017 at 6:20pm

Denis, I managed to make the vst3 64-bit work in Cubase with another installation :)

awesome plugin again and Im so happy that you gave credits to Jesus Christ!! be blessed bro :)

alexandredesroches
alexandredesroches
22 September 2017 at 6:30pm

Denis, I managed to make the vst3 64-bit work in Cubase with another installation :)

awesome plugin again and Im so happy that you gave credits to Jesus Christ!! be blessed bro :)


If I can help for any suggestions I would say to make it commercial sale ready.

add :
- mousewheel variation switching.

- EQ switch for pre/post reverb ajustement

But sincerly I think your reverb sounds close to Eventide, Valhalla, Cubase built-in and maybe better than some of them.

XComposer
XComposer
7 October 2017 at 2:49pm

I tried it today in Logic Pro X, AU format: it crashes the Logic AU validation, but it can be used very well by opening it into the DDMF Metaplugin (which I have). Very interesting sound and very refined interface, I really like it.

lolilol1975
lolilol1975
13 November 2017 at 11:15am

My favorite free reverb with Sanford Reverb. Among those I have tested, it ranks first with Sanford a close second. I may have not done Freeverb3 justice though, but its ugliness and complete user unfriendliness just made its use more difficult than necessary.

1) Oril River
2) Sanford reverb
3) Epicverb and Voxengo OldSkoolverb
4) Tonebooster reverb v3 (not free)
5) TAL reverb II
6) Freeverb3
7) Cockos Reaverbate
8) Ambience.

Jhweinbe
Jhweinbe
21 January 2018 at 7:49am

Give GlaceVerb a try. I have it at #2 behind Sanford on my List. This one's #3 on my list.

dsealer
dsealer
6 March 2018 at 7:47pm

Need some help. Have 2.03. Using Reaper. Orill won't save settings, reverts back to Default and I must move from one setting to another for the reverb to activate.

Help please, .

Don.....

denis_prophet
denis_prophet
7 March 2018 at 12:35pm

Hi! I am also a Reaper user but never did not have this problem.
There is such that when you reopen a project the label changes on the preset window of the plugin but all parameters are saved and it is not a problem.

dsealer
dsealer
7 March 2018 at 2:24pm

Thanks denis, now I understand. When I said switch back and forth this is what I meant. When I would reopen my song Oril was always on the Default verb, but it never had the Default sound. So I would switch to another setting then go back to Default and the sound would be there. My mistake in not understanding was probably caused because I use the "Little Room" verb a lot on my vocals. So when I would open up my song I didn't recognize the verb and looking at the settings I would see the Default setting displayed. I never really looked at the knobs and sliders until you mentioned it today. Thanks I get it now.

I do have one other question. What does the "Lock" (opened/unopened) due that is located next to the setting display? I always lock it but each time I open up the song again it's unlocked.

Once again thanks for setting me straight with this, .

Don......

denis_prophet
denis_prophet
8 March 2018 at 2:04pm

Please read short manual.

Rumi
Rumi
27 March 2018 at 8:15pm

It sounds really good, thank you.

How can I save my settings?

An A / B comparison and undo / redo would be nice.

donntarris
donntarris
22 April 2018 at 5:44am

I've managed to check out the VST3 version in WaveLab Pro 9.5, but the AU version comes up with an error "ERROR: -4 IN CALL AudioUnitRender reverb" in the RENDER TEST when attempting to load it in Logic Pro X 10.4.1 running on Mac OS X 10.12.6.

Is this a known error?

Ultima2876
Ultima2876
23 August 2018 at 9:41pm

Unfortunately both versions fail validation in Logic Pro X. Hopefully will be fixed soon as it looks really cool.

XComposer
XComposer
23 August 2018 at 9:47pm

Yes, I agree, it goes on failing AU validation in Logic Pro X on Mac OS X and that's a pity. I am still obliged to use a plug-in bridging utility (Metaplugin) to use the excellent Oril River.

johnkscott4781
johnkscott4781
17 September 2018 at 3:57pm

HI. Hoping to get some help. The reviews and videos of this reverb look fantastic. I recently downloaded Cakewalk by Bandlab for free after a long time away from any recording (Sonar about 12 years ago was the last time I did anything). I inserted Oril River into my fx on a vocal track and got a hideous squealing and then audio cut out. All levels were maxed. I'm sure it is something I am doing wrong. I don't have this issue with Cakewalk's included reverb FX plugin. Anyone have any ideas? I'd really like to be able to use this. Thanks in advance.

n2077
n2077
24 September 2018 at 5:07pm

EpicVerb is pushed off the throne.

KasetSound
KasetSound
3 October 2018 at 5:07pm

Wow the best free reverb plugin imo.
Nice GUI everything in the right place.

The only thing what missing is the mouse wheel function.

My recommendation to everybody who's looking for a good reverb.
I have many reverbs that are not cheap but I use OrilRiver more and more when it needs to be done quickly.

Thank you, you did a great job.

equix
equix
22 June 2019 at 3:56pm

Excellent reverb, I use it in all my projects, but in Ableton live 10.1 I have a problem with the second GUI. Attached image. https://i.ibb.co/ssws55G/orilriver.jpg

equix
equix
22 June 2019 at 6:12pm

It only happens in the vst3 version.

costellomusic
costellomusic
15 October 2019 at 8:26am

I'm having trouble with AU validation failing in Logic Pro. I see this has been discussed be fore. Still no solution? Thanks.

XComposer
XComposer
15 October 2019 at 8:32am

Yes, the same is happening to me. Still unresolved, I really hope the developer will fix this problem. Is it possible?

Margo Fly
Margo Fly
27 October 2019 at 5:11pm

Спасибо.

costellomusic
costellomusic
29 December 2019 at 6:08am

I also have the problem of failed validation in Logic Pro X. I re-downloaded file and before trying to install read the brief License Ageement document wwhich includes installation and other informaiton. It does not appear to have informaiton regarding and AU version of the plugin. Only VST and VST3 for Mac. There was also no i.component file included in the files.

The document itself provides the follwoing:

"To install OrilRiver VST2 plugin on Mac OS X operating system just copy

OrilRiver.vst directory from zip-format setup archive to /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST

directory on system drive.

To install OrilRiver VST3 plugin on Mac OS X operating system copy OrilRiver.vst3

directory from zip-format setup archive to /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST3 directory on

system drive."

So I'm concluding that there is no support for an au version of the plugin. Therefore it won't work in Logic Pro X.

Denis Tihanov if you could confirm this, it would help many of us from trying to make something happen that is not supposed to. I appreciate all your work and anyone who provides a free plugin deserves respect in my book. But I use Logic as my main DAW and am sorry to say I am missing the opportunity to experience that work as it really seems to be a great plugin.

Wishing you well.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

neytcev
neytcev
5 January 2020 at 12:42pm

We need and ask for AU too, will help in multiplication of your work!
We also have lost too many time and efforts in trying to resolve that Logic validation issue.
Hope to find any successful solution soon!
Thank you.

XComposer
XComposer
5 January 2020 at 1:29pm

Meanwhile, I succeeded in using OrilRiver in Logic through intermediate VST-hosting plug-ins, such as the free Kushview Elements or the DDMF MetaplugIn. Not the definitive solution, for sure, but it works.

bristlehog
bristlehog
10 February 2020 at 4:43am

This is a great plugin. However, in Reaper its chosen preset is not saved, and is reverted to 'Default' every time the Reaper project is reopened. This happens both with VST2 and VST3 versions of Oril River.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

denis_prophet
denis_prophet
11 February 2020 at 11:49am

REAPER saves all parameters except the preset name label. The same situation on the other hosts.

bojanboyss
bojanboyss
11 February 2020 at 1:29pm

Please check video demonstration of the issue: https://youtu.be/brATkFosTxY

neytcev
neytcev
11 February 2020 at 2:25pm

Well known story ... Very bad and disappointing! (computers ...).

Please log in to join the discussion

OrilRiver

Average user rating of 4.18 from 17 reviews

Denis Tihanov
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
165 people have added OrilRiver to 20 My KVR groups 211 times
+15 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 3  3  3

30-Day: 4; 7-Day: 5; Yesterday: 5