Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Voxengo
  4. »
  5. SPAN
  6. »
  7. Reviews

SPAN

Analyser / Monitor Plugin by Voxengo
MyKVRFAVORITE362WANT53

SPAN has an average user rating of 4.89 from 9 reviews

Rate & Review SPAN

User Reviews by KVR Members for SPAN

Reviewed By RobertSchulz [read all by] on July 25th, 2022
Version reviewed: 3.13 on Windows.
Last edited by RobertSchulz on 25th July 2022.

Honestly, there is no reason why you shouldn't get this plugin. I know you might think you don't need it or you already have a spectrum analyzer in your DAW either as a plugin or inside one of your EQ's but SPAN is different.

I used Ableton Live's own Spectrum plugin as well as the spectral analysis in EQ Eight before, and I liked it. Used it to find annoying frequencies but also harmonics. But there were two problems in terms of that I couldn't zoom in an area I needed more in-depth visualization and to have the spectrum analyzer at a certain place on my screen.

Now with SPAN it was possible to zoom in when you hold down [ALT] and place/resize the GUI whereever/however I want since.

But I didn't know that it offers so much more.

It is possible to look individually at the Mid or the Side channel (Mid-Side Stereo mode) or Left or Right channel (Dual Mono). A heavy feature for mixing.

You also have the option to listen to a specific frequency band by holding [CTRL] or [CMD] while you dragging around the cursor, which also helps to find problematic frequencies by ear.

Then you got the Meters to the right and bottom side, which helps you take control over the volume and Mono compatibility of your mix. But you also can hide them.

As a Voxengo plugin, you furthermore can costumize the GUI visually in the settings of the plugin to you likes. Especially for an analyzer a very good feature.

If you want to take control and get a visual help, SPAN is the way to go and it's completely free.

Reviewed By Synami [read all by] on December 21st, 2021
Version reviewed: 3.11 on Windows

SPAN is an absolute godsend.

I practically use it on every project file of mine, and for good reason. It's essentially the best spectrum analyzer for value (or ever), and to check on the mix and master is vital for making stuff sound listenable. Every little bit of information is readily available here (frequency, notes, db), the slope option is neat, and the best part is that it's stable. Avid FL 20 user, been continuously using this plugin for over a year and it hasn't crashed once. I love it.

Reviewed By Jurandirleva [read all by] on December 2nd, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

O Plugin é incrível, ele faz com perfeição o que se propõem a fazer, da pra ver exatamente qual é a as frequências que estão fazendo picos. Na minha experiência usando ele, todas minhas equalizações ficaram mais rápidas e mais precisas para quais com o meu objetivo desde que o instalei. Recomendo.

Reviewed By nonewwavenofun [read all by] on August 23rd, 2020
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

Does exactly what you need it to (analyse frequencies accurately and in real time). I like using it to see what saturation and exciter plugins are doing to the signal.

Reviewed By shmackydoo [read all by] on April 3rd, 2020
Version reviewed: v2.3 on Mac

This is the best free analyzer out there. I use this when I need really precise measurements because the settings are very extensive.

Reviewed By zakkmylde89 [read all by] on November 9th, 2018
Version reviewed: 10 on Windows

Again, Voxengo offers a free product that not only performs like similar paid products, but surpasses them. Get this plugin, learn how to use it correctly, and listen to your mixes get better almost instantly.

Reviewed By juliandoe [read all by] on October 12th, 2018
Version reviewed: 3.1 on Mac

SPAN is awesome. It has all that you can desire from a spectrum analyzer. All the info, all the analysis, everything you need to have all the data of your song. Put it at last of your master channel and see in real time how your mix/master is going. and it's free.

I use version 3.1 with Logic Pro X 10.4.2 on High Sierra. Never had a problem/crash.

Reviewed By stardustmedia [read all by] on July 25th, 2014
Version reviewed: 2.7 on Mac

Introduction
*******************
Best free frequency spectrum, volume and phase correlation analyzer out there! It should be an 11 out of 10!!! AND free!!!!.

Features
*******************
-) Real-time FFT spectrum analyzer
-) Volume meter
-) Phase correlation meter
-) Edit: Fourier block size, FFT window overlap percentage, visual slope, smoothness, and many more
-) Colors can be changed
-) Route different channels in one analyzer and compare them
-) K-Level metering
-) SCalable GUI
-) Statistics
-) Band-pass filter to listen to the frequency you're pointing at
-) Zoom in
-) Shows note as semitone and cent (not many analyzer do that)
-) more more more...
-) Freakin' free!!.

GUI & Usability
*******************
GUI is ok and includes different color schemes. The behavior of the analyzers can be adjusted to the situation and taste. And you can scale its x and y axis as you wish, make it double huge or just small, or everything in between. Almost no paid (and some for a lot of money) analyzer can do that. But Voxengo nailed it for free!!.

It's easy to use and self-explanatory. If it should be too difficult for you, delete the .component, no money lost because it's free!!.

Presets
*******************
It already includes very useful presets, for all different kind of situations. Albeit it's free!!.

Stability
*******************
It runs, and runs, and runs... for free!!.

Cons
*******************
I'd love to have the volume meter alone, but hey no complains here it's free!!.

Conclusion
*******************
If you don't have Voxengo SPAN, you definitely must get it right now. Because it's darn good and costs nothing, yes it's free!!.

Reviewed By gdev1981 [read all by] on December 6th, 2010
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows
I can't believe no-one has reviewed SPAN yet so here goes.

It is brilliant for several reasons:

1. It is free
2. It has a scalable GUI and goes quite big
3. It has a high level of zoom incase you really need to know if was 53hz or 57hz you were looking at!
4. It has a band-pass filter so you can hear the frequency band you are looking at (ctrl-click on PC)
5. You can have two curves on the same page (and it is free)
6. You can change the accuaracy speed etc. in more ways than many commercial plugs (it is based on the analyser in gliss eq)
7. It shows frequency and note information for wherever on the graph your mouse hovers (and it is free)

It is free and fully featured - it simply blows other free analysers away and is much more useful than many commercial or bundled analysers available today.

I can't believe it's free! Free!

If you haven't got it, why not get it now? If you only have version 1 get version 2 now it is sooo much better!

Latest 9 reviews from a total of 9

Comments & Discussion for Voxengo SPAN

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Beanz
Beanz
5 October 2012 at 7:03am

I love Voxengo's plug-ins, as soon as I got this one, it replaced my Ableton Live spectral analyzer.

Their GUI's are fantastic & with a spectral analyzer that can make a big difference. Doesn't seem to strain the CPU at all either.

Two thumbs up.

Vospi
Vospi
15 November 2013 at 3:38pm

It's great to see that free products are being updated, too.

Great to have you, Voxengo. :)

stardustmedia
stardustmedia
28 October 2016 at 3:06pm

This is THE meter I use on every channel. Thanks Voxengo for such a great plugin... for free :D.

juhhie
juhhie
30 October 2016 at 11:47am

No EBU R128 / LUFS metering?

Ivannn
Ivannn
27 February 2019 at 9:34am

Thank you much for update.

Any chance to have no-installer ver.?

Codesound
Codesound
16 May 2020 at 2:45pm

Hi, .

How should I read this analyzer? The answer is completely different than waves paz. Is it a question of settings or is the scale of representation of the values really different? Is there any way to be able to set it as waves paz?

thanks.

Please log in to join the discussion