Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Seaweed Audio
  4. »
  5. Fathom Synth
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Fathom Synth

Software Synthesizer Plugin by Seaweed Audio
MyKVRFAVORITE67WANT9

Fathom Synth has an average user rating of 4.63 from 24 reviews

Rate & Review Fathom Synth

User Reviews by KVR Members for Fathom Synth

Reviewed By newluc [read all by] on August 1st, 2021
Version reviewed: 3.04 on Windows

Bought from the start of this adventure, what can I say?

sound: good, in the mix, for ambient, for sperimentations.

quality of sound: very good, filters that can work right, and the endless possibility of the modularity...

price: perfect positioning and good management from Everett.

aspect: for me stimulating, pleasant for the eyes, very well conceived about the zone layout.

A synth that can say more, and developer is devoted to his creation.

only one thing: only four stars for the lack of vst3 format. For me Cubase user is a little disappointment; hope Everett will read this request.

Thanks for the synth, Everett.

Luciano.

Reviewed By TommyC81 [read all by] on July 31st, 2021
Version reviewed: 3.4 on Windows

Fathom Vector - Powerful, thick sound, and performant. Great GUI to manage all flexibility. Feels almost impossible to get a bad sound or of the Metamorphic oscillator.

Reviewed By WasteLand [read all by] on July 29th, 2021
Version reviewed: 3.4 on Windows

i own Fathom Vector not that long, but is an in-depth synth, semi-modular, almost modular.., great workflow, and extensive capabilities to drastically (...) shape sounds.
i work from scratch, work with many different kinds of soft synths, but Fathom Vector stands out, like the others of course, but in its own way.
and that is why i like it. also that you can work with partials... the additive capabilities.....

still discovering the synth, but the in-depth control over sounds, means that you can create sounds for years, years! that all sound different, and still have a Fathom feel...

of course you can mimic other synths, but why should you do that? o well, it is personal of course...

i use a soft synth for its own capabilities, and Fathom Vector is one of the great synths, that does not copy other synths, so many synths that do the same thing...
Fathom Vector (or even Pro of course) is special synth. it can seem overwhelming, but the many menu's, are quite accessible.. and the workflow has a strict logic..
so, nothing overwhelming, only for details, you can go into that or that.

and not to mention, create your own modular.. or semi-modular. Fathom Vector fits the gap, as i mentioned somewhere else, it is kind of the missing link between a non-modular synth (...) and a soft modular, a missing link, that isn't... missing... of course.

it combines the best of both worlds. in a great way. a synth to explore, without limitations. and the sound, it sounds great.

Reviewed By sbmongoose [read all by] on July 29th, 2021
Version reviewed: 3.4 on Windows.
Last edited by sbmongoose on 29th July 2021.

Bought Fathom Synth a couple of years ago when it was on sale without knowing much about it at the time. In terms of sound quality that has paid dividends. It's potentially fairly user friendly for beginners if just starting with oscilators and filters etc. but it's real strength is when some of the sound designers can go really deep with modulation and complexity, and this is currently beyond my own limits. But that's fine, there are a number of great sounding presets, and more available to purchase from sound designers too. The developer is very involved and open with the community on KVR here, and while he has a definite vision for Fathom, he also takes customer/user feedback on board too.

My only real request would be if there were more beginner tutorials explaining what some of the more advanced modues do, but with examples of sounds, not just the manuals description in words. I expect that will come, but I don't think Fathom has a large team working on development, marketing etc. so Everett has been focusing on improving the synth itself first. Quality over marketing b.s.

Many of the included presets have a very clean, pure sound. I hope future updates can add a bit more variety, grunge and snarl to the range of presets to show off Fathoms full range even more.

Everetts videos (Mountain Climber in particular for me) show just how amazing Fathom can sound, but a few more tutorial videos might help to open it up to new users better too.

Reviewed By crystalmsc [read all by] on January 14th, 2020
Version reviewed: 2.33.0 on Windows

I've been looking for a plugin synth with a thick and organic character which is lacking in the current market. So glad to finally got this one! It's not surprising since the developer is a former Ensoniq's software development team. The synth got that 80-90's power synth character, with a warmth and depth, rarely found on plugins. Another great thing is that the developer is very communicative and updating the plugin consistently. They're working on some massive CPU improvements, which is going to make the synth even greater. I can't wait for the sampler module, with some layering of 8-bit samples it has a potential for becoming something like the Mirage Soundprocess OS. Or with 6 layers of 12/16-bit, reaching the TS territory. The effects reminds me a bit of the glorious DP4+. So excited with the future of the development. Thank you to the developer for creating such an amazing synth.

Reviewed By neigui [read all by] on November 3rd, 2019
Version reviewed: 2.33 on Windows.
Last edited by neigui on 3rd November 2019.

I sued the free version before, then i bought this year.It's cool, i dont like the modular synth, but this plugin is difference.Its eaasy to understand how it is work. Good sound and free creative.I love it. I hope the developers could reduce the use of CPU and develope more cool skins.

Reviewed By Ojaix [read all by] on October 30th, 2019
Version reviewed: 2.33.0.1 on Windows

All I can say is this is way more value than what I paid for it. Loads of features, loads of very rich preset/samples and just a very high-quality synth in every way.

Reviewed By gerain-san [read all by] on September 19th, 2019
Version reviewed: 2.32.0 on Windows

This synth is very cool. It has nice features for sound design issues. I would like developer to work towards decreasing the CPU usage, but in general I can completely recommend this synth. I like to support indie developers of vst's.

Reviewed By AmbieticA [read all by] on June 10th, 2019
Version reviewed: 2.31 on Windows

After decades of sound design using multiple synthesizers and synthesis techniques, I believe I've finally found the "Holy Grail" of synthetic design using Fathom. It has seemingly limitless prospects, combined with the cleanest upper register audio I have ever heard! Using multiple synthesis methods, with such an open modular system, will leave any serious sound designer in awe over the complex potential that awaits them. Fathom has found a permanency within my sound design arsenal like no other synth ever has, and I feel like I've barely scratched the sound design "possibility" surface, as it feels like an infinite palette of sound awaits my further exploration into the depths of this unique synthesizer.

Reviewed By irism [read all by] on June 9th, 2019
Version reviewed: 2.30 on Mac.
Last edited by irism on 9th June 2019.

So much potential for its value. Don't let the price tag scare you.

Designing patches couldn't be much more easier than this. Just select the module you want, and drag cables to connect input to output. Layout is so straightforward. Everything you need to know about the synth is written nicely and precisely within the PDF manual. I'm using at least 4 instances of Fathom for layering in each of my production because of its versatility.

Also, the developer is an awesome person, kind and attentive to questions. You will not regret picking this up.

If you still have doubts, try out the fully functioning freeware version (mono).

Reviewed By glokraw [read all by] on June 9th, 2019
Version reviewed: 2.31 on Windows.
Last edited by glokraw on 31st July 2021.

EDIT 7-31-21: Fathom is still going strong. I have the Pro AVX enabled version, now at 3.4, but not the full Vector version.

I still use it in linux setups after many Fathom updates, which says to me that the code is solid, and should be very stable in the win-mac environs it's designed for. The synth's performance keeps improving with each release, and there are new sounds now that will appeal to a wider range of synth users, while players and sound designers can take advantage of the CPU optimizations to extend creativity. This is a product with a long life now, and a bright future ahead.

(end-edit).

I like things that are simple and symmetrical. The Fathom modular interface has the feel of a guitar pickers pedalboard, like IK's Amplitube, left-to-right and linear, easy to understand the flow at a glance, and easy to modify. The parts surrounding the modules panel have the same kind of symmetry I like in BlueCat's Axiom effects suite, very rectangular and orderly, an easy reach for something that's complex, but not visually cluttered by things not in use. I love that you only see a module's parameters when you WANT to see them. And I was shocked to see that many of the effects modules are the equal or better than popular commercial plugins, each one just waiting for a session to fully explore them. And what are effects, without great sounds to grind, pound, and croon at? The Fathom sound is hard for me to compare and pinpoint, because I don't have a vast collection, or deep experience, but I'll say pop the top off your blender, throw in SynthMaster One, Hybrid 3, Bazille, Reaktor Pprism, and Ugo's nicely metalic Texture II and M-Theory, whirl them to a frenzy, and ...be happy... When I see pics and reviews of modular synths and gear, the Muse usually throws on her parka, and runs to the truck to listen to an old 8-track tape of the Moody Blues, with the heat cranked up. But with Fathom, it's been different, she whispers tempting suggestions, with deep breathing. and high expectations. And speaking of high, the price isn't. The author has a target price range in mind, that won't lock people out of having such a great instrument, and a clear vision for imppovements, and new capabilities. Which don't include fiascos and wobblers in the copy-protection column. Buy early, update often, and help Fathom reach it's potential. Cheers.

Reviewed By tony10000 [read all by] on June 8th, 2019
Version reviewed: 2.31.0 on Windows

I'll tell you, I played with the CM version of Fathom and bought the full version a few days ago.

This is a killer synth and an amazing value! It is better than synths costing 5X as much! If you haven't bought a copy of Fathom, what are you waiting for. It has one of the best designed UIs I have ever seen.

The only issue I have with it is CPU usage but that can be managed and the dev is working on optimizing the code.

Investing in the Fathom platform is a no brainer. Just do it.

Reviewed By Mjusick_73 [read all by] on December 26th, 2018
Version reviewed: 2.23 on Windows

Fantastic playground, endless possibilities, good price, great documentation and a freeware Mono-Version.
I am really happy that I found that one.

Reviewed By bftucker [read all by] on December 23rd, 2018
Version reviewed: 1.0.11 on Windows

I have been using Fathom since it was first offered. I was impressed by its quality then and I am even more impressed with its constant development and its very talented and hard-working developer. Unless I am a very poor judge of character, the creation shares the virtues of its creator. By all means, try the free version and see if you agree.

Reviewed By kallaw [read all by] on December 23rd, 2018
Version reviewed: 2.23.0 on Windows.
Last edited by kallaw on 23rd December 2018.

A fantastic synth at an absolute bargain price.

Developer is incredibly helpful, great documentation and frequent updates.

Highly recommend.

Reviewed By SoundPorn [read all by] on September 18th, 2018
Version reviewed: 2.19 on Windows

The depths of this synth are insane. From the eye candy GUI, to the 137 page E-book/PDF manual that this comes with it's clear that endless amount of thought went into this synth, and considering the constant updates it's clear they still are. Bravo. We don't need a million new synths. Just one, that's very good that get's updated consistently and made better.

Reviewed By Rumdrum [read all by] on May 18th, 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Mac.
Last edited by Rumdrum on 19th May 2018.

Do not know how many soft synths I have. I lost count. Numerous and soon forgotten ones. Some stand out from the crowd. I still use the old Powercore Virus, the relatively new Serum and Omnisphere is my all time favorite. Then Fathom came along. The mono version was free, so even if the closet was already full I thought I should give it a try. Free is free right? What first struck me was the unfamiliar interface. Why did they design it like that? I fumbled around with it for some hours and it grew on me. By the end of the day I was in love. I have never really gone into the programming part of a synth. It seemed so cumbersome. I relied on others to make some presets. But now....one after another. It was more like playing an old video game. Moving all the parts around, connecting them to hear dramatic or subtle differences. Fun! Here you are the hero of the game, producing incredible sound with all the impressive features, FX, knobs and curves.

Well, a GUI is important but it does not make a synth. The SOUND makes a synth. And Fathom does not let you down here either. It is extremely seldom a free product sounds like this. It competes with the ocilators of my most expencive top notch synths. So both SOUND and GUI is GREAT, and did I say it was free??? Once again: The Mono version is free!!!! So free that I took 25USD out of my late granmothers wallet and bought the POLY version. 25USD!!!! For a top notch synth - incredible. I have played it forward and got more thanks than chistmas cards! (And I get a lot of christmas cards).

If you are still wondering if this is for you, try out the free (I said it agian) version. I promise - you won't be going to bed the first three nights.

Reviewed By djkybernetik [read all by] on January 16th, 2018
Version reviewed: 2.20 on Mac.
Last edited by djkybernetik on 16th January 2018.

I love this Synth. It has cool Features and i thank Everett from Seaweed Audio very much for his great Support to run the Plugin on my (older) Mac.

The Modular Concept is powerful to create fantastic new Sounds. I'am since my Childhood an great Fan of Jean-Michel Jarre so i like many innovative and flexible Synthesizers (old analog and newer).

I can only advice to try the Demo (Free Mono) Version.

Best Regards.

Michael.

Reviewed By ReverendLove [read all by] on January 8th, 2018
Version reviewed: 2.1 on Windows.
Last edited by ReverendLove on 8th January 2018.

It's my first review because I am really amazed by this system.
This one is excellent. The workflow once you read the manual is so logical and beautiful designed that it really stands out in the modular system crowd.
First I thought the modulation matrix is somewhat crowded but after reading I wondered why others don't do it that way. The possibilities are endless.
The automation system is so easy that I really did not get it. Click on rulers label and it's there. Wonderful.
OK, from my personal aesthetics' point of view the graphics' design is not my cup of tea and looks a little bit "toyish".
So no real concern. But the layout itself cannot be better.
The only thing I miss is an input for using it as FX chain.
The sound of the oscillators are stainless and building with the modules is absolutely intuitive. Left in, right out, that's it.
I'd exactly no bad issues with Fathom.
Great work.
I feel a little bit guilty for thievery getting this for 5$ on New Years Day so I wrote this serious review..

Reviewed By jmg8 [read all by] on January 7th, 2018
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows

Very powerful and clean sounding OSCs. Nice per voice distortion and detuning options. Good modulation options.

This is a very deep synth with lots and lots of option, however, at the same time, it has quite a clean GUI that is easy to use.

The developer has excellent customer support with very regular updates.

Exceptional value for money.

Reviewed By levendis [read all by] on December 20th, 2017
Version reviewed: v.1.0.18 on Windows.
Last edited by levendis on 20th December 2017.

Uncapped modulation options and hybrid functions housed in simplicity. Some exotic interactions between components of its modular architecture too. The oscillators hybridise with other oscillators for AM/FM synthesis, with the phaser (spelled 'Phasor' in Fathom) for unison-like voice generation, and the wavetable oscillator offers a giant pool of possible timbres. Multi-stage envelopes with modifiers that impose gating of variable width and position adds another dimension to articulation. The delay unit is so good it can serve in the reverbs' stead.

For balance, drawbacks of note is its demand on CPU, due to its sample-accurate signal processing. Of course, the sonic potential is compensation. There's some room for improvement to its ergonomics too, but as development continues i have faith these will become more efficient.

Fathom is substantial despite appearances. A deceptively priced softsynth for the sound.

Reviewed By connmach [read all by] on September 6th, 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.12 on Windows

A logical, powerful, creative and musical soundcrafter.

Beautifully made. Highly recommended.

Reviewed By RPH [read all by] on August 7th, 2017
Version reviewed: 1.0.9 on Windows

Awesome VST plugin so far for a VERY very low asking price. The oscillators, filters, effects and modulation options are great already and we can expect more to come.

There is top notch friendly dev support, he is really quick at fixing bugs and adding features / user requests to the plugin.

A no brainer for sure!

Reviewed By ScottAxxe [read all by] on August 7th, 2017
Version reviewed: 1.09 on Windows.
Last edited by ScottAxxe on 7th August 2017.

I recently stumbled across one of the best finds I have made on KVR in a quite a while. The modular synth Fathom. Fathom is in it's early stages and is already more polished and capable than many fully-baked synths you'll find on KVR's marketplace.

Why give it an 8? Partly for what it is and partly for where it's going. Fathom is already developing a warm, enveloping character that is tremendously flexible. The intuitive visual module routing allows for biting leads, lush pads and everything in between. The UI reigns in all the flexibility well so the user isn't overwhelmed by the host of options.

The dev is very amiable and welcomes criticism. Those of us who have been here for only a few months have watched Fathom steadily grow and change as the dev responds to user input. The dev is no newb who just started with some synth coding library as a hobby. He worked at Ensoniq previously so he's been in the biz. He knows his DSP and it shows in the design. As a professional coder myself this dev's chops are impressive.

Certainly, Fathom doesn't tick every box at this point, but it covers a lot of ground even at this early stage of development. If development stopped right now it would still be a worthy, unique addition to your stable of plugins. I have no doubt Fathom will be deserving of 9+ reviews in the near future.

Do yourself a favor. Invest what you might spend on a lousy lunch and instead get a great sounding synth that will keep you experimenting into the wee hours of the night.

NOTE: I'm no shill. I paid for Fathom, no special discounts, I'm not related to the dev or anything of the sort.

Latest 24 reviews from a total of 24

Comments & Discussion for Seaweed Audio Fathom Synth

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Scrubbing Monkeys
Scrubbing Monkeys
13 August 2017 at 9:26pm

I have been using Fathom for only a few months now. I started on version 1.0.7. At this point it is up to 1.0.11. It has a bucket load of features but a few that really grab me are the extremely powerfull envelopes and the built in delay. You can not only draw your envelopes but can double, triple............ and so on giving you a sequencer type feel. The delay is a three headed monster giving you COMPLETE control over left, right and center. This synth is capable of just about everything out there with alot of stuff we havent seen. I can see this being used alot for evolving soundscapes and one finger rhythmic dances. At this point it has a firm direction, is stable and a pleasure to program. Looking forward to the finer details.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Please log in to join the discussion