Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Matt Tytel
  4. »
  5. Vital
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Vital

 My KVR
Wavetable Synth Plugin by Matt Tytel
Free / $25 / $80 / (or $5 / month subscription)

Vital has an average user rating of 4.71 from 14 reviews

Rate & Review Vital

User Reviews by KVR Members for Vital

Reviewed By Qshunt Music [read all by] on November 27th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.5 on Windows.
Last edited by Qshunt Music on 4th December 2021.

What can I say, that 99 percent of these other excellent reviews haven't said?

I absolutely LOVE this synthesizer.

It is a staple in my studio and will be for an indefinite amount of time.

I was so impressed, I bought the Pro version for a mere $80.

Matt Tytel has programmed an absolute beast of a synthesizer that you should definitely have in your studio.

It's not just "Good-because-it's-free", it's more like "How-can-this-astounding-synth-possibly-be-free?"
I say that Matt deserves your money. I reckon you would probably be more than happy to support him too, about five minutes after installing it.
Tons of modulation options and some awesome morph stuff with the wavetables.
Text-to-wavetable is a really cool and useful feature for sound creation.
The Spectral Morph feature is clever.

10/5 stars. I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Look up my username on Soundcloud to hear it in action, as I use it for 90 percent of my synth parts.

Reviewed By street spirit [read all by] on August 19th, 2021
Version reviewed: idk on Windows.
Last edited by street spirit on 19th August 2021.

Its cool, like a knock of of Serum. BUT. Whats with the no support for free virgin, you cant even post a topic in their forum....

I'll keep my 25$. edit: Also the osc phase is totally unusable for a psytrance style bassline. Its all over the place, like it doesnt recognize) phase position at all. The wave text editor is pretty neat though, and the effects arent to shabby.

Filter isnt that great either. I really just dont like all the loopholes for a pro version, i really dont.

Not sure what the hype is all about TBH.

Reviewed By Eine Alte Oma [read all by] on August 5th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

a synth at this scale as a free plugin. holy fuck. ofc i give it 5 stars. and honestly, well deserved as well. i have a really hard time actually finding aspects that i find worse than in serum without being pedantic. an example would be that is suffers from the typical sensitive mode mouse-event issues of juce plugins. but as i said: pedantic af. here the thigns that i love most about this synth:

1. the fact that it has a speech synthesizer for wavetable creation. how sick is that?

2. the parameters next to each oscillator which are used to really smash the wavetable into whole other directions. it's a bit like serum's warp modes, but 2 of them and with way fancier options.

Reviewed By binbasteni [read all by] on August 5th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.07 on Windows

Amazing and powerful synth, lots of features (modulation and sound fx) and beautiful and inspiring user interface.

Reviewed By PebbleInAStream [read all by] on July 6th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by PebbleInAStream on 6th July 2021.

Lots of functionality and modulation capabilities, smooth GUI. Only downside is it sounds rather thin. Mad props to Matt Tytel for releasing it for free. All in all, it may not be able to stand toe to toe with the "big boy" synths, but for it's great features it's a superb beginner/learner's softsynth.

Reviewed By mixyguy2 [read all by] on June 2nd, 2021
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

The reviews do not exaggerate. One of the best synths I own and I own plenty. Great UI, great sound, versatile...if you want a good synth and don't download this, you are a fool. It's amazing this is offered for free.

Reviewed By Mikofilosofo [read all by] on April 14th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.7 on Windows

To me, including surge vst, the best free synth on the market, on a par with other paid ones.

I have been using it for almost a month and I have no complaints. The sound of the oscillators is very clean and the effects, without being the best I have heard, are very good.

May you try the free version, but if you like, you can pay for "pro" version with just 80 €. (the lowest price on market on a serious synth).

Reviewed By h0stnik [read all by] on March 4th, 2021
Version reviewed: latest on Mac

Absolutely one of the best synthesizers ever made, hardware or software, regardless of price. It obliterates most paid-for software synths, and stands toe-to-toe with classics like Serum, Alchemy, Diva, Massive, Zebra etc in terms of sound quality and power for what it does. Vital should be in the top 5 synths of every producer's arsenal in my opinion.

Reviewed By pvallejosb [read all by] on February 20th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows

What can I say? This synth is amazing. Even if you use it just as a substractive synth you can get high quality sounds. It is indeed a great year to be a broke music producer, there are many free vsts out there and Vital is one of the bests. It is my go to synth every time I start a new project.

When I get money again I will donate to Matt Tytel so he continues making his awesome job. That said, I encourage everyone that can spend a bit of money to buy the plus or even the pro version of this synth.

Reviewed By Ripthorn2 [read all by] on February 18th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on Windows

This synth has the ability to make all kinds of fantastic sounds. I started with the free version, did a couple songs with it, and just upgraded to plus. So many great sounds, it's definitely worth the price to upgrade to either plus or premium, and I very rarely go beyond plugins that are available for free. Just get it, you'll love it.

Reviewed By giohappy [read all by] on January 31st, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.5 on Windows.
Last edited by giohappy on 31st January 2021.

Great sound engine wirh analogue feelings. The right balance of mods and sound tweeking which inspires creativity. Flexibility with a well designed UI/UX. I love the wavetable editor, MPE support and LFOs design.

Reviewed By treeslovesyou [read all by] on January 27th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on Windows

What's there to say really? VITAL is an incredibly powerful and entirely capable wavetable synth and it's available sans-barrier (free!) for those of us who cannot afford to buy expensive plugins and if you want to support Matt you can buy versions with more presets and waveforms but you can /also/ subscribe at 5$/mo towards either buying artist's preset packs or the fully stocked paid version (which has the same functionality as the free one! Only limitation is 5 text-to-wavetable requests per day for free users afaik). Between the incredibly powerful synth itself, the beautiful and inviting interface, the thriving active community at the vital audio forum and the empowering pay-what-you-want/can pricing scheme for this synth you can tell this was a work of love. VITAL works on windows and mac but it even works on Linux.

Reviewed By Psuper [read all by] on December 4th, 2020
Version reviewed: Release on Windows

I don't typically do reviews, however Matt deserves good feedback. As I already stated early in the KVR thread: Vital is the biggest boy on the block right now for a whole slew of reasons. Below is just one of those reasons expanded: Control.

Vital takes over for my #1 synth spot for when I need maximum control of live playing sound, which is almost always as I rarely manually input automation. Vital is by far most in-line with how I visualize sound manipulation, and I'm making absolute bangin evolutions right out the gate. Just seeing how the first 4 macros are all put to good use in presets was my first indication, and it only got better from there.

The focus on the home-brewed macro setup to be far and away the best encouragement of control out there -- its right in your face on the left, custom names immediately give a sense of what the patch maker intended, and inspires any would-be patch maker to go that one step further with their envisioned sound.

Its something many synths include one way or another, and people may not think about it much. However with Vital the control macros demand attention, the community of patch makers seem to be aware that this is important in their definition of the sound, and incentivize players to pluck away at some of the controls a bit more instead of move on after a key or two. I actually enjoyed going through all the presets -- something I've not done in 20 years - I was as interested in what the patch macros were named as I was in the sound -- and was rarely disappointed with all control guns blazing.

Great job Matt, you got yourself a clear winner here.

Reviewed By fisherKing [read all by] on December 3rd, 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.3 on Mac

this is my new fave synth plugin; it's a thing-of-it's own, has it's own character, possibilities. have been playing with vital for a few weeks, and barely scratched the surface, and am using it on everything (it's like my new 'salt'); it's inspiring (the thing i look for most in a new plugin). for a version 1, it's pretty amazing.

am a music-maker, not a sound designer, so looking forward to soundsets (i do tweak everything tho); the yuli yolo set that's out is great, the vital community is making some great sounds too.

vital is well-thought out, well designed. and that sound.... def worthwhile going for the pro version, but the free version is an exceptional deal... it's free. get it.

Latest 14 reviews from a total of 14

Comments & Discussion for Matt Tytel Vital

Discussion
Discussion: Active
alasta4204
alasta4204
4 December 2020 at 11:40am

Good Morning, Has anyone got this working on Ubuntu 20.04 with Ardour 6.5 ? I am a paying user of Helm and I am ready to buy this however only the stand alone works on my system.

Warm regards.

Alastair.

Illforddd
Illforddd
4 December 2020 at 2:08pm

It should work if it supports LV2.

soundpeaks
soundpeaks
4 December 2020 at 5:15pm

Big and detailed Serum to Vital compare. http://soundpeaks.net/blog/serum-vs-vital

Illforddd
Illforddd
21 January 2021 at 1:25pm

It doesn't seem like Vital likes Ableton or that it' just a bit spotty.

JStolarski
JStolarski
27 January 2021 at 12:32am

Gonna try it with Waveform 11. It didn't like Tyrell by U-He, hope this goes better.

Mikofilosofo
Mikofilosofo
14 April 2021 at 1:24pm

you're going to be pleasantly surprised;). It is at the height of Serum.

Rumdrum
Rumdrum
19 August 2021 at 9:18pm

Well, Sprint Street, I do not think the Synth that can handle all music genres is made yet. I have things like Fathom, Serum, Dune and Omnisphere along with the more common ones from Native Instruments and Uhe, and still I use Vital a lot. I am not into the same kind of music as you are so I think that is the difference why som give it a 5 star. It would receive a 5 star from me if I were to review it. Echo Soundworks released recently some presets for Vital. Many great ones and in genres at least close to yours. They sound great in my ear.

Please log in to join the discussion