Login / Register 0 items | $0.00 New @ KVR

User Reviews by KVR Members for Hive

Rate & Review Hive Now!

Reviewed By Richie_2uk [read all by] on 8th November 2018
Version reviewed: 2.4 on Windows.
Last edited by Richie_2uk on 8th November 2018.
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Amazing vst. I found that every sound in the list has been professional produced. The layout of Hive is quality and easy on the eyes. The sounds are fantastic and not too rich and not too poor. Its perfect sounding of each sound element. I have come accross many good vst's. But the sounds are extremely too rich for my ears. With Hive all of the sounds are just perfect. I look forward to see the future with Hive updates and upgrades. Well worth the money. If anyone has not tried it, I urge you to try it. I give it 98% out of 100% if I was to rate it. Richie.....

Reviewed By snigelx [read all by] on 2nd August 2018
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by snigelx on 2nd August 2018.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

One thing to bear in mind about Hive. It is designed by synthesizer specialists AND professional well-known sound-designers for use in productions, bearing Focus and Efficiency in mind. It is obvious after some dedicated use that careful planning went into all aspects. (with continued refinement/development in the form of a significant update -a new kind of OSC- coming in the very near future)

The immediate power lies in its straight-forward Focused interface and Efficient use of on-board computer CPU. It it invites simple non-obstructive creativie-flow type patching as well as more complex sound-design enjoyed by synthesizer enthusiasts. The interface does not overwhelm and each module is clearly identified so anyone with basic synth knowledge can jump right in and program.

I find the 2 Dual Stereo OSC design makes for a quick effective production-centric tool. Here is the first point of efficiency. It keeps me focused for production. Right in front of me I clearly see OSC1 and its hardwired (configurable) routing on the Left and then an exact copy of this for OSC2 on the Right. For example, without tabbing back 'n' forth to different screens, one can effectively patch a sound with two-layers in about a minute for quick 'n' dirty use then refine it later. Hive's (currently) 9 switchable waveforms are more than sufficient for patching many creative and popular sounds used in modern and yesteryear's music.

Note: Hive is an excellent synth to begin one's journey to learn substractive synthesis. The concise yet enjoyable user guide (authored by Howard Scarr, a well-known synthesist himself) is an easy read and is interspersed with Tips 'n' Tricks for the curious who wish to take patching one step further. Getting familiar with Hive's general routing architecture and controls is a super-quick process Even Without the manual, but when one feels the need to dig deeper you can quickly access it from a menu.

Other things I personally appreciate about Hive are found below in the form of brief points off the top of my head. Note all these are not necessarily Exclusive to Hive, BUT it is U-he's Implementation of the feature that I find special in some of these cases. Buckle-up, it's a beefy list.

– 3 switchable (on-the-fly) "Synth Engines", each providing a purposeful character/behaviour for certain modules, incl FILT and ENV. (explained in the u.guide) These are "Lockable" when changing presets and available to host for automation. In fact, most controls on the interface are able to be locked – an Excellent feature. Try this in the mod matrix for some Randomisation-like behavior on other presets besides the current patch.

– Nearly All controls available to host for automation. Incredibly useful these days.

– Ability to Save MODULE presets for each of the main synth modules, incl. Arp/Seq and the Effects module.

– Beautiful-sounding Effects units, with an amazing Reverb capable of smooth infinite times and a warm crisp Saturation/Wave-shaping unit to get body or add harmonics. The routing of the Fx chain can rearranged via dragging 'n' dropping fx in the desired order. Super-quick. Also the parameters of each module are accessible as Modulation Targets in the MM.

– 2 beautifully designed resonant multi-mode filters (incl. peaking filter and band-reject modes), drive-able pre- and post- (in fact, All on-board gain stages seem to affect the signal depending on the Engine setting). Makes it feel like the audio is being affected by live components. Also appreciate the way switchable 2-way bipolar modulation depths are setup here, super-quick and to-the-point. (the switch b/t 1and2 mod sources on ea. filter is host-automate-able)

– The OSC's have a "Flow" phase behavior control. In my experience I notice this sounds 'more natural' on Arps/Seq or any fast patterns/motifs. It's one of those things that the ave ear won't hear...but maybe 'feel'. I definitely do.

– Sub-OSC on ea. Master is tunable down Or up, based on the Master setting. (3 oct) And if slaved to the Master, the "sub" can be phase modulated as well.

– A separate "solo" switch can be found on each Master- and Sub- OSC module. AS WELL as each Filter. (and Yes, these are available to the host for automation)

– "LINK" switch which when activated enables all parameter adjustments on side 2 of the interface to be adjusted in relation to side 1's current position. Great for fast patching or performance.

– The LFO's and ENV's have multiple triggering options which greatly increase potential behavior of a patch, esp useful when used in conjunction with Arp/Seq or a host Seq. They also have a not-so common Unipolar switch for forcing the LFO to output only positive values. Very useful in certain instances.

– HIGHLY-CONFIGURABLE Arp/Seq module with a killer ability to link them, yet run them at Different tempos relative to one another. SERIOUS potential to be uncovered here for a variety of uses (and abuses). One can Record his seq data via MIDI input for Hive's Seq AND Hive's Seq can record back in its own Arp-triggered MIDI notes. This module enables some fancy grooves. In fact, Hive is unofficially a beastly groove machine in the hands of a patient programmer. Listen to some of those rhythmic presets to get a basic idea of how it can groove. Presets CAN be saved for this module

– A Super Versatile 12-bay 2-source 2-destination DRAG 'n' DROP style Modulation Matrix (Love This) which IS CAPABLE of several times Recursive modulation + Mod Targets can often be modulated OVER their original parameter value constraints.. Serious weirdness (and practicality) is available here. The Mod Matrix Source menu offers hidden control Sources "ControlA and ControlB. These are assignable to any MIDI CC, incl the usual MW, PW, Expression...blah blah. This opens up a world of practical use like patch mod control via MIDI from the host or Other Control surfaces. Mod Targets have Modifiers available to 'shape' any applied modulations. There are also Mod Target Modifiers used to affect the modulation of a target in increments or various other ways (Nice to have this for 'tuning' modulations to a specific purpose). Presets can be saved for EACH MM bay (BIG time-saver!)

– SEQ can operate in MOD mode... Extra configurable 16-point LFO?

– Graphical KEYS with latching and velocity; great assistance for building sounds

– Ability to set a Default Mod Matrix setup for MM page 1 And 2 separately.

– Very cool options for MIDI CC setup with a separate highly-configurable MIDI control table available in the Prefs. Endless MIDI control potential.

– Poly-Pressure MIDI control (each voice gets unique value). Very nice.

That's not all the goods by a long shot, but in closing, there's lot's of potential to be uncovered in this instrument, and a lot of what is not available in Hive's synthesis engine is either not available due to keeping CPU resource use at minimum (to jive with one of Hive's overall missions) Or because inclusion of such functionality would entail cluttering the well- laidout interface. I find this a super-efficient production tool. Hope you will as well. Happy patching.

Reviewed By codeheadmaster [read all by] on 24th July 2018
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Mac.
Last edited by codeheadmaster on 24th July 2018.
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Hive is the greatest sounds of every synth ever made (2500+ presets!!) in a single screen UI.

In spite of the huge and expensive collection of other soft synths I have at my disposal, I always turn to Hive first and 9 times out of 10 it gives me what I am looking for.

I don't know how it was possible to create such a versatile but simple synthesizer, I can only imagine that Urs has such a deep knowledge of synthesis that he knows exactly what is needed and what is not to create every sound possible.

Reviewed By ubailey [read all by] on 14th March 2018
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Very powerful under-rated synth. My new go to synth. Bb. ..m........................... .................

Reviewed By matteogk [read all by] on 19th September 2017
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Simple, very effective, I'm using it a lot. Sounds amazing!.

What is best than "I design it in Hive, so I immediately get the sound I want"?

Reviewed By Mastrcode [read all by] on 27th October 2015
Version reviewed: 10 on Windows.
Last edited by Mastrcode on 27th October 2015.
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I'm a Trance producer and i was searching for a All in one-VST that fits all my needs. And with Hive i've found it.

A versatile instrument with awesome sounding oscillators. They can process up to 16 multi-voices per osca good condition or bright and fat trance sounds like supersaws, etc. A good idea was the implementing of a vibrato control directly into each of the several oscillators. This makes it easy to create vibratos without the need of special mod matrix routings.

The filters are geat, they can sound very clean, but also very agressive and dirty.

The envelopes are very fast and crisp, which is important for most trance sounds like fast plucks, fast filter envelopes or percussive sounds.

The LFO's are very useful for a big palette of modulations.

I like the mod matrix and it's routing capabillities with the possibillity of "drag and drop"-routing.

The Arpeggiator is very good, the step sequencer is awesome.

The effects section sounds very good. With a great distortion fx for agressive and dirty sounds, a nice sounding chorus, awesome sounding reverb and delay, EQ section, a usefl compressor and a nice phaser effect.

The 3 sound engines (clean, normal and dirty) are a great idea. So Hive can aound very clean, but also very warm, dirty or even lo-fi.

And the most important thing is the CPU load. You can create very complex sounds with very low CPU load.

For me Hive is the best VST on the market to create sounds for trance or other similar electronic music. Even way better sounding than Sylenth1.
For me Hive is THE Sylenth killer par excellence.

10/10 points.

Reviewed By hivkorn [read all by] on 7th June 2015
Version reviewed: 10.8.5 on Mac.
Last edited by hivkorn on 7th June 2015.
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

on the paper it seems to be a common synth...
but NO !!!!!! it is AMAZING !
The gui made the synth easy to use and the sound is really powerfull.
It can generate some nice perc with the pink noise, some badass bass, killing lead ...
The dirty mode is really something I love..

The arp & seq section in the hexagon is just a good idea from the dev.
The FX are section is good, special mention to the chorus and the distortion.

I usually use a lot of NI in my song, but HIVE steal the show,
I' sorry to said it but Fm8&Massive seems to be grand-pa and grandma when HIVE is playing.

It is released as a EDM synth but you could use it easily for a lot of genres.
The best is to try it.Make your own advice.

9 / 10 because the perfection don't exist.

Latest 7 reviews from a total of 7

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active
PUSHA
PUSHA
12 September 2015 at 2:52am

Incredible!!!! New Favorite Synth........This has to be near the top of the next best plugins list.

henryparsnip
henryparsnip
15 September 2015 at 11:33pm

Awesome synth,"very" similar to sylenth ....but better.

So many good synths out there but what swung it for me was the price and low CPU load.

ATN69
ATN69
27 October 2015 at 12:52pm

I bought Hive about a week ago and it is one of the best decisions I ever made. Now I use Hive all the time. Easy to work with with an amazing sound. Nice GUI. It is not the most expensive out there. So all is positive.

NatLife
NatLife
28 October 2015 at 9:49am

Best Trance VST on the moment. This synth can be like warm and in same time like metal sounding. Plus very low CPU usage. Use it together with a Serum - they both are future of trance music:)

Biome_Digital
Biome_Digital
11 December 2015 at 4:01pm

Another winner for U-he! Hive is one of the best synths to come out in years. Such a joy to program and is immensely powerful! Checkout my professional sound banks for it at www.biomedigital.com

aharon
aharon
19 December 2016 at 11:01am

Really hard to get in touch with Hive people, my serial wasn't accepted by the sofware and I will purchase again and see if i can use it then, my account wasn't debited and it may have something to do with it.

Urs
Urs
19 December 2016 at 12:13pm

How can we make getting in touch any easier? Other than, say, a support section on our website, a link from within the software, a forum on KVR, an email address and links in the registration email, links and email address in the user manual as well as installer, Readme and so on. We also have 5 people answering to such emails all day, sometimes even on weekends. If there are other ways to get in touch with a software manufacturer, please let us know and we'll try to implement them for even easier access.

SoundGoddess
SoundGoddess
19 December 2016 at 1:00pm

Anytime I have contacted u-he they have gotten back to me right away, within minutes to a few hours at most. They make a point to be very accessible to their customers, and are always friendly and helpful.

Please log in to join the discussion

Hive

Average user rating of 4.71 from 7 reviews

u-he
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
232 people have added Hive to 18 My KVR groups 333 times
+12 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 90  71  90

30-Day: 17; 7-Day: 2; Yesterday: 172

Advertisements