Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Synapse Audio
  4. »
  5. DUNE 3
  6. »
  7. Reviews

DUNE 3

Synth (Analogue / Subtractive) Plugin by Synapse Audio
MyKVRFAVORITE198WANT148

DUNE 3 has an average user rating of 4.95 from 20 reviews

Rate & Review DUNE 3

User Reviews by KVR Members for DUNE 3

Reviewed By lolilol1975 [read all by] on April 22nd, 2022
Version reviewed: 3.512 on Windows

Right from the bat, let me say this: Dune 3 is my favorite VSTi.

I own Diva, Zebra, Synthmaster, Spire, VITAL, Surge XT and Sylenth1 v1*.

Dune 3 is the one I'll reach first, and often last as well, VITAL often coming as second. Dune is not the deepest of all those (Zebra arguably still is), and its user interface isn't the best either (VITAL has). But it still has a rich feature set, and its UI is still good and rather simple to understand for someone who already knows software synths. Plus its skins look great.

But what makes it really stand apart is its sound. It just sounds better than all the other synths, and yes that includes the legendary Diva. I don't know what Synapse Audio's secret sauce is, but the oscillators sound great, the 24 filters sound great and the myriad of FX sound great. Including the reverbs, which are often not so good in synths.

The latest release has added a patch generation feature based on a genetic algorithm: choose 2 or more patches and Dune 3 will combine them to generate as many new patches as you want. The result is often surprising. After playing with it, I think every synth should include a patch generator.

Is Dune 3 perfect ? No of course. The browser, right now only has a few categories. You can add new categories but a patch cannot belong to more than one category (for instance a gated pad has to belong to the gated category or the pad category). This improvement alone and the possibility to search several categories would be the functional equivalent of a search by keywords.

Also I wish Dune 3 allowed to input real time audio from the DAW instead of an oscillator. Finally, it lacks a granulator, but I guess that will be added to Dune 4 ?

Apart from that, there is really not much downsides to this synth. Due to the awesome sound combined to the super easy UI and the fact it's light on the CPU, Dune 3 is the definition of a workhorse.

* That's way more software synths than I need. But I simply never use Sylenth1 any more. I also own Dune 2 but I uninstalled it because Dune 3 is equal or superior in pretty much every way, and it comes with all the Dune 2 patches. BTW Dune 3 can read Dune 2 patches, contrarily to what is said in another review.

Reviewed By soundof [read all by] on March 6th, 2022
Version reviewed: 3.5 on Windows

Amazing and flexible sounding VST synth, one of the best ones out there, if you are thinking of getting it, no need, just get it!
The range of excellent sounds is incredible, from the lush pads to aggressive lead sounds!
I would say this is one of those synths that can be truly used to make any type of music with an electronic element, very rich and diverse sound quality.
The addition of the new preset browser and the possibility to generate sounds from other presets just adds another dimension.

Reviewed By Trader One [read all by] on January 18th, 2022
Version reviewed: 3.5 on Windows

This one definitely deserves 5 stars. It's pretty full featured synth similar to workstation. It has layers. UI is still simple, it doesn't look like full featured synth from screen shots.

Authors decided to break backward patch compatibility, which is not good move. People often buy synth because there are presets pack they like and split between old and new Dune will discourage them. Why buy synth if next version will be incompatible and your patches useless? You can use old version but it will probably stop working after you upgrade to Windows 11.

Sound is very good too, audio rate modulation is supported. This synth can easily become your everyday work horse. We have cheap and simple synths and then premium 200 USD category. Buy 200 USD synth only if you can put it into every day use.

For life playing use, I don't remember seeing max glide distance setting and multi segment key tracking curve. Both are important for live use. Key tracking curve is hard to give up after you started to use it. Dune have velocity curve, which is still not very common.

Synth authors usually resist to implement these features because they do not play live. They often have all infrastructure needed in place but no will to finish features like routing different MIDI channel to selected layer. That's why Omni sphere is so much used for live playing- Team leader works in industry for a long time and understand what features are most needed. For example UVI Falcon is more like audio engineering workstation, it will attract much less users because it's more work then fun. Most people simply want just to play.

Dune is not very popular in the community, so less 3rd party patches are available. Splitting between incompatible versions didn't helped either. It's not a big problem, there are factory presets from various genres - you can tweak them.

I wonder when synths will start to have switchable DAC emulation as standard. We can take a look at KORG Triton VST and difference between digital out and Korg Studio mode DAC is quite noticeable.

So, buy Dune or not? Buy.

Reviewed By nealob [read all by] on October 25th, 2021
Version reviewed: 3.4 on Windows

Incredibly huge and complex timbre capabilities. Versatile beyond limitation for sound design. Solid presets to get going and an intuitive UI full of unique features. Highly recommend.

Reviewed By franciscosta [read all by] on May 21st, 2021
Version reviewed: 3.5 on Windows.
Last edited by franciscosta on 17th May 2022.

I am honestly speechless. DUNE has made my music production incredibly rewarding, thanks to a modern, easy to use graphical user interface and logical signal flow. The fact that with one instance of DUNE you can have up to 8 voices/layers and each one has multiple dedicated oscillators, filters and much more is unbelievable.

A true high quality product developed by industry experts. Efficient and easy to use, no need to install activation software, simply install the DEMO version and start making music. This is how all software should be.

I have designed a Soundbank for DUNE 3 containing many presets, please see:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0SjBv60MnUg&t=1478s

Thank You Synapse Audio.

Reviewed By TSkywing [read all by] on April 23rd, 2021
Version reviewed: 3.41 on Windows

I've never actually owned a real virtual synth like this, all I've ever used have been freeware like Synth1. I've only owned Dune 3 for a short while now but I do not regret buying it, it is an amazing synth. Powerful yet runs even on my potato. Every time I use it, it makes me happy and I keep on returning back to it to explore more :D.

Reviewed By ldstoons [read all by] on March 25th, 2021
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows

Infinitely valuable. I was lost from the moment I opened it and started playing, and for a very reasonable price.

Reviewed By jsg [read all by] on May 2nd, 2020
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows.
Last edited by jsg on 2nd May 2020.

I began using synthesizers in 1982. I started with the Yamaha CS-70M analog synthesizer and then moved on to FM synthesis; I am one of the first American composers to score an animated TV series (The Adventures of Gumby) with only synths in the late 1980s.

I've used many software synthesizers, and still do, including FM8, Z3TA, Tera, Massive and Dune. Dune 3 is the most sophisticated and interesting softsynth I've used to date. The sound quality and the range of sounds that can be produced is incredible. The digital sounds have a clarity, beauty and purity to them that is unmatched. It is not only one of the deepest synths I've used, in terms of number of programmable parameters including occillators, waveforms, LFO, envelopes, arpeggiation, signal processing and many more, but is also, unlike many synths, not difficult to edit or program from scratch. It integrates seamlessly into the DAW I use (Sonar/Cakewalk) and I've never had it crash on me. The ergonomics are logical, the signal path is not difficult to learn and understand and the synth's visual appearance adds to the synth's programmability.

If you're looking for an incredibly versatile synthesizer with a lot of wonderful factory patches, fairly easy to program and with many musically useful timbres, I highly recommend Dune 3.

Jerry Gerber.

www.jerrygerber.com.

Reviewed By Danilo Villanova [read all by] on January 14th, 2020
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows

I tried every synth demo available and Dune 3 stood far above the rest in terms of sonic quality. Insanely powerful synth.

Reviewed By GRUMP [read all by] on October 29th, 2019
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows

Simply awesome. DUNE = Differential Unison Engine. Up to 32 Voices per OSC that can be distributed with very harmonic Logarithms (..., perfect 5th, Minor, Major, ...) and 8 Unison Voices that represent separate Layers with the Full set of Capabilities for each. You can work and sound more "additive" than with any other Synth around. Really deep and huge Pads, evolving with lots of Modulation Possibilities (per Unison Voice).

The streamlined Wavetable Editor, containing a 1000+ Harmonics Editor. Very good Handling. The Synth feeld great anyway.

The Filters are brilliant or even really dirty if you want them to. Even the FX sound much better than I would have expected.

To make it short: I stumbled upon it. I have too many (complex) VSTs already, but this one convinced me within 2 Hours.

It's a MUST HAVE for really smooth Chillout / Ambient Pads and "Choirs".

It's a Progress and has a really nice, soft OWN Sound Character.

Thank you Synapse Audio, you have saved me lots of time (already).

Reviewed By FathomSynth [read all by] on May 2nd, 2019
Version reviewed: 3.0 on Windows.
Last edited by FathomSynth on 2nd May 2019.

Plato theorized that all physical objects have an ideal form and Dune 3 occupies this position comfortably as a simple to use but epic sounding synth.

I guess you know a plugin is great when a competing synth developer can give it a perfect review. I've been wanting to download Dune 3 for over a year now to see if all the hype is true.

Well, it is.

Whenever I approach a new synth I start by initialized a patch and stripping it down to a single sawtooth with no filters or effects to reveal the basic quality of the oscillators. Dune 3 surprised me here.

Its oscillators are incredibly clean with a good analog thickness to them. I found them to be very well balanced overall in the frequency domain and pleasingly bright in the high end but with zero aliasing. The brightness is easily controlled by selecting one of a staggering array of low pass filters.

Additionally I found it very unique that Dune offers several detune algorithms which are some of the best I've heard to date in a synth.

I've had experiences before with synths that start with great oscillators but fall flat when you turn up the detune because of cancellation problems, and this is definitely not the case with Dune. Also worth noting is that Dune's CPU efficiency seems to allow a significantly higher number of voices per oscillator than I'm used to, which might explain its capacity for orchestral thickness even before any effects are employed.

If that big EDM sound has eluded you definitely check out Dune 3.

Reviewed By okrzysztof [read all by] on April 24th, 2019
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows

very good synthesizer, definitely worth buying it and supporting programmers like Synapse Audio.

Reviewed By DavidCarlyon [read all by] on January 21st, 2019
Version reviewed: 3 on Mac

I have falcon, Avenger, Synthmaster, Serum, Ana2, Arturia V Collection 6 (on and on and on) Point is, i love all those synths a lot. But after trying Dune 3 things have changed a bit. This is simply the best sounding synth there is. The oscillators, filters and effects are best in class.

Then you have the immense layering possibilities, modulations, MSEGs etc. So not only does it sound incredible, but it is a sound design powerhouse.

The you have the different unison modes. this has the nicest range of oscillator stacking styles of any synth i have, they also just sound incredible.

New in v3 is wavetable synthesis. Its a simple implementation, with no warping algorithms. But the sound is fantastic. You also have a fully fledged wavetable designer/editor (nicest to use).

This really is most likely the best all rounder out there right now. Love it.

Reviewed By kenshini [read all by] on December 13th, 2018
Version reviewed: Dune 3 on Windows

Amazing synth, the new filters are so warm and analog brings more punch to the sounds, effects are top quality. Best all around synth today.

Reviewed By ubailey [read all by] on December 11th, 2018
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows

Downloaded the demo yesterday. I went through the presets and they were all pretty impressive. the design looks real good. this is a kick ass vst. The sounds are off the chain. 5*.

Reviewed By Clifton [read all by] on November 3rd, 2018
Version reviewed: 10 on Windows.
Last edited by Clifton on 24th June 2019.

I have to admit that this is one of the best software synth in it's class and can be very addictive. I come to realize that the possibilities are endless that I'm just now scratching the surface of how easy it is to program. The most thing I really like about it is it's programming potentials and another best feature is the arpeggiator mode. You can even record and export your own MIDI files and then later import your MIDI files you've already recorded and play them as an arranging instrument. (Hey not bad). Not too many software synths has that kind of feature as what Dune 2 has and what its capable of doing. Dune 2 is such a great software synth as it is as with Halion 6 and Serum. Icarus on the other hand has great sounding potential but programming Icarus is very limited. With that being said when programming Dune 2 you are creating your own patches from scratch and importing your own custom wave tables and at least you have something to work with in a better feel and nothing else is missing. This is just one of many software synths I'm comparing with Dune 2. All I can say so far that this is an outstanding software synth and I went nuts over it. You guys keep up the good work there since I'm looking forward for dune 3 later in the future.

Pros. Great innovative software synth with just enough everything you need for your work flow.

Cons. May not replace your hardware synths like the maybe yamaha DX7 or the casio vz-1 etc.

Overall. Great instrument to have along with with your other digital instruments you may have since the sky is the limit.

Reviewed By Saukar30 [read all by] on April 19th, 2018
Version reviewed: 2.6 on Windows.
Last edited by Saukar30 on 19th April 2018.

I've had Dune 2 since it was released. I always have had a soft spot for Synapse products because Orion was the 1st DAW that I actually liked and started working with immediately about 18 years ago.

Dune 2 is my #1 synth.

Is this the most punchiest sounding synth? No.

Is this the most feature ridden synth? No.

Is this the synth with the best fx or filters? No.

Is this the best wavetable synth? No.

What Dune 2 is though is versatile. Dune2's sound fits a nice modern space due to he power of it's oscillators and how they can function. From the amount of voices, to the tuning, to the layers, to the different synthesis types... you have the potential for a really rich deep smooth sound that can work in all genres. Notice I said SMOOTH. Dune2 isn't something you grab for edginess, and it wasn't really designed to be. It was designed for you to add on sound sources & keep some flexibility in 1 synth.

What throws most people off about Dune 2 is they expect Massive or Sylenth fatness, or Serum or Spire power. Dune 2 is its own field. Dune 2 can do these type of sounds with some love from you programming them, but it's focus is rich & smooth. Dune 2's focus is not the leading man/woman of your sound stage... it's for everything else.

I use Dune 2 a lot for drums. Most ppl dont consider this a very percussive synth, but again, you can layer with this thing and make any kind of percussion you want. I also use it for basses, pads (of course), & atmospheres. It is super light on the CPU considering how many oscillators you can use, so using multiple instances isn't an issue in a modern computer. The reverb is so lush.. though sometimes maybe too lush LOL. The envelopes aren't the snappiest, but you can also use the MSEGS for that if you choose.

Which brings me to the problem. Dune 2 is one of those synths that fits its certain space SO well, that you which it could do more. A deeper modulation matrix. More flexibility to the arp, More envelopes, more LFOS. Better implementation of the wavetables with a wavetable editor. Multitimbrality & Multiple Outputs for the unison voices. Etc, etc. Currently Synapse is working on a version 3, and I cant wait to see what they have in store. Usually, from my experience of using their products & hearing requests, its something between what people want & what people aren't thinking of.

Even in its current state, it is one of the most top notch synths. If you are looking for a synth that may not focus on modern edginess or classic flavor, this is the synth to get. Put Dune 2 in your arsenal. You won't regret it.

(NO I wasn't paid for this LOL)

Reviewed By kevvvvv [read all by] on June 23rd, 2015
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows

This is more a series of user impressions than a template review.

===============================================.

Dune 2 is about high quality fresh sound.

I came down the Dune CM trail to Dune 1, and now to Dune 2.

It's got a definite sweet colour of its own, really musical to my mind.

- and boasts really splendid presets of all varieties.

And though there aren't many 3rd party presets.

- the Rob Lee work is pretty good and worth considering.

When mixed with Kontakt tracks, Dune 2 needs its reverb taking down, or it can sound a bit fake next to samples.

The arp is quite wonderful with its MIDI file input.

It's good having loads of oscillators too, though I don't always use Dune 2 this way as it sounds too much "like a trance synth" albeit a very good one.

I often use it more like an analog synth as the oscillators & filters are so thick and nice.

- and while I like analog sounds, I'm not a purist.

So most Moog etc emulations sound pretty good to me these days.

Comparisons.

=========.

Recently I've worked with Blue 2, Massive and Sylenth - and now pass on all of them.

Dune 2's only serious competition is from high end Omnisphere 2, rather than other similarly priced top spec synths.

- as buying a synth in this range is always very much a personal preference.

But even Omni can't sound like Dune does!

Dune 2 isn't as broad a synth as Blue 2.

- but much less synthetic sounding than Massive.

- and much more interesting than Sylenth as it does more.

- but not as experimental as Serum or Synthmaster, which I don't own.

Dune 2 is very decent on CPU for such a fast detailed sound.

- while the price is average for a full-on totally pro synth.

Should you buy.

===========.

I started with Dune CM and was immediately impressed by how good, and how different it sounded - never mind that it was free.

So if you can get a copy of Dune CM, try this instead of a Dune 2 dem download.

Dune CM ain't Dune 2, but it's still got that same special something.

- so it'll always be a keeper instead of another duff demo to get rid of.

This vid walks you through the Dune 2 presets.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_UmIZHLp2yw.

Reviewed By sramsay [read all by] on February 19th, 2015
Version reviewed: 10.10.2 on Mac.
Last edited by sramsay on 19th February 2015.

Yes to everything that Yorrrrrr says below.

I wanted to say, though, that this synth is nearly ideal for beginners trying to learn to program synthesizers.

Often, beginners are directed toward free synthesizers. Certainly, that's not bad advice, since there are some stupendous ones out there (Synth1, Tyrell N6, TAL Noisemaker, etc.). As good as they can be, however, they very often come with no documentation -- or documentation that's really just a quick overview for people who already know their way around. What's more, some of these synths can have pretty obscure interfaces (sometimes because, in their devotion to vintage hardware emulation, they make UI decisions that favor looking retro over usability).

I want to be careful, here; Dune 2 is, in every way, a pro-grade instrument. But one of the things that makes it a great beginner synth is that it has one of the clearest workflows you'll ever see, and really, really solid docs. I can't speak for the devs, but I think their goal was to create a modern, state-of-the-art subtractive synth designed for right now. They're not trying to slavishly emulate the UI (or the sound) of past instruments, but they also aren't trying to do something forward-looking (read, weird) with the UI. In practice, this means that the controls and the signal flow are extremely clear. If you're still at the stage of trying to figure out how to make a basic sound that uses a sawtooth wave, a low-pass filter, and an amp envelope, then this thing just won't get in your way. And it's rare to see an instrument this powerful that doesn't.

I can imagine this synth being the perfect complement to Syntorial (the way to get started with synthesizers, as far as I'm concerned). Syntorial has "on your own" sections where he asks you to go program your own patch using the things you've learned in the previous tutorials. If "your own synth" is Tyrell N6, you might be totally lost. If your synth is Dune 2, you'll know exactly what to do.

Once again: This is a very powerful tool. It'll be a very long time before you exhaust its immense feature set, and it sounds magnificent. Any pro tweaker will have a field day. But honestly, this is one of the most approachable synths I've ever used. If you're starting out, this one can really grow with with you -- and on you.

Reviewed By Yorrrrrr [read all by] on May 22nd, 2014
Version reviewed: 10 on Windows.
Last edited by Yorrrrrr on 9th January 2016.

DUNE 2: Features such as...

1. The oscillators. 2 stacks of up to 32 voices + 1 Sub Osc/Noise per stack. Very high quality oscillators, on all the frequency ranges. Almost non existent aliasing on the VA, but none on the wavetables. Deep low end, excellent high end. Very balanced sound.

2. The detuning options, with various modes (linear, non linear, random, major and minor chords, etc..), detuning amounts, etc. Detuning sounds good and can be tailored for taste and need in a variety of ways.

3. Virtual Analogue + Wavetables + Frequency Modulation synthesis. In addition to the usual VA, iIt comes with an excellent set of wavetables, and you can find more in KVR or Synapse forums. But you can even load your own wavetables with the proper format. You can use with the free Audio Term tool to create more Wavetables to load them on the synth, or wait for the official Synapse's own tool for creating wavetables for DUNE 2. This means the synth will just grow more and more on possibilities, as more wavetables become available. The FM capabilities are basic, though. Nothing super fancy but just enough to have a taste of FM sound and capabilities, without being a full FM synth.

4. Amazing UNISON implementation with full control over the voices. The unison engine allows to have up to 8 synths stacked, up to 8 different sounds working together, each part with its own filters, envelopes, etc., effectively turning DUNE 2 into a multi-part synthesizer. So you can have 8 synths in one, 8 independent sounds, and you can even detune and spread them (like they were simple oscillators). Crazy. The unison in Dune 2 also mean that there can be up to 8320 oscillators working simultaneously at full 16x polyphony. You can have a multi timbral synth, if you edit the parameters directly, or you can offset the parameters in the mod matrix using the 'const' mod source, to maintain common controls.

This differential unison engine is the defining part of the whole synth, the concept unique to DUNE 2.

5. Various different filters, including Clean multimode ones, plus Sallen Key, Transistor Ladder, Acid Lowpass, and even the filters from DUNE 1 to make similar sounding presets. The new Expander filters (in v. 2.5) sound great, with oversampling and better resonance and drive behavior; It has Zero delay feedback filter design, to mimic analog designs; It also comes with some special "filters effects" (which include various distortion types, comb, notch, etc.), pre or post filter, to spice up filter sound in various ways. All filters sound beautiful and different. Some of them have saturation (Ladder and Expander). It's possible to make them scream with the Drive parameter, which acts as some kind of a mix knob between the resonant part and the not resonant. Very flexible filter design.

6. Very nice set of effects. They all sound great, with the reverb being the best I've heard inside a software synth. There are 2x effect buses, which allow to use different set of effects for different unison voices. The synth even allows to change the order of the effects processing too.

7. 4 multiple point graphical envelopes (MSEGs) included. They allow for things like custom shape envelopes and curves, custom shape LFOs (in 'loop' mode), gating effects, custom arpeggiator, and crazy modulation of nearly every parameter on the synth. The normal knob envelopes for the filter and amplitude are snappy or punchy when the 'analog' switch is enabled (new in v. 2.5), and more linear when not.

8. Extensive modulation matrix of 32 slots and so many sources and destinations. Very nice set of sources and destinations. The mod matrix even allows to modulate its own parameters, or set the modulation of parameters to apply just for some of the unison voices. The "Const" modulation source has so many uses, like offseting a parameter value for a specific unison voice, or to set parameters only available in the mod matrix (like initial phases for the oscillators, phase of the LFOs, etc..), and more.

9. Excellent arpeggiator, with MIDI import, in addition to the usual step sequencing. It can even be used as a yet another modulation source (note and velocity).

10. Oscillator synchronization.

11. Ring modulation.

12. Pulse Width Modulation.

13. Audio rate modulation. The synth can work sample by sample, not by blocks. It allows, for example, the output of an oscillator to modulate any parameter.

14. Full multithreading support. The CPU usage is low for the excellent sonic quality you get. Sylenth1's level of CPU optimization, with similar settings of course, while capable of doing so much more if you really want to.

15. Simple, easy to use, functional, clear, uncluttered, good looking, inviting GUI. The color of the main panel can be changed. You can create and use third party skins as of v. 2.2. There are great skins available out there.

16. And more....

...make this a masterpiece of a synth. Definitely better than similarly priced synths like Sylenth1. Well, better is not the correct word...just 'different'. It's just that it has so much more to offer.

It is a modulation beast. Inmensely powerful, flexible, quick and easy to use. This is pads and sequences heaven. But it can do everything under the sun with flying colors and it's very hard to make it sound bad. But at the same time it's so easy and fast to work with. It's flexible, versatile, quick to dial in. Bread-and-butter kind of synth. Not only it is quick and easy because it can go incredibly deep. It is a sound designers plugin too.

Beautiful sounding. Clean, rich, lush, expensive, musical are all words I would use to describe its sound. It has its own character too.

Excellent patches included, and more are coming. Amazing sound designers behind. Check the patches made by Rob Lee (RL), Kevin Schroder (KS) and Ed Ten Eyck (EDT), for example. They really show the capabilities of this fantastic software synth.

Not enough words to describe this incredible synthesizer plugin. I hope it sells well and gets all the recognition it deserves in then music production community. It's already getting raving reviews everywhere that confirm what I say.

Thanks, .

User Reviews of older versions

Reviewed By fisherKing [read all by] on April 22nd, 2012
Version reviewed: 1.42 on Mac.
Last edited by fisherKing on 22nd April 2012.

DUNE is the latest addition to my arsenal; am extremely picky about the plugins i have (i recently deleted two very-popular synth plugins, both excellent, but not what I personally needed); I only keep what i use…(am an avowed minimalist).

What I need most is presets, lots of them. Lots of USEFUL presets.

My workflow goes like this: I open a custom template in Logic, start making music. SIMPLE. I want nothing interrupting my workflow. Once I'm on my way to a worthwhile track, I will THEN modify a sound, customize things. I just want a lot of great starting points.

So, DUNE.

The architecture is excellent: no layers, pages to click thru, no scrolling. Everything is right there; the GUI is nothing much to look at; instead it is useful. (BTW, is there a way to 'lock' the effects panel so it's ALWAYS there? I can't see any reason to look at a mini-keyboard…I have a real one right next to my mac; please give us a way to hide the keyboard panel).

I can tweak, customize sounds without much thought; this is a very intuitive synth. And there are a great-many things to tweak. (I need to explore the modulation matrix more, seems pretty extensive).

Ultimately, it's the sound that matters. Listeners don't care about what DAW, what plugins we use; it's the sound (and of course, the song) that matters. And DUNE sounds great: Clean, clear, well-defined. Noisy when I need that, lush when I want that. Great for leads, pads, fx...

I feel that I can make a whole song with this (and did, in fact, with just the demo, when I first tried DUNE out).

This is EXACTLY what I want from a synth; to be versatile, and rich (as I am versatile, and want to be rich :-) )

I want nothing to get in the way of music-making; no extreme learning curve, no constant need to check the manual; nothing that ISN'T intuitive, direct, obvious.

So am very happy, and will be using the plugin a lot. PLUS it runs as a 64bit AU (thanks for that).

I rarely find anything worth 10 stars, but DUNE qualifies. It's a 'must-have'.

Reviewed By Aiynzahev [read all by] on February 27th, 2012
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows.
Last edited by Aiyn on 8th May 2012.

I planned to review D.U.N.E months ago, but only after spending many many hours with this synth do I really feel confident I can offer any useful insight.

At first glance it may seem that D.U.N.E is a fairly standard three osc, one filter, three envelope and three LFO per voice affair with unison. However this is not at all the case.

D.U.N.E stands for Differential Unison Engine, and what this does is significant for a few reasons to "get" what D.U.N.E is really about. What is so useful about this feature is that it is both not unison and unison at the same time. Unison on most synths is just a multiplication of voices, D.U.N.E can do that too.

You can think of it as an eight layer synth controlled from a single a single matrix, the brain of the synth if you will. So if you have three envelopes per voice for example then with all voices active you have twenty four in total. But that's the beauty of this design. If you activate all eight voices you still only have three envelopes, you actually have twenty one more potential envelopes. Unless you specify otherwise in the mod matrix, all voices will respond to all envelope and LFO routing the same. Then you can simply adjust one for a specific voice.

Its a good middle road between complexity and ease of use. There are some draw backs though. For example, you may change the speed of any LFO for any voice, but you must use more mod slots to do this and you cannot select the LFO waveform from the mod matrix, so you only ever have a choice of three LFO wave forms. You also cannot specify from the matrix whether the LFO for voice four for example resets or syncs. This can only be done from the front page. What this means in effect is once you get past using three LFO's you can then choose to modulate any voice with anyone one of those three and alter the the speed and phase of the LFO for that voice but nothing else.

It can be limiting, but at the same time it really helps to keep things moving. Too much complexity can just overwhelm people.

Now as for the OSCs themselves they are very good. D.U.N.E has a nice strong sound. Its smooth at the same time as it is sharp. Its difficult to describe, but I have been thinking for a while about its sound. Some have described it as flat and lifeless. Interestingly I can see why people would use those descriptions and at the same time disagree with what is meant. While I would say that the synth sounds flat and still I would not use the term lifeless. Its got a precise sound, but its not clinical, I would say its got a tight and focused sound but its not thin. Its not overly aggressive and its not overly soft either.

This is just my opinion, but after a lot of listening and experimenting I think D.U.N.E sounds just right for a lot modern electronic music. If you listen to some of the latest tunes people are favouring a lot of less agressive sounds. Not so much analog sounding, but not harsh digital sounding either. I am thinking for example of Yahel's pop star remix on Oakenfold's Four Seasons. Again this is just my opinion, but D.U.N.E to me is a new and interesting flavour and I think it sounds perfect for a lot of the new sounds being used. It can't do everything though. If I wanted an analog synth I would either buy one or buy an emulation. When making dance music you don't always want a largo overwhelming analog style sound.

However, while I don't always want the drift, dirt and instability of analog sound I do like to have decent analog styled filters for some things, what is nice is that D.U.N.E gives you a choice of lower CPU-consuming filters and Analog modeled filters, which sound lovely in my opinion and really match the rest of the synth in terms of sound character well.

The wave-tables give a huge expansion to the sound. They are all good, they are not always this good with every synth. You should read the manual about the wave-tables, you can do wave sequencing but there can be clicks, you have to work with it. If you want to scan through the waveforms though you can to a degree and its quite smooth depending on which waveforms you scan through. At about the centre of the table there are around 10 waveforms that are perfectly sequential in their harmonic content and are perfect for scanning.

I think Synapse-Audio have done a really good job with the effects, Especially the phaser which operates in three modes. The delay has a diffuse mode which is on of the better sounding delays out there. I expect it inverts the phase of one channel as it gives an wide stereo sound to the delay. It works just beautifully on a trance pluck for example. The reverb is good and here they give you a good choice. I think there are 5 algorithms, the first two are CPU savers, and they sound pretty good.

Most of the time unless I am looking for something specific, if I put the effects on I decide to keep them on, and apart from the reverb I might not really opt to add a third party effect, which says a lot. I also want to praise Synapse-Audio for their distortion algorithms. This might sound strange, but they sound excellent without sounding analog. Some people may think that analog distortion is the warm kind whereas digital distortion is harsh. So it either sounds analog or harsh. This is not true. In my opinion D.U.N.E.'s distortion fits the rest of its sound qualities perfectly, it doesn't try to sound analog but it does sound good.

Its obvious by now that I like D.U.N.E. I've always thought it had something special to offer in terms of sound and the feature set is great. I love how easy it is to set up complex moving patches. One thing I really appreciate is you don't have to delve into its complexity to get good sound. It sounds great with just a typical subtractive set up, meaning you really could just program simple patches and get years of good use out of it, and yet at the same time when you put the work into DUNE you really get great results, and that is a rare quality.

Finally, I want to add that giving it a 10 does not at all mean I think it is the greatest be-all and end-all synth or that it is perfect. My rating of 10 reflects how much of a place DUNE has in my set-up. It means I find it to be an integral part of my set-up, one which I wouldn't now want to be without.

Update 5/8/2012

adjusting the score to 8. Although I like the lowpass filters a lot I do not find the hp/bp/comb to be as good.

Reviewed By muLperi [read all by] on December 28th, 2011
Version reviewed: 1.42 on Mac

You may think that you don't need another subtractive synthesizer... but I suggest you try the demo version!

Developers have clearly paid special attention in making the interface simple but effective. Just like in Sylenth1 - you only have the most essential knobs in front of you and even though it may not look like much, it really is well enough.

What sets DUNE apart from the competition is it's special feature where you can do (modulate) whatever you want with the selected unison voices from 1 to 8. I'm only starting to get it myself and see all the possibilities but it really adds a whole new dimension to the synth.

In about 2 seconds you can create a lush, panning multioscillator analog sweeping beauty pad or nice pwm lead (for example). It actually has some patches that sound a bit like physically modelled.

It comes with the most essential FX. 2 EQs for fine sculpting the sound, reverb, delay, chorus/phaser and distortion.

And a very capable arpeggiator!

LOTS of usable sounds and 64bit compatibility both Mac and Win. (VST / AU)

Reviewed By rob_lee [read all by] on March 30th, 2011
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
User Interface

I love the UI of the Dune synth, i was on the beta team from the start and only in the last 2 month or so before release did we get this lovely sleek looking UI. Everything is pleasing on the eye and navaigation is so simple.

Sound

The sounds you can get out of Dune are amazing.Right from the off i was getting the Virus TI like sounds and better. I did some factory sounds for Dune during the beta test stages and also a commercial bank of 128 sounds for this synth.
The Dune synth itself doesn't take long to master and everything such as the mod matrix and other features are well organised and well placed for easy sound programming and ease of use. You can get fat unison trance leads to lush pads using the Dune sound engine.. Too many features to mention so i'd recommend you try the synth out for yourself just so you see just how easy this is to use.

Features

Way too many to list.. way way too many. Take it from me that this synth is packed to the rafters with special features it just does all sorts :-)

Documentation

I learned how to use this synth without a manual at the time of beta testing but there is a great pdf manual online.

Presets

Top notch throughout.. There are great sounds to be found in Dune from the beta test team and i believe there are other banks available apart from my own to purchase seperatly.. Factory presets are just great.

Customer Support

Perrrrrrfect.. Can praise the developer enough. Excellent guy and a great professional. 10/10

Value For Money

I got it free but i'd say it's excellent value for money.

Stability

This synth has never ever crashed on me, both 32 and x64 versions have been rock solid.
I recommend this synth highly to any professional studio owner or hobbyist as you won't be at all disappointed. This thing rocks and i would give it 11/10 if i could.
I'll be doing more presets for Synapse products soon.. Just get Dune you'll love it.

Cheers

Rob Lee

Music Production,Sound Design
Reviewed By elipsis1 [read all by] on February 18th, 2011
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows
DUNE is simply stunning. The sounds can be very complex, yet there is great simplicity in using it and tweaking parameters.

The MOD matrix is VERY powerful, lots of options available.

I was amazed at how quick and easy this synth is to program.

The CPU usage is very low in my opinion, I have used it on a Pentium D, as well as an intel i7 quad core.

Low bass notes are very defined, you can really get some nice deep basses out of this synth.

It is also very stable, the only reason I gave it a "9" for stability was an anomaly caused when Ableton Live somehow got set to 22kHz sample rate, and DUNE made horrible crackling and distorted sounds. This may have been related to the system I was using, once I corrected the sample rate, all was good.

Now that I think about it, Dune is very stable and I am modifying my score to a 10.

Great Synth! And, at $139, it is a VERY good deal! Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Reviewed By quickmix [read all by] on February 10th, 2011
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Mac.
Last edited by quickmix on 8th October 2013.

I bought this Synth 2 Weeks ago and was impressed about his Sound.

Dune has a crystal clear transparent sound.

A Big Plus is the Arpeggiator. Very easy to use but extremly powefull.
The Factory Arpeggio Presets are amazing. The only thing I miss is to save my own
created Arp Presets. Maybe it will come soon as a Update.

I like the Interface. There are not to much Faders, Knops or Funktions to overhelm me.
It's well balanced and looks cool.

Im using Dune with Logic Pro 9.1.3 and it works Perfect.

In all, Dune is worth every Penny and Im using it in most of my Productions.

Reviewed By C.Bennett [read all by] on January 25th, 2011
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Mac.
Last edited by Colin Bennett on 25th January 2011.
The Dune instrument thread at KVR currently stands at 45868 views and 655 posts and a comparison poll with a highly regarded competitor's soft synth currently has Dune tied with 110 votes each.

Do a bit of searching and you'll quickly realise that this is a beast like no-other. A true gem in an overcrowded sea of sub-par soft synths.

The threads at KVR got me interested but it wasn't until I spent a bit of time with the demo that I quickly realised that I was playing with something very special indeed.

To put it simply, Dune sounds absolutely amazing. It has a tone and richness that sets it apart from the vast majority of soft synths on the market today. It sits effortlessly into any of my mixes and this in itself is one of the best qualities of Dune. I've gone through an unhealthy amount of soft synths over the years and I quickly see Dune becoming my goto synth for straight-up warm analogue richness.

A few of the demo presets that blew my mind with the possibilities of Dune were 'Big Fade MK' by one of my favourite sound designers, Michael Kastrup. This lush soaring synth pad perfectly captures the depth and warmth of Dune's sound. 'Protonica Kick PK' is quite simply the best kick drum I've ever heard anywhere in about 17 years of music production. Yes, a kick drum!

Dune sounds spectacular but it's also a joy to use thanks in part to it's unfussy, clear and well designed interface. I love the large central display with the patch name centre stage. All of the knobs are clearly labeled and large enough to tweak without having to page through tabs of options like other synths. Everything you need to tweak existing presets and create your own is immediately available. My only gripe is that the graphics feel a tiny bit soft and could do with being a little sharper.

Overall Dune is a fantastic experience. It sounds fantastic and is already geared-up to be my goto synth for a variety of sounds including warm analogue basses and pads. This is my first written review on KVR. I just felt I had to pop down in words how blown-away I was with this little beauty. Dune arrived from no-where with very little hype but quickly gathered a lot of attention here at KVR, and deservedly so.

Dune looks great, sounds sublime and is a hell of a lot of fun to use. I couldn't recommend it any more.
Reviewed By pheeleep [read all by] on December 21st, 2010
Version reviewed: 1.2 on Windows.
Last edited by pheeleep on 21st December 2010.
DUNE is deceiving! At first glance, it looks like your average subtractive synth, but in reality there is a lot more going on under the hood. DUNE distinguishes itself from the vast majority of it's counterparts in several important ways. First of all, and most importantly, the sound it produces is outstanding. Even the simple raw sound of an oscillator has bite (Sawtooth, Square). The sound is crisp and clean from the get go. DUNE produces clear tones with lot's of energy. The Mod Matrix, where you assign sources to destinations, is very elaborate. It can hold up to 24 rows of data. You can use an LFO to modulate another LFO's parameters or even it's own. You can use the arpeggiator's notes or velocity data to modulate parameters. You can also use the Mod Matrix rows to modulate the level of other rows. There are many available sources and destinations. You can even modulate extra parameters that don't appear in the GUI . A quick run through the manual was all it took to familiarize myself with the multitude of choices. Something very unique about DUNE is that it enables us to modulate up to 8 distinct unison voices using the ModMatrix. Unison voices can also be combined and modulated in unique ways. This is a brilliant new concept. One that opens doors to many new sonic possibilities. However, while this "Differential Unison Engine (DUNE)" is a very nice, unique tool, the merits of this synth should not be based on this revolutionary feature alone. DUNE shines in many respects, and even without the unison voice mangling, it would still stand up to the very best in terms of sound quality.

Indeed, is my opinion that DUNE rivals with the best software synths currently available. My first impression was that it sounds very similar to another very popular and very good 2 Oscillator "Dance music" synth. The more I play with DUNE, the more I am astounded at how good it sounds. It's sharp and punchy but also silky and smooth depending on how you handle it. It makes screaming leads and blissful pads. Punchy basses, percussive/plucked sounds that are vibrant with energy. Not to mention the organs...

DUNE features 2 main Oscillators and one sub oscillator. Each of the two main Osc's have their own FAT knob. Put simply, DUNE stacks copies of the Oscillator (7 copies) and the more you turn the FAT knob, the more the tuning diverges between the stacked Oscillators. In essence, this instantly makes the sound fuller and richer. If that's not enough, as mentioned previously, DUNE also offers up to 8 Unison voices. You can solo one or more of these for precise tweaking. You have control over the amount of detuning and spatial positioning of the Unison. To use DUNE to it's full potential, you will end up using up many voices. But not to worry, it appears that this has been carefully thought out. DUNE features 72 note polyphony. More than double the maximum polyphony available in many synths.

Some very good synths give you a great sound but at a high cost. You trade great sound for high CPU usage. The wonderful thing about DUNE is that it sounds great and is CPU efficient. This translates to 5% to 20 % CPU per patch on my i7 920, depending on the complexity of the patch and on the number of voices being used at any given time. I'd say 15% is the average CPU hit. Not bad at all considering the wonderful sound coming out of it.. Bank C039: IDM Sine MK. What a great sound. It only uses one Oscillator, but each of the 8 Unison voices are pitched differently using the ModMatrix. So although only one Osc is being used, we're in fact hearing many voices. It's a wonderful patch. Simple and effective, and it only uses 5%CPU. I'm going to have to use this one in a lounge project!

Back to the oscillators, it is possible to sync the two main ones. In addition, an automatable and modulatable OSC MIX knob blends the volumes of the 2 OSC's so one can easily morph between the two or create changes in the sound over time. Other basic but effective sound manipulation tools include Pulse Width Modulation, Ring Modulation, A white noise generator, and 2 FM knobs that are used in conjunction with 3 different FM Modes.
DUNE's filter is very good. There's a choice of 18 different filter configurations. You can get a smooth to harsh sound depending on what you're after. Turn that resonance knob way high for some serious ringing. Keep it low for some beautifully smooth filter sweeps. There's an envelope knob to control how much the Filter envelope affects the cutoff frequency, a key track knob, and an Offset knob that behaves in different ways depending on the type of filter selected. I am a sucker for quality filters. I own many excellent dedicated filter effects. DUNE's filter is of a great caliber. Another major plus for me.

The GUI is rather simple. All of the main synth parameters are displayed on one page. It's very easy to get the job done without having to click on a bunch of different tabs. There are 4 tabs but not for the main synth parameters. I personally love the grey skin. I use Fl Studio as a host and DUNE matches it's color scheme perfectly. The majority of the parameters displayed can be automated and are available as destination sources in the Mod Matrix.

The presets are mostly dance music oriented with some exceptions. I make Lounge/Trip Hop/Electronica and some of the included presets work very nicely for my style. Other presets require some tweaking and others I will need to make from scratch. It is possible to love this synth even if you don't make Trance/House, etc.. I'm living proof of it. I do hope we'll see some more variety in the presets over time, but it seems a few folks are already working hard on some new banks. If you're into making Dance music though, you have no excuse not to check out this synth.

DUNE also features quality effects. The distortion, phaser, flanger, chorus, and reverb are my favorites.

Customer support is very efficient. The developer, Richard, will go out of his way to make sure his customers and potential customers are happy. My inquiries have always been addressed in a timely manner. The Synapse forum seems like a cool place to hang out and the developer has a presence there. You can talk to him directly.

Conclusion: Very high quality sound. CPU efficient. One of the top 10 best softsynths ever made (yup, I'm going to go there), but that's just my opinion. DUNE can be simple to program, but you can also go very deep with the Mod Matrix and spend lot's of time coming up with new interesting ways to create new sounds. It is going to take me some time to understand all of the possibilities. Playing with DUNE is fun, and very rewarding. Such a good sound. I do hope it evolves over time. I wouldn't mind having one more mod envelope, for example. I have a few feature suggestions that I have now posted in the Synapse forum. I highly recommend trying out the demo of DUNE. Great job Synapse. Your best product to date. Superior quality. And I thought Junglist was great...
Reviewed By mark77 [read all by] on December 19th, 2010
Version reviewed: 1.00 on Mac
The user interface is neat and tidy and very easy to navigate. I love the fact that everything is visible on one screen, and yet it doesn't feel cramped. I like the overall style and look and the middle screen is easy to navigate for the mod-marix also. The keyboard can be hidden with the push of a button to reveal the inbuilt FX.

This synth came out of the blue and just absolutely blew me away. While the presets are nice, I found myself coming up with incredible sounds with very little tweaking in a matter of minutes. The user interface is deceiving as the features LOOK like this is yet another synth with the prerequisite standard features, but as soon as you start playing you 'hear' the magic.
This synth could handle everything I threw at it, solid wide bass, leads, pads, bells, percussion. The filters sound lovely and the bass retains its 'grunt' and depth regardless of how you tweak the filter. The highs have a satisfying 'sizzle' that is very reminiscent of the virus sound, which I am a big fan of. The filters and envelopes seem to have a super sharp attack that is very useful for contemporary dance music, sharp leads and percussive sounds. This synth has some real balls and is capable of generating some incredibly rich sounds while only using minimal CPU.

In terms of features, there's a nice mod matrix and some capable inbuilt FX, the rest is comparable to the competition. What really impressed me is the different filter types and the sharp envelopes. If you're looking for a synth with millions of tweakable parts, this is not it. But the features that it does have work beautifully and to be honest, is all you really need. I think anything more would be overkill and would just add unnecessary complications.

The documentation is well written and to the point. I've only referred to it once or twice so far as the synth is quite straight forward.

The presets are nice, there's some good variety here that shows off the different kinds of sounds you can get but they may not be the best examples of what this synth can do. I think of them as good starting points rather than a showcase. There's some good variety but nothing that really blew me away until I started tweaking with them.

Haven't had to deal with support yet but the purchase was quick and painless and there's quite an active forum.

I think the value of money is excellent. This synth has a cutting edge sound and while it lacks a massive amount of features, it makes up for it with amazing sound, and low CPU use.

I'm using it with Logic Express and haven't had any bugs or crashes yet.

Latest 20 reviews from a total of 20

Comments & Discussion for Synapse Audio DUNE 3

Discussion
Discussion: Active
PUSHA
PUSHA
6 May 2014 at 11:08am

Synapse Audio you did a killer job on Dune 2. Sound, Look and Function are superb and I would love to get the full version.

jendakub
jendakub
12 May 2014 at 8:12pm

I am really impressed with DUNE2. The direct unison voice editing is huge improvement now allowing to take advantage of the unison engine fully.

Yorrrrrr
Yorrrrrr
14 May 2014 at 9:07pm

I cannot express how much love I got for this amazing synth.

miaousse
miaousse
23 May 2014 at 6:02am

Hi,.

For me it's not just an version 2. It's a whole new synth, and a good one.

lsc9x
lsc9x
14 July 2014 at 11:42pm

Agreed! DUNE II is now in my top 3 favorite VST synths list along with Blue II and Sylenth1. It has also fixed some serious limitations with DUNE and made the whole interface much better. It's really easy to use, it sounds GREAT (think hardware), and the patch save/load system is freaking genius! Each patch is it's own file, and the VST automatically numbers them when loading from a folder, so theoretically a single patch folder can contain up to 999 sounds. Even if it's limited to only 128, that's still simple to expand by creating another folder and starting to drop sounds into it. This also makes backing up patches very easy. Highly recommend this one!!.

foster911
foster911
28 July 2014 at 10:01pm

Great job but Image-Line's Synths are much better than this. I think the only advantage of Dune 2 is its Arpeggiator supporting Chords via MIDI import. I have used lots of synths till now but the capability of micro tuning provided by Image-Line's Sytrus and Harmor synths and also their fast loading is fascinating that I have not seen in other synths like Dune 2. The other facility of Dune 2 is its supporting of 8 parallel channel of oscillators that is included in LuSH-101 too. After all I prefer Sytrus and Harmer. They are my goddesses.

peteman
peteman
8 August 2014 at 8:00am

I bought Dune2 yesterday and I gotta say it sounds absolutely fantastic! Very versatile synth and the internal effects (especially the reverb!) sounds awesome.

clipnotic
clipnotic
27 August 2014 at 5:49pm

Dune 1 I tested and tested again over the years but didn't like it. Dune 2 I'm only testing since one week and still love it.

- great user interface
- great synthese features
- great effects
- great MSEG envelopes
- great OSCs
- better sound quality
- better filter quality.

OK, the LFOs and the standard envelopes could react a little bit finer and noble and the stepsequencer could have 64 or better 128 steps and the option to save own presets, too (!) ... but this are only little wishes, this synth still is wonderful.

Thank you, great work.

Logictree
Logictree
17 November 2014 at 11:43am

I agree with all the positive reviews. I've tried many synths all those years. the biggest problem for me is that all those synths are all boring to use. Imagine if you have an acoustic piano, which has only one sound - the piano sound, but you can play it all day without boredom. Any synth I've tried always has hundred sounds, but almost none of them has the power that could make me play whole night. So what really happens is that I would spend few hours just browsing presets, every preset for few seconds. Dune 2 did something really different, the presets are amazing. Not all of them is my kind of sound, but still there are many of them have the power that could make me play for at least one hour before I got bored. It is definitely something different. The soft synths are no compare to acoustic instruments so far, no matter how many companies already have been trying for all those years. But Dune 2 is very close to be one. That is something really incredible.

DJ Warmonger
DJ Warmonger
6 December 2014 at 11:41am

Next time someone asks me "how to make it sound big", I will answer Dune 2. Sick unison for dummies, just out of the box. Also, it has great syntheis possibilities despite simplicity. I think I'll cut my wishlist just to fit Dune in.

brainpacemaker
brainpacemaker
14 January 2015 at 8:07pm

Would love to see visual representations of oscillator, ADSR and LFO's etc but sounds great.

aaron aardvark
aaron aardvark
13 June 2015 at 4:12am

I was able to put Ghost Dog and Cubrick Soundset soundbanks into Dune 2 folders. Wasn't able to figure out the other two. Haven't tried them yet, but thank you for the patches, I'll try them in the near future.

Yorrrrrr
Yorrrrrr
23 December 2015 at 5:56pm

Amazing new analog envelopes and filters in version 2.5.

djavemcree
djavemcree
11 January 2016 at 5:22pm

one of the best VST synths on the market PERIOD.

SunlightSpirit
SunlightSpirit
12 January 2016 at 3:11pm

I had saved up the $169.00 but found out there is 20% VAT to add on top bringing this to $200 mark.

Richard_Synapse
Richard_Synapse
12 January 2016 at 11:58pm

Hi SunlightSpirit, .

the VAT is now inclusive regardless of location, we changed our pricing model recently. So you should see exactly $169 when adding DUNE 2 to the shopping cart.

Best Regards, .

Richard / Synapse Audio.

kevvvvv
kevvvvv
3 February 2016 at 3:07pm

I love the new Dune 2.5 Kevin Schroeder and Cuebrick presets.

I use them in everything.

Any more planned soon?

secretsmilemusic
secretsmilemusic
8 February 2016 at 7:39pm

impressed with DUNE2, really looking forward to buy the Cuebrick preset.

kevvvvv
kevvvvv
8 February 2016 at 8:24pm

Cuebrick presets are free.

The recent Dune upgrade is brilliant for presets.

like bags of Kevin Schroder presets, and a couple of hundred Ambients by someone I don't know.

The only shame is that the MIDI files in Dune presets can't be exported as midi. But that's a very minor thing. Dune just keeps getting better.

arseniy2
arseniy2
22 March 2016 at 2:00pm

Good sounding synth, but the interface is terrible. How anyone can like this interface...

Still it's worthy for good sound.

Vospi
Vospi
17 May 2016 at 3:08pm

Can't really imagine what's exactly terrible about it. Everything is clear, no clutter, tweakable colors, very fluent envelope editing — I just love it.

100F
100F
5 September 2016 at 1:13am

I for one cant stand multipage synths. i like dune 1 cause you can have most things in one single screen.

I just wished 1.4 had al the filters from dune 2. those sk filters are sweet.

Richard_Synapse
Richard_Synapse
5 September 2016 at 6:52am

Yeah it's nice if everything can be fit on one screen. But Dune 2 has many more parameters than Dune 1. Synths of this complexity are always multi-page, there is simply no other way. In Dune 2 all the key areas like the Oscs, Filter, Mixer, ADSR etc are always visible though, so the need to switch pages is greatly reduced.

Richard.

100F
100F
8 September 2016 at 3:53pm

I realize dune 2 is more complex than dune 1.

So... its alright i guess, .

Have you thought of maybe adding the extra filters to dune 1 for an upgrade price? Id buy it.

melodyz
melodyz
12 September 2016 at 11:03pm

Dune 2 is due for an upgrade IMO. It sounds good though.

StealthVice7
StealthVice7
14 March 2018 at 12:29am

First comment of 2018.

Clifton
Clifton
5 November 2018 at 8:54pm

I think Dune2 has changed my whole life around and I'm going nuts over this amazing synth. What make it better if you have a wave editor you can copy wave forms from any old hardware synths into dune2. Look what you'll be having? Truly amazing.

djanthonyw
djanthonyw
12 December 2018 at 5:39am

The copy protection that's mentioned here says "serial" but that's very misleading. Typically when this is mentioned it means it's strictly simple serial via offline registration. Dune 3 is unlike version 2, and requires either online authorization with your serial, or offline challenge / response which is based on your specific system hardware configuration.

Richard_Synapse
Richard_Synapse
12 December 2018 at 8:45am

You're right. The page was from Dune 2, hence it inherited a lot of information from there.

It seems Ben has now updated the copy protection to "Online Activation" which is correct. It is a one-time authorization with a given serial. Note that after successful authorization, the plugin will never connect to the internet. Furthermore, Offline activation is available as well.

Biome_Digital
Biome_Digital
13 January 2019 at 2:59pm

Dune 3 is an amazingly power synth with a great sound! Very versatile and capable of a wide range of sounds. From cinematic pads, to hard dubstep basses, to trance arps, and loads more.

The Dune 3 sound bank by New Loops has a good audio demo and a free demo pack to download - https://newloops.com/products/universal-dune-3-presets

NatLife
NatLife
22 January 2019 at 1:36am

IMO Best VST at the moment with no compromiss! And possible best synth from VST & Hardware in same time. Still didnt heard even a better, clearer and warmer sound in Hard synths too.

Tks32tim
Tks32tim
14 January 2020 at 8:02pm

I agree its a fantastic lush sounding synth not great for everything like basses but fantastic for pads.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

digitalboytn
digitalboytn
15 January 2020 at 6:59am

DUNE works great for basses, but it might not float everyone's boat...

You need tonal variation in a mix, so using different instruments and combining them will help to achieve this...

Arranging 101 :).

Dewed
Dewed
2 July 2020 at 8:23pm

I installed the demo. It acted like it installed the exe. But all I ended up with was the pdf manual.

Richard_Synapse
Richard_Synapse
2 July 2020 at 8:41pm

DUNE 3 is a plugin in VST/AU/AAX formats, you'll need a compatible DAW to use it.

lucienz
lucienz
27 July 2021 at 11:27am

Mon challenge:
Créer deux orgues à partir des samples de mon B3 et mon Vox continental (UK 60's) sur un synthé.
J'ai essayé pas mal de synthés et seul Dune3 me permet d'arriver à mon but grâce à ses 8 voix x 3 Oscillateurs.
Le résultat est fantastique.
Avec deux Msgs en dessinant deux sinusoides inversées j'obtient un vibrato digne des originaux.
Et enfin un Chorus me permettant de simuler facilement une Leslie.... (en AfterTouch)
Avec un oscillateur 3 en sampler, je simule sans problème la percussion.
Pour commander les 9 flutes + la percussion: 8 voix sur l'oscillateur 1, 1 Voix sur l'osciillateur 2, 1 voix sur l'oscillateur 3 en sampler pour simuler la percussion.
Chapeau bas à Synapse !
Je me suis concocté un B3 comme j'aime, pas mou du genou comme sur les B3 samplés.... Un régal !
Au chapitre des qualités:
• L'ergonomie, tout est clair.
• La documentation ou tout est bien expliqué.
• Pas de glisser déposé (je n'aime pas et je trouve cela superflu vu l'ergonomie de Dune 3)
• les 8 voies sur 3 Oscillateurs !
• Et le résultat sonore incroyable et tellement vivant.

Au chapitre des défauts:
• KTRK sur les filtres ne permettant pas de couper les aigues sur les notes du haut.
• Dans la fenêtre Oscillateur, Synthesis Type l'affichage de la Wavetable est faux quand on change de voix.
• Dans les presets MSGS les formes simples de bases: Sinus ... etc.

Au niveau des améliorations:
Quelque chose que l'on ne trouve sur aucun synthé et pourtant indispensable.
Pouvoir splitter le clavier, pour se faire un C0-C1 uniquement Basse.
Idée:
En Mod Matrix:
- Source=Voix ON, Destination = Keyboard Note, AMT = Note Number
- Source=Voix OFF, Destination = Keyboard Note, AMT = Note Number.

Félicitations Richard, vous avez le meilleurs des synthés .... je rêve du même en Hardware.

THIS POST HAS BEEN REMOVED

Please log in to join the discussion