Login / Register 00 items | $0.00 CHECKOUT New

User Reviews by KVR Members for quadraSID

Rate & Review quadraSID Now!

Reviewed By Madrayken [read all by] on 15th June 2012
Version reviewed: 1.6.2 on Mac
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

GOOD: Great sound - as if a SID chip died and was granted its wishes in heaven

BAD: And now imagine those wishes illustrated by programmers rather than GUI designers

I bought this after realising I wanted something challenging, 8-bit-like and deep. I couldn't have gone for a better option than QuadraSid. I've tried the 'others' - and they're oddly limiting (even within the context of the chiptune).

First of all, if you only want SID style sounds, then that's fine. QuadraSID asks 'what if you could stack a ton of C64s together and link them all via MIDI'. The answer is a mind-blowingly big sound that is a real testament to the old chip, and a fun new flavour to add to your sonic menu.

Depth-wise, there is a ton of modulation here if you want it. It is almost modular in nature, with all of the complexity and flexibility implied. You'll probably have to read the manual a couple of times before the concepts click (I'm still baffled by how you edit the Galway drumsynth voice!).

It sounds great: no effects, but I swear I've heard reverb at times, the sound is so lush. Arp leads - perfect. Big sync-ey basses - no problem. Thin, biting pads - yuppity.

It's all here, and then some.

The wave table is one of the best things I've ever seen in a synth - ever. Being able to program a series of steps with different waves, filters, pitches in such a simple manner makes this incredibly powerful. Create drum by sweeping a pulse down... and then swap it at a super-fast rate with a noise channel. Classic 8-bit drums in about 4 seconds. Amazing.

BUT:

Due to the fact that this sticks slavishly to the concept of 3 SID voices x 4 SID chips, actually programming the thing becomes a mess pretty quickly.

Loading separate patches into the 3 voices is a bit fiddly and weird, too. Add that all your changes are updated live (no saving!) and you can run into trouble pretty easily.

There are no tabbed panels or other modern design helpers used to clarify this critical feature: just clicking on tiny bits and pieces of text. How do you use RingMod? Well, you need to understand that it uses the previous channel... and that channel MUST be on Triangle mode. How do you know? By spotting that in the manual.

It's a step too far toward genuine emulation. It doesn't lead to more intuitive workflow or quirks that are useful. It's just clumsy.

And why am I limited to 3 voices? Because the SID only has 3 voices? Well, that's great - but why not just allow me to pretend I have several SIDs which I can use at the same time rather than this silly multi-timbral thing?

Ultimately, the GUI is clunky and exceedingly unintuitive - which is a shame, because all the functionality is there waiting to get out if you can find it... and remember it between sessions.

OVERALL:

I can't help but feel there is a good case for re-building this little beast into a more modern, sleek interface - keeping the sound and modulations intact (See Loomer's Aspect for an idea of how it could look better).

It's a great, unique synth, but so clunky and unintuitive it'll only ever attract a very hardcore audience willing to dig.

But... I'm glad I'm one of those few.

Reviewed By Xenos [read all by] on 11th June 2008
Version reviewed: 1.5 on Windows
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
If you want the best VST-based Commodore 64 synth, QuadraSID is the prime choice. There is one feature in QuadraSID that I don't think gets enough mention, but is a major contributing factor of that VGM sound-- the wavetable. In capable hands, this feature alone gives the user the ability to crank out all manner of classic C=64 drums, sound effects, high speed arrpegios and true VGM leads/basses. There are two soundsets out there that really make this apparent-- Torben "Metal" Hansen's soundbank at Pro-Sounds and my own, soon to be released set at ReFx (Bryan Lee Signature soundset-- shameless self promotion, I know lol. Anyhow...).
The sonic character in QuadraSID is very, very unigue as well. By turning on two waveforms in the waveform selection area, you get an absolutely gritty, dirty, digital and metallic pulswave that can be modulated via LFOs or envelopes. It does not sound like any typical VA pulsewave at all. You also get real galaway noise in this puppy. For those not familiar with that, let's just say it sounds nothing like your standard VA white, pink and brown noise.
QuadraSID is marketed as being a chiptune synth but its possible applications extend far beyond that :). In unison mode, you can dial in fat Trance leads and basses that are nothing like what you would get out of a typical VA. Creative use of the wavetable and multi-envelopes aid in molding unique special effects fitting for film and video game production. Minimal techno artists might find QuadraSID useful as well.
Reviewed By Modeler [read all by] on 1st January 2006
Version reviewed: 1.5.1 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
reFX had obviously been reading my wish book with this one. I remember the first VSTi plug-ins I used was Chris Huelsbeck's MicroSynt (yeah I know I was about five years late to the party, I was happy enough with AXS before then) and what struck me was how SID-like it was. I approached Chris rather naively and asked how difficult it would be to combine a VST instrument with a SID emulator; he pointed out that there already was such a product - quadraSID.

I was like "Wow, a virtual SIDStation!" and I've been in Galway-heaven ever since. The recent, unexpected release of v1.5 has given it a new lease of life. The new Vanguard-esque GUI and fantastic presets (thank you again Mister Huelsbeck) have really put a new shine on this already superb little plug-in.

GUI
reFX opted not to make quadraSID resemble anything like a C64 in all its beige plastic glory (they saved that for Trasher 2). A very functional display - no knobs to tweak! Since v1.5 there's a been a nice compact option with a preset browser ideal for people like me who can't program a synth for toffee.

Sound
Well, it sounds like a C64. I read somewhere it's based on the code used by the VICE emulator which is pretty damn authentic; I spent most of my life listening to the real thing and I can't fault it. Multiply that by four and what you get is more SID than you can handle. As if my tracks weren't enough like loading music already...

Features
The 6581 and 8580 are there, even the infamous filter bug is there and can be disabled at will! The only thing missing is a facility that would allow me to program it in BASIC. ;-)

Docs
All very well documented, not that anyone who's used to programming a real one would need to read to manual. Nice bedtime reading for the rest of us.

Presets
Brilliant - all the sounds from the Commodore era are here and that's all I wanted. The fact that the synth is capable of a lot more than a single SID is a bonus and many of the presets demonstrate this very well.

Support
v1.5 was a complete surprise, there wasn't huge demand for an update but Mike did it anyway. Not only that but all of the bugs I found were ironed out in v1.5.1 which performs flawlessly on my system.

VFM
There are freeware SID emulations doing the rounds, some better than others but nothing can touch this. It's not exactly expensive; neither are the new Rob Hubbard presets (a must) so the cost isn't an issue bearing in mind what you get.

Stability
No issues - it does its thing and doesn't give me any grief whatsoever.

Overall
Whether you like the SID sound or not, if KVR had a Top Gear style "cool wall" this would be in the sub-zero category, right next to the special fridge that has Vanguard in it. :-)
Reviewed By Jace-BeOS [read all by] on 19th December 2005
Version reviewed: 1.5.1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
reFX quadraSID is a fun and unique synth. It takes a little more effort to program it from scratch than some, maybe due to the fact that you are programming an old chipset with unique attributes rather than programming a traditional subtractive analog, but if you're looking for a hybrid between "that old school sound" and sounds that most other "modern" synths can't make easily (or at all), this is a great choice. If you think you're in for only the cheepo "old school" Commodore 64 sound, then you're selling yourself (and quadraSID) short. It does more than just make classic cheese! (though the classic cheese is certainly there if you want it)

The UI is great (especially this new one). If i had to complain, it would be that the unison mode is a bit clumsy to audition the 1/2/3 unison presets. i also think that the behavior of the note triggering is inconsistent but this may be an inherent aspect of SIDs (i wouldn't know). Other than that, add some of your own reverb/chorus/delay effects and this is a cool little VST synth that's light on CPU use and a GREAT price/value ratio, especially with reFX's holiday discount.
Reviewed By bajongo [read all by] on 13th February 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This thing is special! It's not my all-do all-time instrument but it has some sounds I heard nowhere else and I love these sounds. It can sound like a cheap toy and it can sound very expensive, too. I love the unison, gives some serious walls of sound. The oversampling feature is very cool also, it's a sound shaping thingy and with it I can choose also the amount of alaising I want to have OR NOT WANT TO HAVE! Very low on CPU compared to the big sound it has.

Interface: Great! Very stylish since it has it's new look.
Sound: Very good and outstanding, very versatile.
Features: Tons of Modulations options, wow!
Documentation: Very good manual.
Presets: Well there are quite some but I make my own sounds which suits my needs much better in this case.
Customer support: Great company, very responsive.
Value for the money: Top instrument for a slim price.
Stability: Stable, didn't crash.
Reviewed By autodafe [read all by] on 12th February 2002
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Wow. I bought this synth after checking the demo...
The sounds are really something different from the usual synths.
It has lots of presets which are all very good and usable.
Nice synthetic drums, great leads. What I like best are two "arpeggio" presets, one with a major scale, the other with a minor.

The interface looks great, maybe just a bit too "big" for me...

It's a bit difficult to program, 'cos you feel lost between all the indicators and so on, but sounds really great.

It's verys stable and quite light onthe CPU, even if I noticed some minor "problems" when you drag it and it has to redraw the interface...
Reviewed By realmarco [read all by] on 6th December 2001
Version reviewed: 1.4 on unspecified OS
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Oh my god this thing ROCKS!

I mean its like THE most flexible VSTi to my eyes,ears and wallet(hehehe)

ever wanted to make Drums with a synth?

...Check out the "Galway-noise" channel,
i mean its like having a classic subtractive synth with Humonguous(!!!) modulation with a waldorf Attack stuck to it...

no Fm though...but with this thing you can actually CREATE an Fm operator.

..And the envelopes! 4 of them, clickable ala Absynth/FM7 and they can do anything
(check out the combiners+the modulating Matrix)

I haven't been this excited since i first got my hand(er,mouse) on Electron.



Don't take my word for it, There is a Demo (MAC/PC) ....

EXPERIENCE it, a programmers wet dream!



P.S. tons of other feature too loooong to list
Reviewed By dusted william [read all by] on 5th December 2001
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I love this thing! It is very stable and the new manual is very complete. It creates killer basses, but I use it for all the old computer blips and bleeps it creates. I like to use it for the old video game sound. If that is what your looking for I would highly recomend this thing. It does not find it's way into every one of my songs, but when I want that certain sound this is where I go.
Reviewed By derek [read all by] on 4th November 2001
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
being another old 8bit computer junkie, i can only agree with the other reviews :-)

one thing id like to add is that even if you take the "c 64-soundalike" concept out of the consideration, this thing really really sounds good. the oscillators have a very fat, almost rude and aggressive quality to them. cuts through in the mix like hell. so, whether you want a c 64 SID clone or just a good sounding synth with character, this is a true winner.

i even think the user interface is OK, but the one thing id really like to see would be virtual knobs in addition to the parameter readouts. shift dragging numbers is even less intuitive than turning virtual knobs with a mouse, so theres room for improvement here :-)

but other than that, this synth is perfect :-)
Reviewed By toppa [read all by] on 17th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1.3 on unspecified OS
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This thing is on par with the big name VST synth emulations (Pro-52, PPG, Model-E, etc).

*The sound quality is first rate
*the GUI is impressively complicated - which shows just how much effort refx put into creating it
*the documentation explains a lot that might not be obvious at first
*CPU usage is minimal
*Realtime MIDI control in Cubase is the best I've seen in a VSTi

I've been a SIDstation owner for quite some time, and this VSTi blows it's hardware equivalent away! The SID sound might now be everyone's cup of tea, but if it's your's, you can't go wrong with the QuadraSID.

Reviewed By c_huelsbeck [read all by] on 17th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows.
Last edited by c_huelsbeck on 17th September 2001.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Since my C64 days I always liked the idea of using SID sounds in my studio. But the solutions (Hardsid or SIDstation) where in my opinion too expensive for the cause.

When I heard about the QuadraSID plugin I was thrilled and I have to say that the final product has exceeded my expectiations.

This beast may not look very pretty from the GUI, but the sound is quite amazing. In a VST environment where you can easy add FX like reverb, delay and other weird things the QuadraSID sound starts to shine like a bright star in your arrangement.

The programming and control possibilities in QuadraSID are also vast, though some people may shy away from it's complexity and just use the presets and tweak them a little. But this thing is fun and the sound is unique.
Reviewed By zgogor [read all by] on 16th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1.2 on unspecified OS
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Well, some people doesn't seems to like it ...but, it's a real interesting instrument.Warm sound ( some bass sounds are incredible, and the dynamic too !!)
A strong character instrument which can bring you a big creativity in u't music...
Original, not common, and with a lot of programming possibilities ( the 8 points envelopps are incredible ;o)
Igor
Reviewed By tesla [read all by] on 2nd September 2001
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows.
Last edited by tesla on 18th January 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Pro:
+ great sounding presets included
+ unique concept
+ lots of features
+ up to 4 SID's parallel

Con:
- a complex beast taking a lot of time to be understood
- confusing non-intuitive user interface

I really fell in love when I heard the MP3 demos... Classic nostalgic C64 sounds reminding me to my youth :-)

So I immediately bougth it when it came out... And was at first dissapointed. The user interface was nearly unusable. I was horrorfied by those thousands of parameters that can only be accessed by dropdown boxes, and no manual was available.

In the meantime, the long awaited manual arrived, and so I see a bit clearer now, it's capable of much more than I tought. But it remains a complex hardly understandable beast, you need much time to create your own sounds which I don't have.

However, I love the preset sounds, you can use up to 4 SID's parallel and it sounds very different than other VSTi's.
Reviewed By modular100 [read all by] on 20th August 2001
Version reviewed: 1.3 on Windows.
Last edited by modular100 on 20th September 2001.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Brings back the C64 onto my desktop! It produces "cheap" and crazy sounds and completes my collection of sounds produced by virtual analog synths. If you are looking for sounds giving you a "game feeling" this synth is the right decision.

Reviewed By brittnell [read all by] on 19th August 2001
Version reviewed: 1.4 on Windows.
Last edited by brittnell on 16th October 2001.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I really dig this thing. The sounds are totally unlike those created by any other VSTi out there (I've got enough 303 clones, thanks!). About the only thing that comes close (other than an old C64) is the SidStation (hardware), which will set you back about ten times the cost of this baby.

ENJOY!

Brittnell

Latest 15 reviews from a total of 15

Discussion

Discussion

Discussion: Active

Please log in to join the discussion

quadraSID

Average user rating of 4.27 from 15 reviews

reFX
 My KVR - Version Control & Lists
Not In Your MY KVR Groups
(or group limitation prevents versioning)
79 people have added quadraSID to 6 My KVR groups 87 times
+1 in private groups

KVR Rank (Based on page views)

Overall: 1443  1061  1408

30-Day: 1330; 7-Day: 1903; Yesterday: 3154