1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Nils Schneider
  4. »
  5. Nils K1v
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Nils K1v

 My KVR
ROMpler Plugin by Nils Schneider

Nils K1v has an average user rating of 4.90 from 10 reviews

Rate & Review Nils K1v

User Reviews by KVR Members for Nils K1v

Reviewed By pestomusic [read all by] on 26th September 2020
Version reviewed: 1.1.1 on Mac
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

For being a free plugin alone, this deserves 5 stars. Instant late 80ies/early 90ies feeling. If you like LFO (the band), you will love this plugin.

I have a K1r mk1 in my rack next to me and the plugin fails to model one crucial ingredient of the original: the noise floor;).

Really well done, Nils! And may I add that the fact this exists not only for Windows but also as a Mac VST and AU and on top of that also works on Linux systems is seriously mind-blowing. Especially if you consider the short time span during which all these versions for different platforms came out.

I have earmarked some € to donate (and may I suggest you consider doing so as well?), especially for the AU version. If this was a commercial plugin, I would not hesitate to part with 50 or 60€ if I was making as much music today as I used to. Don't like Ro-land Cloud but like the D-50? Get this. Seriously, download this plugin if you like breathy, aliasing ROMplers as much as I do.

So far, I haven't tried to use the plugin as an editor for the hardware but I am really excited to so. Just the fact that an emulation is capable of doing so is so awesome (Dexed comes to mind).

Disclaimer: I'm not affiliated with the author of this software in any way. I'm simply blown away that somebody so talented and focused on getting stuff right (read Nils' blog about the development of this plugin, he's a man of dedication) would share the results of all his efforts with the world for free. And I do have a soft spot for quirky Kawai synths, now I can take one of them with me when I travel. I love this plugin.

Reviewed By jonljacobi [read all by] on 18th September 2020
Version reviewed: 1.11 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Couldn't be more surprised or pleased. Been looking all over, but only limited samples were available. All the cards, all the controls... Fantastic and sounds just like the real deal (as far as I can remember). Raw. Sits in the mix fantastically. Has the look as well and can load and save both single patches and banks (.MID or .SYX). Yay Nils.

Reviewed By frits.fischer [read all by] on 26th July 2020
Version reviewed: v1.08 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I can't believe it !!!!! I've owned a desktop version which I had bought in the late eighties/early nineties..

Just a few months ago I've sold it and regretted it instantly.. Now it's back.. For good...

I say it's back because it is a brilliant replica and I know what I'm talking about... I've had it for 30 or so years and know it inside out...

Thank you Nils .

Reviewed By proconsul [read all by] on 13th July 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.8 on Windows.
Last edited by proconsul on 23rd July 2020.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Hi, .

this emulation is great, I love it! Thank you very much.

I spotted one problem with version 1.0.8 though: Omnibus Loop Samples seem not to be retriggered when playing new notes. Instead they seem to be looped internally for ever, though they are not audible. So when playing instruments with these samples they start somewhere in the middle of the sample, depending on the current position of the internal sample pointer. I am not sure if this is also true for the other looped samples as well.

You can hear that when playing the instrument 'SlaveLabor' (A1-01/EA8).;).

Edit: This is fixed in version 1.0.9.

Reviewed By groumpf [read all by] on 13th July 2020
Version reviewed: v1.08 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Hi, .

I had a K1 in the past and I think this one is much less noisy than the hardware.

It's a very accurate recreation and I retrieve all the sounds I used with great pleasure.

Thank you.

Remark : I have a little bug I think when I clic on Edit on iA1-Voice preset, I get a green button on source 2 and when I clic on source 1 the source 2 stays green so both sources are green.

This is on Windows 10 / Reaper 6.

Reviewed By SumnSumnSumn [read all by] on 11th July 2020
Version reviewed: v1.08 on Windows.
Last edited by SumnSumnSumn on 11th July 2020.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

I was impressed with this plugin. I did a review on it. You can find it here. https://youtu.be/utdAsVkf_q8.

Reviewed By Ambient Mechanics [read all by] on 7th July 2020
Version reviewed: v1.05 on Windows.
Last edited by Ambient Mechanics on 7th July 2020.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Wow, this really is a blast from the past! I've just spent the last two hours playing with this and they were two of the fastest hours I've experienced in a long time. This really is an outstanding offering, one I think will really stand the test of time and build up and army of followers/users for a long time to come.

The sounds /presets are amazingly accurate and clear, while the UI is intuitive and easy to use. The interface looks a little dated, but I guess it could hardly be anything else when you remember what it is we're dealing with here. Still, it would be a nice touch to have skins for this at some future point, as well as an FX page under the Mode section. tucked away out of sight, so as not to take from the vintage look that greats you when you load up this little gem.

Still, even as it is, it's a great realization of a real classic and kudos is well and truly deserved for all the time and effort that went into producing this. Thanks Nils..very much appreciated.

Reviewed By Kromebone [read all by] on 5th July 2020
Version reviewed: 1.03 on Windows.
Last edited by Kromebone on 5th July 2020.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Great emulation, sounds just like the hardware I have. I would like this plugin to be scaled down some, as it seems quite huge on the screen.

Reviewed By blatanville [read all by] on 3rd July 2020
Version reviewed: 1.0.2 on Windows.
Last edited by blatanville on 6th July 2020.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Quick note, after playing with it for a short period.

Well done!

It's got that obvious late-80s digital with analog circuits sound.
The interface seems clear and bonus marks for making it scalable (something I very much look for in a plugin these days, as I have a 4k monitor and 50+ year-old eyes.)
I never had the pleasure of owning a K1 back in the day, but I certainly spent some energy thinking about them.
Now: back to playing.

enjoy.

Reviewed By mpaech [read all by] on 3rd July 2020
Version reviewed: 02 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No

Hallo, .

konnte jetzt in 64-bit Nils K1v antesten. für lau ein irres Teil.

In 32-bit hat mein Virenscanner 360° einen Trojaner vermutet.

Scheint aber ein Fehlalarm zu sein.

Habe mich in meine Zeit versetzt gefühlt, in der ich mit dem

Kawai POP Synth Module PHm auf der Bühne gestanden haben.

Dieses hatte sehr ähnliche Klänge. Der Synth ist schön übersichtlich

gestaltet, die Sounds sind so, wie man sie für ein Vorbild der 80er erwarten

kann, sogar besser. Insgesamt ein Highlight der Kostenfreien VST.

Vielen lieben Dank dafür.

Latest 10 reviews from a total of 10

Comments & Discussion for Nils Schneider Nils K1v

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Doc Brown
Doc Brown
3 July 2020 at 1:23am

Fantastic job Nils.

You really captured the gritty nature of the k1. I own the k3m but I have been looking at k1 rack versions though I may not have to now because of this gem. Good on you and your talents.

Turello
Turello
3 July 2020 at 11:18am

1.0.1, with some presets emit strange background sound, hope fixed...

Nils Schneider
Nils Schneider
3 July 2020 at 1:20pm

Could you send me a recording of that background noise? At what sampling rate do you use it in your host?

Turello
Turello
3 July 2020 at 3:35pm

REAPER and FL Studio 9 (all 32-bit) under Windows 7, 64-bit.

It's like a "tick tock" sound that affect the sound, not in first sight but it's audible.

Tried now with version 1.0.2, same problem.

I don't know how send a file here but by the way sorry, hope you'll resolve or probably it's a simulation of the cheap onboard converters of the original hardware? i can't recognize.

Turello
Turello
3 July 2020 at 11:59pm

Are like little glitches or peaks but very fastidious...

Nils Schneider
Nils Schneider
8 July 2020 at 9:33pm

Hi, the clicks are fixed since v1.07. Thanks for reporting.

functionform
functionform
4 July 2020 at 6:36am

What a great project. Like a time machine transporting my ears instantly back to the period, thank you.

doctoremmet
doctoremmet
5 July 2020 at 5:24pm

What's the name of that Wavestation-like patch that loops a couple of strings & aaahhh PCM samples? The preset that was famously used by LFO on their seminal self-titled techno hit "LFO". Would grab this one just to be able to play with that preset. A friend of mine got this as his first synth back in 89.

Dave_Sexy
Dave_Sexy
6 July 2020 at 10:19am

On the Nils K1v the preset is 'iC8 Arrangement' I found it by resetting to the factory settings............... LFO your heart out :)

pmsr
pmsr
5 July 2020 at 6:56pm

Great project, great sound. Kudos!!.

darkprojekt
darkprojekt
5 July 2020 at 11:35pm

How do I install it in Cubase 10 Pro, I have placed K1v_x64.dll in various VST plugins folders and each time run Cubase and plugin manager but it seems to be invisible to them, I have even placed in the same folder as my Sylenth1 and no go. Any assistance would be appreciated.

darkprojekt
darkprojekt
5 July 2020 at 11:45pm

How do I install it in Cubase 10 Pro, I have placed K1v_x64.dll in various VST plugins folders and each time run Cubase and plugin manager but it seems to be invisible to them, I have even placed in the same folder as my Sylenth1 and no go. Any assistance would be appreciated. That is for 64-bit version.

OK, so when I installed the 32-bit version and Jbridged it, it shows up.

xorcist
xorcist
6 July 2020 at 5:50pm

Just grabbed this. My studio rebuild is not for another few weeks but will try this out then! I still have my K1-r but this just looked too cool to pass up and realtime JOYSTICK control ala Vector movement? Yes please.

Syntheslav
Syntheslav
8 July 2020 at 9:15am

1.0.6 - a very loud short clicks when playing in Renoise 3.1 in some presets. They aren't in Renoise 3.2.1. Empirically, I was found that the problem in the delay of the envelope. As soon as you remove the delay, a clicks disappear immediately.

Also, occasionally K1v misses some notes (in all Renoise versions, not only in 3.1), but I did not find any regularity. But this happens VERY rarely, so I have no special problems with this.

Nils Schneider
Nils Schneider
8 July 2020 at 9:27pm

Hi, the clicks are fixed since v1.07. Thanks for reporting.

gslater
gslater
8 July 2020 at 5:03pm

Version 1.0.4. Thank you SO much for this wonderful VST. I have a very old K1m with a lot of custom patches, and was able to transfer all of them in via sysex without any issues. Also very happy to report that it works in Linux using the Carla Windows bridges. The only issue when running (in Linux) is that none of text displays on the various buttons, or in the middle screen where the available patches are shown. I am assuming this is simply a WINE font issue? Does anyone know what font may be missing?

Nils Schneider
Nils Schneider
8 July 2020 at 9:26pm

Hi, the used font is Arial bold to be as compatible as possible. Didn't have Linux in mind but if it helps :).

Elffin
Elffin
9 July 2020 at 6:15pm

OMG! I regret selling K1R and finally something that sounds pretty damn good!! Looking forward to seeing this develop.

SumnSumnSumn
SumnSumnSumn
11 July 2020 at 8:20pm

I was impressed with this plugin. I did a review on it. You can find it here. https://youtu.be/utdAsVkf_q8.

alasta4204
alasta4204
12 July 2020 at 5:21am

Good morning is there a Linux version coming soon.

Regards.

Alastair.

Sergay Milles
Sergay Milles
5 August 2020 at 10:31am

Great plugin! ...But my Linux export doesn't work. And another small problem - the waveform selection menu has too small a font.

moscom_electronics
moscom_electronics
11 August 2020 at 2:16pm

Hi, this looks great! Is the MacOS version still scheduled?

Thanks.

Nils Schneider
Nils Schneider
12 September 2020 at 2:21pm

There is now a Mac VST version, AudioUnit is in development.

ATWG
ATWG
19 September 2020 at 7:50am

I downloaded the mac VST version, but when I put the VST file in the VST folder and start up my Logic Pro x 10.5.1 I do not see the KV1 can you please tell me how to get the VST to show the plugin thank you.

Nils Schneider
Nils Schneider
19 September 2020 at 4:53pm

Hi, .

Logic does not support VSTs but only AudioUnits. Please download the AU version of the plugin. It is available on my HP since today so you have luck :).

Best, .

Nils.

Please log in to join the discussion