1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. Cakewalk
  4. »
  5. Triangle II
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Triangle II

 My KVR
Synth (Analogue / Subtractive) Plugin by Cakewalk
No Longer Available

Triangle II has an average user rating of 4.46 from 26 reviews

Rate & Review Triangle II

User Reviews by KVR Members for Triangle II

Reviewed By mhemnarch [read all by] on 16th September 2007
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Triange II is a solid VA monosynth, with a pretty good featureset. I wouldn't pay a lot for it if it was for sale (not with the amount of good freeware out there), but as a free plugin it's definitely worth your time.

Triangle II's sound comes from two main oscillators and a sub-oscillator. Its filters sound good, very thick and expressive, but they aren't as flexible as I'd like. Even with the delay, chorus, and other effects, this synth doesn't have as much variety as I'd like. You can make a good amount of sounds from it, yes, and they do sound good, but compared to many other synths (Crystal and Ouatmeal, for example) Triangle II isn't nearly as versatile as it could be.

To be fair, Triangle II's flaws don't stop it from being a darn good synth. It can make solid basses, cool (if bland) leads, and even the occasional pad. It has a nice, modern sound, not the earthy sound of a real analog synth but a cool sound in its own right. I'd say this synth is a must-download for synthesizer newbies, thanks to its straightforward interface and sound, and even worth a look for more experienced musicians.
Reviewed By djastroboy [read all by] on 2nd November 2005
Version reviewed: 1.11 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a good synth. If you are just comparing raw capabilities, it has a basic sound and features roughly comparable to synth1, but monophonic. So if you were gonna start all your patch programming efforts from scratch, you should probably just get synth1 and concentrate on that.
However, if you like to have lots of presets to listen to for song inspiration or just starting points to create new sounds, then you have to get Triangle II to mine the huge number of banks that are available here at KVR and other sites.

The basic sound of Triangle II is generic in a good way. It doesn't jump out at you the way that a Crystal or a Protoplasm does. It's 'in a good way` because you need those bread and butter sounds to round out your sonic creations.

Watch out when you hold down keys as you change presets, you will often be greeted by strange sounds that don't seem to come from the preset you started from or the one you ended up at.

Like synth1, CPU usage is tiny. Probably as little as any VST instrument.
Reviewed By Daedalus [read all by] on 16th May 2004
Version reviewed: 99999999 on Windows.
Last edited by Daedalus on 21st May 2004.
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is quite an nice VSTi. It's kind of like the Pentagon, but freeware. You can create some nice lead and bass sounds with this baby, but they aren't as good as the sounds that the Superwave P8 or Crystal can create. The Triange II is very stable and comes with some nice presets, although the presets don't give you a good example of wat the Triangle II is capable of.
Reviewed By Neil Hunter [read all by] on 2nd October 2003
Version reviewed: 1.11 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is one fabulous FREE bit of kit. The presets are great, the GUI is intelligible and the best bit - it's FREE!!!!!

T2 has to be in every project studio's arsenal of VST synths, especially for those looking for that fat, analogue synth sound.
Although it's only a Mono synth, it can create soune superb lead sounds as well as bass/foundation notes.

Superb. It compares very well with Pentagon 1 which I paid for, but is obviously much less versatile. If you like T2, get P1 as well....Awesome stuff.

Neil, Sussex, UK.
Reviewed By geeseaplenty [read all by] on 16th April 2003
Version reviewed: 1.5? on Windows
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is one of the best monophonic synths out there. The effects are an added bonus. I love it on it's own, but for really fat complexity, open up two or three instances of this baby in your host and give 'em each a different sound. Whallah! You have an isn't multi-oscilator synth! And it's free!
Reviewed By kevvvvv [read all by] on 14th April 2003
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Possibly the best mono synth, whether free or otherwise.

Great for programming from scratch.

Great presets too.

Sound quality top notch.

Very versatile.

Ideal for beginner and pro alike. In fact it's a fabulous synth to learn on.

Because it's only mono and not poly, it's almost guaranteed you will want a Pentagon or Square just to get your hands on a poly Triangle II.

The only downside I can think of is that it's not poly.
Reviewed By progfusion74 [read all by] on 11th October 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows.
Last edited by progfusion74 on 11th October 2002.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
When I first got Triangle II, I was a tad disappointed, because straight out of the box (so to speak), I preferred Triangle I (which I also use extensively), but as I started tweaking the knobs on TII, I realized how powerful it was. It is not necessarily "better" than Triangle I, but I find it more pleasing to tweak, especially realtime, while with the T1, I essentially use the presets of slightly modified versions. When it comes to analog-sounding basslines and portamento leads (esp the latter), I don't think there is a better VSTi out there and only the original Triangle matches it in its class and the complement each other perfectly as they have different characters. A must in any studio, esp if you are into Berlin-school electronica and/or into Keith Emerson/Larry Fast.
Reviewed By CoreTrooper [read all by] on 9th October 2002
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Triangle ll has been a main instrument in my arsenal since its first release.

The first time I used it I was going through the presets and lets just say the presets don't do it justice, out of all the presets 4-5 of them show the power of Trinagle ll, trying the synth again one day while bored I started from scratch to make sounds and the sounds I got out of this baby were so phatt its to be one of the best softsynths out there and the fact that its free to me is unbelievable.

The only thing that i found wrong was the lack of squeeky renosance while bringing up the filter cutoff, it has alot more that its older brother but its still a shame.. with a squeekier filter and some better presets it would be alot better, but regardless of that this instrument is a godsend.

Triangle 2 has drive not heard in other softsynth, check it out now or your missing out
Reviewed By Jim M [read all by] on 11th June 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a very sweet-sounding VSTi... lots of pretty presets to tweak and build on. Very thick sounding as compared to Triangle I. The filter envelope does not seem quite "deep" enough to my ears, but I've got weird aesthetics.

Good GUI, very beautiful...and contrary to so many other VSTis I been seeing, absolutely stingy with screen space... I could use just a little more space around the knobs and a larger, more set-aside main volume knob.

Looks to be fairly stable.

rgc does it again... quite a good VSTi.
Reviewed By 11011011 [read all by] on 21st May 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Bloody awesome synth. I've been using it regularly since release. I find myself using this more often than its older, bigger brother (Pentagon I) -- the one I paid for! It's monophonic, but the sounds are so damn big that a chord could cause an earthquake.

Excellent presets, though the first dozen are variations on a theme. If you're just getting acquainted, I suggest you randomly pick presets, and listen to them *all*. My philosophy is "presets suck!" -- but this synth proved me wrong. The variety and quality is amazing.

Excellent sound! It performs well in any environment, but tends to run a little hot. It mixes very well, better than the Pentagon I in some respects.

Excellent GUI! Unlike the Pentagon I, this thing fits on my screen. The knobs make sense.

Excellent built-in effects! Chorus, delay -- a decimator? -- stereo spread, distortion -- yadda yadda. Nice addition!

You will *not* get 'natural' sounds out of this thing. It's all space-age, *real* moog-based technology sounds without the clutter of hardware on your table. I use this thing on most of my tracks now -- it's that good.

If rgcAudio keeps making quantum leaps like this they'll be the defacto standard by which all analog-sound synths are measured, hardware or software!

Bottom line: get it, use it, abuse it, love it.
Reviewed By summer [read all by] on 18th May 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is quite a good synth. The GUI looks good, but after a while I tired of the knobs. I find the sliders of the JX16 to be a bit friendlier. And, the punch of the JX16 seems to be missing, but it still sounds great for leads since the built-in effects really add to the depth of the sound.

Reviewed By Brando [read all by] on 29th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Another tremendous DXI offering from Rene at RGC Audio. The fact that it is Freeware is a bonus, but should not detract from the fact that this is a serious soft synth. Excellent library of preset sounds, great user manual. Amazing, at any price. Completements Pentagon nicely without being just a little brother. Very nice.
Reviewed By Area51 [read all by] on 24th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Well all I can say is superb.

I am new to this sort of thing being use to a hardware background. However the sounds are amazing. Plenty of knobs to tweak which I love and a stand alone version also.

The leads and bass that this can produce are amazing though. Presets arnt bad either.

And the best thing is the price. Nothing.

Keep up the good work.
Reviewed By David Abraham [read all by] on 13th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.02 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Finally had a chance to really check out some rgcAudio software, and Triangle II really impressed. Loaded up an ACID loop in SONAR, the ran through some Triangle 2 presets till I landed at "Trinitarian" then I proceeded to jam for 45 minutes straight, very usable mono/legato mode "finally"!

Sounded very good, and has a good set of basic presets. now I understand all the the raves about rgcAudio software, looking forward to the Pentagon DXi release.
Reviewed By Emerald Tablet [read all by] on 10th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.01 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Hi there

Ok i am being a bit generous in my reviews the last days
But this one deserves all the credits In one one word wow ...

The tuned noice generator can realy do good jobs in making atmospheric by-sounds The Hard drive / bass / and chorus knob can do great jobs ... however i use a different tool voor chorus on bass ... a toby bear plugin but forgot the name. This chorus makes the sound a bit blobby (dunno another word for it :-)) anyway ...adjustable freq. could do miracles but didn`t play with it yet. The hard drive was only clicked on once ...after that i never clicked it out :-)

This synth is very good for making bass sounds ... brasses and other low noises ....
I managed very easy and fast to make absolutely super grazy sounds ... i don`t know who made the presets ... but this thing can do 1000 more then what you hear in the middle of the road presets.

therefore all the features in it get a 10 from me besides the presets :-) Download it ...its free ..after that knock yourself out and never sleep before 2 o clock midnight anymore.

Reviewed By Funkybot [read all by] on 7th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.01 on Windows.
Last edited by Funkybot on 8th April 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I think I'm alone on this one but I actually like Triangle 1 better than T2, I don't know why maybe it's the less options but T1 definately had that certain something that I just don't get as strongly from T2. I'm also not too big on the new GUI, if I could have a blend between the original Triangle GUI with the functionality of the new one I'd be a happy camper, as the blue/grey isn't doing much for me. The presets are also a bit lackluster but there's also a few gems in there. As far as the sound goes it's your classic RGC sound which is great, the addition of effects was nice (but I doubt how much I'll be using the decimator), and the option to use different filters was just fantastic as was the sub osc. The best thing about this has got to be the microhost, this just makes it so easy to do some major patch tweaking while I'm doing other things without having to worry about having a sequencer open. I was more impressed with this after spending some time tweaking and coming up with my own patches, but aside from the sub osc, filter types, and the chorus I wasn't really using anything that wasn't in T1. Anyway I'm just so used to the old version, the sentimental geek that I am, but this truly is a top notch synth. It's not too far at all from being the mono Pentagon 1, and is capable of some great and diverse lead/bass sounds. If your on a PC it'd be silly not to get this. Oh and did I mention the midi learn features? It's so easy to assign CCs with this thing. The one request I made to Rene regarding this was that I think you should be able to have more than one midi input, that way my knob box on my SBs Midi Port, and my keyboard on my Midisport could be used at once, and Rene said he'd try to get it in. In closing this is another top notch RGC synth. Did I mention that this also the first freeware DXi that I can think of, glad to see some smaller devolpers supporting the format.
Reviewed By Hypertone [read all by] on 5th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
What a sweet free VSTI. Quite possibly the best free analog VSTI out there. Great sound, very programmable. MIDI learn in a free synth? Rene knows what people want. I programmed a ton of useful sounds. I wish you could transpose each oscillator, I had to transpose the midi track to play the lower octaves on my 61 note keyboard. I recommend this synth to anyone looking some good analog sounds.
Reviewed By Drunken Mozart [read all by] on 4th April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.00 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is perhaps the best sounding mono freeware VSTi yet. The dark, low-contrast, small print GUI causes me major eyestrain after long programming sessions. I've never been comfortable with RGC's oscillator controls. Prefer separate settings for each oscillator including range settings. Always considered built-in f/x to be a part of the sound of the instrument, so take that into consideration along with the fact that this sweet little beast is free. Thanks, RGC!
Reviewed By dunk [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.00 on Windows.
Last edited by dunk on 6th April 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I seriously love this synth and could not give anything but very high marks every category - Even customer support gets a 10 because I once emailed Mr Ceballos with a problem I had with Triangle 1 (which, I hasten to add, was no fault of Triangle - just my badly bloated system) and he replied within 3 hours! Customer support that good for freeware?! Wow.

Same goes for the other categories. Absolutely top class. And free! so just go get it already!
Reviewed By alex1206 [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Blimey...how can Triangle II be free?

[+] Loads of control (loads-a-knobs)
[+] Wicked sounds (phat as you like)
[+] Plenty of great factory presets (128 presets)
[+] Excellent midi control capabilities
[+] Nice GUI :)
[+] Good manual - yes, I actually read it :)
[+] Higher spec than alot of pay VSTi's
[+] Very low CPU usage
[+] Very Stable (has never crashed on me yet)
[+] Standalone version
[+] Great customer support (usually the developer will reply to your posts at KVR, or emails, within a few hours)

[-] ...Errmm, let me see...none :)

My advice, buy it....Ooops, I meant download it (I forgot it was free)....it will give you a nice taster of what its big brother is capable of!
Reviewed By bluey [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This synth has a unique ability, the sound pallete can appeal to those seeking that punch to add to their dance arsenel or those wishing a powerfull electronic sound.

The fact that it is similar yet different to big brother pentagon means it can be used along side quite well (I figure the intention though is a showcase for Pentagon technology. It's hard to believe it was given out for free. Well done !!!

The GUI is clear and arranged with the signal path, left to right top to bottom.

However its real power is when you start to play with the multiple midi learn functions. Leads just rip while twisting a knob and altering multiple parameters at the same time with a single knob.

The presets are great, though a bit dancey at times.

Wicked !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
(who says I like to give bad reviews)
Reviewed By Har [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I was also one of the beta-testers for the T2. Thanks to the fact that Rene truly *cares* about just how good his synths are, and takes all feedback seriously: the Triangle II has turned out to be one of my favorites, and truly can now be considered the Pentagon I's "little brother".

But it also has a unique flavor all it's own, making it different from both the P1 and the original Triangle I (which has a wonderful sound of it's own IMHO....owners of the T1 should make a point of holding on to it as well!). The oscillators and filters are punchy and thick, with what's rapidly becoming known as "that RGC sound". The onboard effects are excellent as well. It's fairly easy on CPU usage as well: I can get quite a few instances of the T1 running on my pokey little PIII 450 with no problems.

It comes with a nice big bank of Rene's excellent presets (not sure why someone here said there weren't any presets...there a whole huge bank of them!!). The presets stick mostly to sounds that are musically useful, such as punchy, thick basses, leads and even sounds that could be used as pads in a monophonic sense. The manual specifically mentions that "sound effect" presets were avoided...but the T2 great for sound-design as well.

Speaking of the manual: it's wonderfully detailed, just as the P1's is. I wish all music software developers spent as much time on good doco like this.

And on top of all of this....it's freeware, so how can you go wrong? Check it out: you won't be dissapointed.
:-)
Reviewed By x_bruce [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows.
Last edited by x_bruce on 4th April 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Triangle II is one of if not the best monosynths available. In terms of programability, intuitive user interface and great sound there is nothing out there that beats it.

Best of all it is free.

As stated below, Triange II is vastly expanded from Triangle I. Try this synthesizer out for basses and some incredible leads. Even though it's a monosynth there are FX and pad type sounds as demonstrated by the presets which make this synth far more than a one trick pony.

rgcAudio has set the bar for this type of synth let alone value. Once you hear what Triangle II can do you'll appreciate why Pentagon users have been so happy with their purchases....and Pentagon expands capability beyond T2.

A great synth that does more than you'd expect.
Reviewed By nirsul [read all by] on 3rd April 2002
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I was one of the beta testers and could tell Rene what I liked and what I didn't.
Rene is a generous person in giving many people a professional synth in a hard to beat price. Triangle 2 is definetly NOT Triangle 1 - only the name is common.
It has some patches which are already known form the flagship synth Pentagon but, many are not such as the truely amazing Harmonica patch and some of the OBx-like patches.
We should strive to keep Rene out of the hands of big synth companies - so that he continues creating more of those screaming beasts.

So: Rene - will we have a skinnable version ? :-)
Reviewed By Scot Solida [read all by] on 2nd April 2002
Version reviewed: current on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Holy criminy, what a beautiful synth! This thing looks and sounds amazing! I already credit RGC with producing the best sounding analog emulations around, but this thing surpasses them all. The improvements to the interface are thoughtful and appreciated. I particularly like the method by which waveforms are selected. And the MIDI "learn" mode is totally unexpected in a free synth! Makes working with the breath controller, well, a breeze. The manual is better than those included in some very expensive plug-ins, and does a fine job making the features of this little wonder clear. Built in reverb, chorus (a delicious chorus, by the way), and a DDL ensure that you'll be encouraged to add your own patches to the brilliant presets that are included. Lots of good basses, and some BIG sweeps are included. It says "RGC Audio" on the front, so you know that the customer support is beyond reproach. And free! It's fer-crying-out-loud-free! It gets one tiny, insignificant black mark for that last booby-trapped preset. Don't touch that one! This thing is a pure joy. And, I'll tell you, Rene is a real Artist with a capital "A"...
Reviewed By Wine [read all by] on 2nd April 2002
Version reviewed: 1.0 on Windows.
Last edited by MArmstrong on 7th April 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is a brilliant product, everyone should download the thing as it really is excellent. It is very flexible and is definitely worth the download. It is a vast improvement over TraingleI (which was alrady good)

Pro - Quality of sounds, particularly the presets are excellent, the GUI

Cons - There really are none I can think of.

This is the best freeware VSTi I have used since ninja!

User Reviews of older versions

Reviewed By CoreTrooper [read all by] on 21st October 2003
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I remember back more than a year ago I downloaded T1 and T2, and at the time I was still learning alot. After a few tweaks and so much a novice at synthesis could do with not much of second thought I kept Triangle 2 as it had the sound I wanted and triange 1 was deleted from my machine.

About 3 month ago I noticed people talking about the original and how it has a unique sound, I thought to myself was I misssing something it wasn't that incredible to me a year before...so I go and pick it up and start playing with it...after a few day of having it on my machine I have over 50 patches for the synth all incredibly usefull and 95% are various basses.

Ok The synth can be confusing for newbies trying synthesis and programming (as you read above I can vouch for that) but this thing is a very fast synth that will get the sound you will want to keep in a short time. The filter on this baby can scream at higher resonance (though tb303 is possible with this synth the filter does distort at high frequencies so the squelch is not there but for 303 stabs it rocks)but when having certain sounds at a low frequency, clicks appear that will not go away with any adsr work but raising the cutoff will rid the clicks but the sound is no longer what you need (IE Bass)but most of the time will be hidden by the percussion in your music anyway so its not the biggest deal.

the Oscillators still confuse me as it doesn't say what wavform your using but its not a problem if you use your ear. the sound is phatt and raw but can get digital sounding easily...many sounds can be made from this synth from 303's to evolving pads, to screaming leads and a whole lot more even nice organ sounds and various percussion.

the lfo's and eternal fx are very usefull espeically for pads and strings, the delay is a nice touch for adding a delay without to much cpu being drained. The synth even has a noise generator for addding dirt to your basses or to make percussion and wind noises.

This synth is perfect for low subby basses, housy basses, and For dirty german hardhouse basslines that we all love :)This is not a one trick pony as I have heard people say,its a power synth in my arsenal going head to head with T2 and iblit as my favorite free analog style softsynths, 2 thumbs up to Rene for creating this weapon.
Reviewed By kritikon [read all by] on 10th June 2002
Version reviewed: 1.? on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Initially I wasn't overly impressed with Triangle, but it's grown on me. I liked the smoothness of the sound straight away, but felt it wasn't too versatile. But after using a few times, I've had a good range of sounds from it. It has a very musical filter (in that it will still sound good when self-oscillated) which is not too common in VSTis. I find it good for mid range sounds, and good in the higher range too. What lets it down is the bass response of the filter - it seems to be common in VSTis that it's hard to get filters to work in the bass range. Sure Triangle will give nice rounded warm basses, but it won't resonate usefully down low - it's good for warm bass, but not if you want to do spikey bass with fast decay/attack times.

But I'm being picky really - only classic synths such as 202 or SCI Pro-One have really fast decay portions to the envelope - even Junos etc are a tad slow on that front, and old Korgs are even slower. But Triangle holds up against most common analogue hardware.

In fact, I mainly like it for some of the more delicate sounds - it's not a power house, but careful programming will give some rich filter sounds when you modulate to get movement going in the mids. It doesn't sound anything like a Korg MS series synth, but it reminds me of the type of hollow haunting sounds you can get with those. Which is praise for Triangle - you CAN compare it with analogue synths (unlike alot of VSTis).

The layout is good - obvious and logical with no frills to brighten it up too much.

Not too hard on the CPU, and rock-solid reliable.

The FX are a good addition to the sound - nice chorus and decimator. They complement the patches rather than overpower them.

I don't use it in everything by any means, but it's a good workhorse for those general-duty sounds and some occasional flourishes. Not an in-yer-face character synth, but good quality at what it does.

Quality is the main theme - won't set you on fire, but you can rely on it.
Reviewed By Funkybot [read all by] on 7th March 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I've had this freebie on my hard drive since I first heard about it, and I gotta admit I didn't start giving it much useage until I tried the Pentagon demo, at which point I thought hold on there might be something to that Triangle thing. Well it wasn't quite that drastic, but it certainly was underused. Well since then I've wisened up and gone back to Triangle and I gotta say at times I find Triangle more useful than Pentagon. It's just easier to deal with than Pentagon at times, due to the less knobs, plus having limitations is nice. If I need a nice lead that I know will be a monophonic melodic line I'm going to open up Triangle before P1, sure P1 has a great mono mode but Triangle is a lot more user friendly for quick leads, and even bass lines (the one time I wrote a tune with a synth bass it was provided by Triangle). Just concider this thing to be a super moog of sorts, it can create those classic Moog leads and bass sounds, but do soo much more. As far as the GUI goes I like it, it's friendly on the eyes, a good size, and I dig the color scheme and overall design. All and all this is too good to be a freebie, don't overlook it.
Reviewed By [read all by] on 6th March 2002
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Pentagon's little brother may have stopped growing (for the time being?) but it's sure not retarded!

Triangle I is a perfect FREE entry into the world of analog synthesis. Make no mistake, it cannot compete with Pentagon or Cronox, but I have never come across a single free analog softsynth (and I have all of them, trust me:) that offered more features, a more beautiful, lush sound, or a more logical interface. In fact, it seems like most people (including myself) keep using it even *after* they bought PI, which alone is a testament to the rich - and unique - quality of its sound.

Personally, I am not in love with its look, but it looks like René just might update its GUI to that of Pentagon. Its only serious limitation is that it's monophonic, but nothing stops you from using several of them simultaneously. In all, Triangle I is complex and control-rich enough to give you a fascinating opportunity to learn analog sound creation, but simple enough so that you don't get overwhelmed by all the knobs and buttons (of which, BTW, there are 55 - more than the Roland JP8080 has...)

Many people mentioned the lack of documentation. FALSE! THERE IS A COMPREHENSIVE MANUAL AVAILABLE IN HTML, and while I don't know how you can access it from rgcAudio's website (it seems like René is so busy making his superb products even better, he tends to forget about the website...:) if you send him an e-mail he will provide you with the link.

Summary: if you don't download it and give it a try, you are a fool - and I do stand by that statement.
Reviewed By Tronam [read all by] on 6th March 2002
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by Tronam on 25th February 2007.
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
It's free and a product by rgcAudio, so you might as well stop reading this and just download it. René's instruments are always musical and of high quality. This is certainly no exception. You could look at it as the little brother of the polyphonic Square I, another of his highly regarded older generation virtual analog synths.

Being a monosynth, some of the most common uses for Triangle is bass and lead sounds, which it handles well. The filter on this little guy has a very warm, musical quality to it that is kind of rare in the virtual world. Though I'm sure it is capable of aggressive sounds, it definitely seems to lean towards sweeter, gentler timbres. The newer engine instruments such as Triangle II and Pentagon I seem better suited for more powerful, edgy, aggressive sounds.

With 3 oscillators, 4 LFOs, built-in effects, more advanced control features like aftertouch sensitivity and various other features, it is surprisingly flexible for a freeware instrument.

Bottom line: It has a unique sound, lovely little musical filter and is free. Definitely a worthwhile download.
Reviewed By Scot Solida [read all by] on 16th February 2002
Version reviewed: current on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Holy cow! How many superlatives am I allowed to describe this absolute stunner of a synth? This thing fulfills the promise made by so many other analog emulators. Quite frankly, I had grown bored with that particular trend, but the Triangle 1 has shaken me out of my ennui. After plonking down HUNDREDS and HUNDREDS of dollars on merely "good" sounding analog plug-ins, here is a freebie that'll get a lot more use than any of 'em. I'm an aging analog synth hack, and I've owned most of the names you'd recognise, and a lot you wouldn't. I still have a room full of the wood and metal beasties, but they, too, will be used less often than Triangle 1. It sounds AMAZING! As good as my NORD. A lot of people don't like the interface, it seems, but I think it's marvellous. Everything is where it oughta be, and follows a logical path from the oscillators straight through to the much-appreciated DDL. Speaking of which, the delay is a nice touch, and gives an "instant-Klaus-Schulze" gratification, without depriving the synth of it's presence. Three LFOs!!! Okay, so it's monphonic, but that doesn't deflate the price of a used Minimoog. The presets are superb and inspiring. Documentation? It's an ANALOG SYNTH, you fool! You don't need documentation! As for customer support, they give a free synth, fer criminysake! I call that support. Stable? So far, and that's through DirectiXer, so pretty good, there. Oh, and it'd be a value at a hundred bucks. I'm definately ordering up the Pentagon when I have the dough!
Reviewed By nirsul [read all by] on 3rd February 2002
Version reviewed: 2.0 on Windows.
Last edited by Nir Sullam on 29th March 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
I have Pentagon 1.2 B06 (currently...)
But I recorded a small piece with Triangle, featuring a leading solo (lots of after-touch) and it rocks.
One thing missing from this great freeware mono-synth is syncing. but this is great teaser for those who eventually end up buying Pentagon (it seems that everybody is)

UPDATE !!! UPDATE !!! - Version 2 is HERE !

=========================================
I was one of the Beta testers of this MonoBeast's new version and was very happy with many of its new features - an excellent reverb within the synth and a synth structure that reminds me of Roland's analog synths (2 osc + sub osc + nosie).

I know that this free synth will cause many potential clients of many other companies to skip purchase of them but this is a free market and may the best synth win !.

I think that Triangle I version 2 is so good that it should have been sold and not be a freeware but there is a great guy seating downunder that thinks that many many people who cant afford buying a synth should have one.

Thanks Rene !
Reviewed By Illusionist [read all by] on 17th November 2001
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by Michiel on 17th November 2001.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
This is one of the best freewaresynths available. I personally don't like the GUI, but that is richly compensated by the broad amount of features, the good sound and the 64 presets. And after tweaking around you will understand quickly how this synth works.
Reviewed By KOSMOLITH [read all by] on 29th October 2001
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows.
Last edited by on 6th February 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
User Interface
I think it looks very good. No numbers on the knobs is good, tweaking by ear is mandatory.

Sound
The sound is smooth and round, the filter is even a little sweet and noble. Layers well with real analogs for colors, doesn't have a solid enough kernel to be truly durable with acoustic instruments IMO.

Features
Many more sounds than I expected, everything intuitive.

Documentation
Considering it's free and simple, I don't expect a printed manual. :) There is a detailed MIDI implementation image at the rgc site, as well as basic information, as much documentation as you need. I hope Pentagon comes with a mini-manual in HTML form though.

Presets
Many good presets- and the Pentagon! you have to check it out.

Customer Support
Good rep, but no 1st-hand experience here, there's nothing wrong with it so far.

Value For Money
That's a joke, it's free!

Stability
Does it crash? Nope. Not yet at least.

Reviewed By tesla [read all by] on 26th October 2001
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows.
Last edited by tesla on 27th April 2002.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Pro:
+ good multipurpose sounds
+ a lot of features
+ MIDI controllable
+ probably the most powerfull free VSTi
+ unbeatable value-for-money rate

Con:
- confusing non-intuitive user interface
- ugly design (a matter of taste, others may like it)

I first downloaded this freeware VSTi several month ago and deleted it right afterwards, since I really disliked the user interface and thought this VSTi is total crap.

Now, after recognizing what power RGC has (Square+Pentagon), I gave it a 2nd chance... I still dislike the GUI. It looks ugly to me, and I have problems handling it, e.g. turning round knobs not knowing what the current real value of this knob is. Some kind of value indicator displayed beneath or in a bubble would be really helpfull.

However, this synth has a lot of features producing good multipurpose sounds and is probably the most powerfull free VSTi out there. A mighty underestimated tool hidden beneath a bad interface.

[Note: The successor Triange II is a great improvement with easier handable better looking GUI and even much more features - and it's still free!]

Reviewed By Teksonik [read all by] on 26th September 2001
Version reviewed: Beta on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
There is somthing warm and sweet about the sound of rgc synths.Triangle is great for lead work and the fact it is free is unbelievable.The interface is wonderful to look at although some might say a bit hard to program.I just downloaded Triangle's big brother Pentagon 1 and wait till you hear it!Can't wait to review it.I would say the rgc vsti's are among the best sounding out there especially in their price range.A true must have.
Reviewed By midisax [read all by] on 12th September 2001
Version reviewed: 1.1 on Windows
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Perhaps the fattest sounding analog modeled vsti's available now are these new ones from rgc, and I consider this a favorite for use with midisax because of the very smooth mono legato it features and the very smooth filter response. If you look around you'll see very few vsti's have a truly smooth mono legato AND respond to pitch bend and you need that for midisax use, or any true mono lead synth.

RGC is not above working with a customer to get rid of bugs either, rene actually personally contacted me on a problem I was having, and that few if any others were, and fixed it literally overnight. That kind of service is literally the extra mile.
Reviewed By bobb [read all by] on 21st August 2001
Version reviewed: 1 on Windows
Was it helpful to you? Yes No
Well, it's a monophonic synth, that looks really good. A bit confusing since there's no values around the knobs. It's free. Sounds really good, when you figure out how to use it (creating sounds)

Its easy to use, standard layout, use little CPU, presets are OK, but it's possible to create some good leads with some effort.

Never crashed, has no documentation, but you dont need it, since it's just another analoge monophonic synth.

Perfect for those who's new to synths

Latest 26 reviews from a total of 26

Comments & Discussion for Cakewalk Triangle II

Discussion
Discussion: Active
aceinyaface3
aceinyaface3
20 March 2015 at 3:36am

Anyone else having trouble downloading this?

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
17 April 2015 at 1:09am

It seems to be definitively abandoned by Cakewalk. The question has been asked a few months ago in the Cakewalk forum and Cakewalk never answered.

But you can download it here (legally) in the web history (use the link "Download it today" at the top of the rightmost column of the page):

http://web.archive.org/web/20140327103800/http://cakewalk.com/products/triangle/default.aspx

The link works perfect, I've just tried it again for you a minute ago.

It can also be downloaded passing by Pluginboutique (an excellent website, I like it a lot):

http://www.pluginboutique.com/product/4-Synth/661-Triangle-II

For their other freeware (Square I) it is the same punishment: too old for the taste of Gibson (the new owner of Cakewalk), so it went to the dustbin as well. But the problem is that the download file for "Square I" has never been kept by the history (the Wayback Machine). And it is not available at Pluginboutique either. Conclusion: this one is lost for the eternity...

Please log in to join the discussion