Log InCreate An Account
  1. Plugins
  2. »
  3. E-Phonic
  4. »
  5. Drumatic 3
  6. »
  7. Reviews

Drumatic 3

Drum Synth Plugin by E-Phonic
MyKVRFAVORITE124WANT27
Free (Donationware)

Drumatic 3 has an average user rating of 4.00 from 7 reviews

Rate & Review Drumatic 3

User Reviews by KVR Members for Drumatic 3

Reviewed By BlackWinny [read all by] on June 3rd, 2014
Version reviewed: 3.02 on Windows.
Last edited by BlackWinny on 3rd June 2014.

Excellent! One of the best free drum kits I've heard.

Superbe sound.

Totally subtractive synthesis (it doesn't use any sample).

All what you could need to tweak each element of the kit. Knobs, harmonic modifiers (and graphically!), management of the characteristics of the noise oscillators, etc.

Multi-Segment-Graphical-Envelopes (MSGE) for each element of the kit with many options for each envelope.

A stereo output for each element of the kit.

A section of effects.

It can to be used to emulate a true drum kit as well as a drum-machine.

It NEVER crashes.

It is not at all real "donationware" since there are absolutely not any limitation. It is in fact totally freeware! The donation is just suggested but not imposed by any limitation.

And there are extra patches available here at the Download tab above (direct link here) but also still other patches at Patcharena here.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------.

And for those who would be allergic to SynthEdit, it is good to know that there is now a new version (version 4) which is no longer made with SynthEdit, which uses ses a mix of subtractive, FM and wavetable synthesis, which provides still much more different sounds... which works on Windows 64-bit native and on OS X! But that version 4 is not free, its price is €30. A bargain.

Reviewed By vata44 [read all by] on March 27th, 2011
Version reviewed: 3 on Windows
The ultimate drum machine? I think not...

The ultimate synthetic drum machine? I think so!

For me it comes down to three things.

1. GUI if you can easily understand and make the thing create the sounds you desire in a logical and straight forward way that is easy to replicate or explore, then you have a winner and it's easier to go onto number 2.

2. The sound! It is easy to dial just the right amounts of everything with this drum synth. A little noise? A little more umph or pop? You got it... It is full, deep, thin and crisp. Whatever you need.

3. Stability... it's no good if your inspiration is interrupted every few minutes or randomly in the middle of your groove. This thing is solid as a rock as far as I can tell.

To be fair I have not tested many other commercial drum synths, but if I compare it to the drum synth in LinPlug's RMV, this little freebie puts it to shame in my book.

Compared to Sonicharge's uTonic I find it hard to make the tone/musical type drum notes like in uTonic, but for straight 909, 808 and others Drumatic 3 is always my top choice. :)

Only weak point is the lack of presets... but it's FREE.
Reviewed By Xiritam [read all by] on June 12th, 2007
Version reviewed: 1.01 on Windows
This is just simply AWESOME.
This has to be the best Drum synth ive used in my life i mean how can such a fine drum synth be free?
Its defntly worth the download.
Tight snare and pumping kicks for DnB music? or Deep Kicking kicks for your flour-to-flour House track?
Its all there in this little synthie.
I even used it to create Glitchy drums out of it.SuperB Quality.
Didnt cut anything nor i did used fx or something, all i did was just a tweak on the knobs and the noise amp( very and very handy).
It became my go-to drums synth and i deleted all my synthetic drum samples after i realized the potencial that this wonderful synthie had.
Iam Happy i found this.
Big thanks for E-Phonic for creating such a fine freebie.

GUI - Very clean, stylish interface.One of the best guis i ve seen so long. Check the picture above.

Sound - As mentioned above, 1 word can describe it all. B-E-S-T

Feature - From punchy kit to pumping kits, fx kits to glitch kits. Suitable for any genre!

Documentation - 0.Doesnt come with any anyways you dont need a doc to teach whats this knob and that does or how this waveform is changed, do you? Interface is the doc!.

Presets - I gave it 6 as it had only a few number of presets.

C.S - Hmm..did not have any problems so i did not ask for help.

Stability - Did not crash and very little cpu use.
Reviewed By Holandes [read all by] on December 16th, 2003
Version reviewed: 2 on Windows
Hi

This one remind me of the reaktor drumsynhts. This small vst drum program is pretty cool. It is free. It sounds great. And it is easy to use. The basssounds are wicked. great for teckno or hardcore or electronic music. The hats are standard and tons of knobs let you modify them at your own taste. The snare sounds a bit dry and sometimes a bit harsh, but very standard. The toms are useless I think. They sound too hollow and too stressfull. The claps sound standard and very cool indeed. This is a trance thing, ladies and gentleman.

The only think it needs is:

-midi controller list
-better toms
-user wave import

i cannot seem to automate the midi data using the knobs with my mouse. I can automate using the midi controller I have (novation remote control). I don't know. My fault maybe.

download it...that is all
Reviewed By metalsvinet [read all by] on October 24th, 2003
Version reviewed: 2.2 on Windows
drumatic is a full featured and versatile drum module capable of much more diverse sounds than the included presets would suggest. fortunately the gui is well designed and cool looking too, so dialing in your own sounds is a pleasure in itself

the gui is documentation enough, and i never had a single stability problem in tracktion. e-phonic is right here in the forums, so top marks for costumer support, too
Reviewed By Jeremy_NSL [read all by] on September 27th, 2003
Version reviewed: 2.1 on Windows.
Last edited by floyd on 27th September 2003.
This is a great synthedit product - competes with all the commercial, or semi-commercial drumsynths very well.

The kick module is always incredibly useable, and very easy to tweak to fit a mix. You don't need fancy tricks to make it sound powerful, either.

The snare module is sometimes a little weak, but I've got good results layering two snares for a bigger sound.

Hihats are generally good and easily tweakable.

The interface is great. No complaints. Its easy to set up the sound you are looking for if you know just a bit about synthesis.

Also its a synthedit creation, but I have no issues with cpu usage like many other SE synths.

Anything negative? Well it would be cool to have a few more modules - there are only two toms which is limiting if you like electro toms, and no cymbal module (maybe you could load a simple sample if synthesis can't accomplish it). Also sometimes I get errors loading it up in Sonar or Tracktion. But once it loads its rock-stable. Also there aren't really enough presets but its so easy to program that I can't complain.

Anyway, this is a must if you like synth drums! And its free so there is no excuse not to dl Drumatic2
Reviewed By bajongo [read all by] on May 7th, 2003
Version reviewed: 2.1 on Windows
This drum synth came into my VST folder for to try it out. Long time I didn't use it. But then I just wanted some quick electronic drums and I gave it a try. Surprised, it works as I want to.
This scenario happened several times and last time yesterday so I thought I'll give it a heads up here.

There are some usable drumsets for it which tells me that it sounds really good. I only dial in the presets and it works. Someday maybe I'll do some on my own.
I mainly use it for softer drum sounds and it excels there. Through some bitcrusher and VW and CurveEQ yesterday and it sounded just right.

Latest 7 reviews from a total of 7

Comments & Discussion for E-Phonic Drumatic 3

Discussion
Discussion: Active
Amethyst
Amethyst
3 July 2016 at 1:27pm

Does anyone know if Drumatic, Drumatic 2 and Drumatic 3 work on a X64 system?

Vospi
Vospi
3 July 2016 at 1:51pm

It's x86, but you can certainly run it on a x64 system. I have x64 system and a x86 DAW that supports bridging. Everything works fine.

Amethyst
Amethyst
3 July 2016 at 3:42pm

Thanx man! I'm gonna try without crashing my bridge. I'm working with Cubase 5 x64 but for some reason the bridge crashes with the use of some x86 stuff. Unfortunately also with some stuff I used a lot like Topaz Klang LFO filter. Would it help if i put the .dll files in the x64 plugin folder in programfiles?

T-CM11
T-CM11
3 July 2016 at 5:49pm

No, doesn't help. Try jbridge.

Or if your 32-bit plugins are in the majority... run all plugins in 32-bit in Cubase 5 x32.

Amethyst
Amethyst
3 July 2016 at 8:19pm

No way! Then I can only use 4 gigs instead of all my 16 gigs memory.

Vospi
Vospi
3 July 2016 at 8:36pm

Do you really hit that ceiling that often? :)

Besides, just using the nature of bridges you can "delegate" some of your plugins to outer memory just by bridging it.

Amethyst
Amethyst
4 July 2016 at 5:51pm

Maybe not the full 16 but I'm often somewhere around 7 or 8.. so yes, I need the x64 setup.

T-CM11
T-CM11
3 July 2016 at 9:16pm

Well, jbridge it is then. ;)

Amethyst
Amethyst
3 July 2016 at 9:18pm

jbridge crashes Cubase as soon as I start ANY plugin, so I uninstalled it.

Amethyst
Amethyst
4 July 2016 at 5:53pm

Does anyone know maybe another drummachine like drumatic for x64?

BlackWinny
BlackWinny
5 July 2016 at 12:35am

Yes.

Simply Drumatic 4 ! That's all.

http://www.drumatic.info/

Amethyst
Amethyst
8 July 2016 at 1:46pm

And pay 30 Euros for something I already have... uhmmm.... let's see.... NOPE.

Please log in to join the discussion